Find Books on Finance Topics
- Library CatalogSearch with the Library Catalog to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic.
You can search by subject using subject terms such as the following:
- Finance
- Corporations -- Finance
- Finance, Personal
- Investments
- Securities
- Portfolio Management
- Financial Institutions
- Banks and Banking
- Venture Capital
- Stockholders
- Stock Exchanges
- Capital Markets
- International finance
- Money
- Financial Statements
- Consolidation and Merger of Corporations
Full Text Corporate Annual Reports
- Mergent Online (Business)
- Mergent ONLINE contains information about public corporations around the world. Mergent ONLINE also includes the full-text image files of corporate annual reports for publicly traded US corporations going back to 1996. EDGAR filings are also available through Mergent Online.
- This is great place to go to find Annual Reports to Shareholders that have been issued for publicly-traded corporations since l996. After you have done the initial search for a corporation, look for the Reports tab at the top of the screen. Choose the report for the years you are interested in.
- SEC: Corporate filings from the US Securities and Exchange CommissionThe SEC requires all public companies (except foreign companies and companies with less than $10 million in assets and 500 shareholders) to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through this site (formerly called EDGAR). Anyone can access and download this information for free. Here you'll find links to a complete list of filings available from the SEC and instructions for searching the SEC database.
- Company's Web SiteYou can check the Web site for the company to see if any company history is available on the Web. The usual form of a company's Web site is http://www.companyname.com -- but sometimes there are differences in the address. You can almost always find sites for publicly traded corporations by using Google.
- ProQuest Historical Annual ReportsDatabase offers corporate annual reports for U.S. companies from 1884 to the present. Key data (financial, Fortune 500 ranking, industry classification, key people, geographic location, auditor, and related companies) are indexed in the citation and can be searched. Reports can be browsed by company name, industry or date. Cross-searchable to other historical periodical databases.
Resources that Provide Corporate Financial Statements
Use these resources to find information on balance sheets, income statements, cashflow statements.
- Mergent Online (Business)
- Mergent ONLINE contains information about public corporations around the world. Mergent ONLINE also includes the full-text image files of corporate annual reports for publicly traded US corporations going back to 1996. EDGAR filings are also available through Mergent Online.
- This is great place to go to find Annual Reports to Shareholders that have been issued for publicly-traded corporations since l996. After you have done the initial search for a corporation, look for the Reports tab at the top of the screen. Choose the report for the years you are interested in.
- Mergent ArchivesSearchable database of corporate and industry related documents. Mergent archives contains more than 180,000 documents covering over 100 countries and industries.
- ProQuest Historical Annual ReportsDatabase offers corporate annual reports for U.S. companies from 1884 to the present. Key data (financial, Fortune 500 ranking, industry classification, key people, geographic location, auditor, and related companies) are indexed in the citation and can be searched. Reports can be browsed by company name, industry or date. Cross-searchable to other historical periodical databases.
- SEC: Corporate filings from the US Securities and Exchange CommissionThe SEC requires all public companies (except foreign companies and companies with less than $10 million in assets and 500 shareholders) to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through this site (formerly called EDGAR). Anyone can access and download this information for free. Here you'll find links to a complete list of filings available from the SEC and instructions for searching the SEC database.
Resources Providing Financial Data Available to Carlson School of Management Students ONLY:
- COMPUSTATNorth America
Compustat North America is a database of U.S. and Canadian fundamental and market information on active and inactive publicly held companies. It provides more than 300 annual and 100 quarterly Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items. Compustat North America files are available in both annual and quarterly formats. The industrial annual formats offer both historical and restated data. The industrial quarterly formats offer restated data as reported by the company. The restated data allows analysts to compare current and prior years' results on a comparable basis and determine financial trends and growth rates. For most companies, annual history is available back to 1950 and quarterly history back to 1962 with monthly market history back to 1962.
Compustat North America files also contain information on aggregates, industry segments, banks, market prices, dividends, and earnings. For more detailed information on the Compustat files, consult the Compustat User's Guide.
Global
Compustat Global is a database of non-U.S. and non-Canadian fundamental and market information on more than 33,900 active and inactive publicly held companies with annual data history from 1987. Compustat Global is a database of non-U.S.data is unique in that it is normalized to provide comparability across a wide variety of global accounting standards and practices. Accounting standards vary considerably among countries, making accurate comparisons of as-reported data somewhat difficult. Rather than adopt one country's set of accounting principles as the standard for collecting data from all countries, we have created consistent sets of financial data items for the Global database by examining financial statements from a variety of countries and identifying items that are widely reported by companies, regardless of their geographic location, business activity or accounting practices. Within these uniform data sets, we normalize the data to local accounting principles, disclosure methods and data item definitions. As a result, you can make more meaningful comparisons among industries and countries.
BloombergThe Bloomberg service is a global 24-hour-a-day financial information network providing real-time and historical pricing, indicative and fundamental data and analytics. Using the Bloomberg Excel Add-In product you can integrate Bloomberg's database into your spreadsheets and proprietary models.
How to Get Access: Contact the IT Service Center csareait@csom.edu
Security Analyst Reports for Publicly Traded Corporations
- Value line investment survey (Online)Find brief industry profiles that focus on profitability and financial analysis.
• Location(s): TC Wilson Library Reference Quarto HG4501 .V262
• Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability
- MarketLine Reports (Business)Industry reports and company profiles cover key facts, history, employees, major products, revenue analysis, SWOT analysis, top competitors, locations and subsidiaries. Industry Reports include analysis, market size, market share, forecasts, segmentation, and leading companies. Access via Business Source Premier.
- NetAdvantage by S&P GlobalAn online resource from Standard Poors that includes the Industry Surveys of trends and leading companies in 52 industries, the Register of Corporations, Directors, and Executives which lists sales, products, other directory information for 55,000 public and private companies along with names of top executives, and the Stock Reports that contain key financial data for equity research on public companies including peer group analysis and performance ratings from Standard Poors.
- Check out the Stock Reports for information on the stock's performance and investment potential.
Subscription cancelled effective November 27, 2018.
Stock Prices and other Financial Metrics
- Yahoo Finance (Stock Prices)Stock prices going back to the 1970s may be available on this site.
Begin by doing a search using the company ticker symbol. Then choose "Historical Prices" from the blue bar on the left.
Choose start and end date. Choose whether you need daily, weekly, or monthly data. Add ticker symbol and click on "Get Prices." Data is from CSI Commodity Systems Inc. Disclaimers and FAQ appear at the bottom of the page.
Stocks, Bonds, Bills and Inflation. Issued by: R.G. Ibbotson AssociatesAnnual Statistical volume.
Published Chicago, Ill. : R.G. Ibbotson Associates, Annual.
Vols. for 1983- include historical market returns of some U.S. security classes.
• Location(s): TC Wilson Library Business Reference Quarto HG4501 .S7949 Non-Circulating
• Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability
Cost of CapitalProvides industry financial information relating to revenues, profitability, equity returns, ratios, capital structure, cost of equity and weighted average cost of capital. Arranged by SIC code. Provides data on over 300 U S based industries. The main provider of data for Cost of Capital is the Standard & Poors Compustat Data.
• Location(s): TC Wilson Library Business Reference Quarto HC110.C3 C67 Non-Circulating
• Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability
- NetAdvantage by S&P GlobalOverviews, rankings and comparative statistics for major industries that provides detailed information on public companies such as stock reports, bonds, stock valuation annual reports, and other detailed fianancial statistics. NetAdvantage also includes investment services such as the advisory newsletter Outlook and screening directories for stocks, bonds and mutual funds. There are also directories for private companies and the Register of Corporations, Directors, and Executives
Subscription cancelled effective November 27, 2018.
Choose the Company Tab at top of screen. Then choose Stock Report and your ticker or company name. You will get about 4 pages of financial and statistical information on your company.
- Sage Data This link opens in a new windowProvides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. There are up to 2 billion charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables available for use in the Data-Planet repository.
- Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowIndex to statistical publications from US and state government agencies, international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, and universities.
Corporate Bonds
- Mergent BondviewerMergent BondViewer is a financial industry database for US taxable and municipal bonds. We have access to these modules: Corporate Bonds, Municipal Bonds and Retail Notes. Use it to search for bond ratings (including ratings from Moody's, Standard and Poor's and Fitch), issuer name, issue description, ticker, coupon, and maturity date.
- Mergent Online (Business)Profiles of public corporations around the world that includes summaries, company histories, property, financials, subsdiaries, joint ventures, long term, press release and historical annual reports.
- NetAdvantage by S&P GlobalOverviews, rankings and comparative statistics for major industries that provides detailed information on public companies such as stock reports, bonds, stock valuation annual reports, and other detailed fianancial statistics. NetAdvantage also includes investment services such as the advisory newsletter Outlook and screening directories for stocks, bonds and mutual funds. There are also directories for private companies and the Register of Corporations, Directors, and Executives
Subscription cancelled effective November 27, 2018.- Choose 'Companies', then the 'Bond Reports'
Industry Financial Ratios or Industry Norms
The most useful general ratios are:
- Key Business RatiosKey Business Ratios, from Dun and Bradstreet, help you to assess how a business is doing compared to an industry or a competitor. The 14 key business ratios cover the critical areas of business performance --solvency, efficiency and profitability. They are broken down into median figures, with upper and lower quartiles. Ratios are arranged by Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Codes -a four-digit number that classifies business establishments by defining the industries in which they do business.
See the next entry for the print version of these ratios.
You can choose whether you want general or more specific (solvency, efficiency, profitability) ratios, and you can search by line of business or SIC code.- Need definitions of the financial ratios, or information on how they are calculated? Use the Key Business Ratios help pages.
- BizminerBizMiner offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Their market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code. Bizminer is a great resource to use when developing business plans, or for any sort of entrepreneurship initiatives where you need to measure peer performance in an industry.
- Go to the BizMiner financial ratios page.
ALMANAC OF BUSINESS AND INDUSTRIAL FINANCIAL RATIOS.
Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice-Hall. Annual. WILS BUS Quarto HF5681 .R25 A45
The source of data is tax returns filed with the U. S. Internal Revenue Service. The most recent edition provides data on millions of U.S. corporations. It provides 50 performance indicators for each industry, and at the end of each industry section, performance indicators for the last 10 years are shown. Data are grouped into 13 categories by size of assets in each industry. About 180 lines of business are covered.
The Almanac provides norms in actual dollar amounts for revenue and capital factors such as net receivables, inventories, total assets, and it gives you important average operating costs in percent of net sales for: cost of operations, pensions and benefits, compensation of officers, wages and salaries, taxes and more. We have been receiving the annual editions of the Almanac since 1973.
INDUSTRY NORMS AND KEY BUSINESS RATIOS.
New York, NY: Dun & Bradstreet. Annual. WILS BUS Quarto HF5681 .R25 I5
This five volume set contains the most comprehensive industry coverage (including over 800 lines of business). The volumes in the set are: 1) Agriculture, Mining, Construction, Transportation, Communication, Utilities; 2) Manufacturing; 3) Wholesaling; 4) Retailing; 5) Finance, Insurance, Real Estate, Services.
Ratios are arranged by SIC number, and sub-divided into four geographic areas of the U. S. (at the 2-digit level) and into three to five asset size ranges (at the four digit level).
For each SIC number covered, the following data is provided: 1) fourteen key business ratios that can be used to analyze solvency, efficiency and profitability, 2) typical balance sheets and income statements for the industry (in dollars), and 3) common-size financial figures (each item of the financial statement as a percentage of its respective aggregate total). The source of data is the Dun & Bradstreet Financial Database. We have been receiving the annual volumes in this set in the Library since 1979.
IRS CORPORATE FINANCIAL RATIOS.
Evanston, Ill.: Schonfeld and Associates. Annual. WILS BUS Quarto HF5681 .R25 I27x
These industry ratios are based on the most recently available income statement and balance sheet data compiled by the Internal Revenue Service of the United States Department of the Treasury. There are 79 ratios or averages given for each industry. We have been receiving this annual publication in the Library regularly since 1991.
RMA ANNUAL STATEMENT STUDIES.
Philadelphia, PA: Risk Management Association. Annual. WILS BUS Quarto HF5681 .B2 R6
This publication is a product of the commercial banking community and RMA (now Risk Management Association, formerly Robert Morris Associates), the association of lending and credit risk professionals. Over 500 lines of business are covered. Current and comparative historical data are included. Financial statements on each industry are shown in common size form. Sixteen widely used business ratios follow the financial statements.
Each RMA Annual Statement Studies volume has a section at the front of the volume that gives good definitions of each of the ratios and shows how each was computed. Each volume also has a section at the back called *Sources of Composite Financial Data--A Bibliography* that identifies other major sources of composite financial data for industries. We have been receiving the RMA annual volumes in the Library since 1927.
Sources that Provide Industry Analysis
- IBIS World (Business)Search industry reports for the United States, Canada, China, and global topics. Each report provides an overall current picture of an industry, including overviews, leading companies, sales information, and authoritative sources for researching hundreds of industries. Includes Business Environmental Profiles that summarize key drivers for industries in the U.S.
- NetAdvantage by S&P GlobalOverviews, rankings and comparative statistics for major industries that provides detailed information on public companies such as stock reports, bonds, stock valuation annual reports, and other detailed fianancial statistics. NetAdvantage also includes investment services such as the advisory newsletter Outlook and screening directories for stocks, bonds and mutual funds. There are also directories for private companies and the Register of Corporations, Directors, and Executives.
Subscription cancelled effective November 27, 2018.
- BizminerBizMiner offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Their market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code. Bizminer is a great resource to use when developing business plans, or for any sort of entrepreneurship initiatives where you need to measure peer performance in an industry.
- MarketLine Reports (Business)Industry reports and company profiles cover key facts, history, employees, major products, revenue analysis, SWOT analysis, top competitors, locations and subsidiaries. Industry Reports include analysis, market size, market share, forecasts, segmentation, and leading companies. Access via Business Source Premier.
- Encyclopedia of American IndustriesProvides detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business.
Country Business Environments
Find Country Business Profiles:
- Business Source Premier EnhancedThis resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
This version of Business Source Premier provides makes it easy to find articles along with other specialized reports. These inlcude company profiles and industry reports from Datamonitor, country profiles from research advisory services such as the Economic Intelligence Unit (EIU) and market research from various trade publications. A good resource for business and economic topics and global studies.- Look at the Country Reports search
- World Bank's Doing Business in ... ProjectThe Doing Business project... provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 183 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level.
- International Tax and Business GuidesDeloitte's International Tax and Business Guides help potential investors understand the investment climate, operating conditions, and tax system of most major trading jurisdictions. The Guides are supplemented by the Country Highlights series, which provide a quick overview of the tax landscape of more than 120 jurisdictions.
- US State Department Background Notes on Living and Working in Another CountryThese publications include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty. The Background Notes are updated/revised by the Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the Bureau of Public Affairs as they are received from the Department's regional bureaus.
- CIA FactbookProvides a standard set of facts for all countries of the world.
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of the NationsPresents easy-to-understand information on 200 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders.
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily LifeCovers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Each volume is organized by continent, covering history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life, and more.
- Location(s): earlier edition in print: WILSON Reference Quarto GN333 .W67 1998
- Start searching using the Research Countries option.
- Europa World PlusEuropa World is a source of information for more than 250 countries and territories. Find facts, statistics, history, political, economic and other information including geography, media outlets, education, government agencies, trade and industry, tourism and other organizations. A major bibliography is included for each country and survey articles on various issues are listed for each major region.
Exporters' encyclopaedia• Location(s): Latest edition in Wilson Reference Quarto HF3011 .E9. Older editions in TC Wilson Library Quarto HF3011 .E9
• Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability
Country Risk Ratings, Sovereign Ratings:
- Business Source PremierUse this popular research database to find business articles from 2,200 journals and magazines in marketing, management, information technology, operations, human resources, accounting, finance and economics dating back to 1965. Additional company and industry profiles from Datamonitor are included along with country reports and SWOT analyses.
- Search for Political Risk Yearbook as a publication.
- Choose your country and then choose the source: PRS Risk Guide
- A.M. Best Country RiskCountry risk is evaluated and factored into all A.M. Best ratings. As part of evaluating country risk, A.M. Best identifies the various factors within a country that may directly or indirectly affect an insurance company.
Countries are placed into one of five tiers, ranging from Country Risk Tier 1 (CRT-1), denoting a stable environment with the least amount of risk, to Country Risk Tier 5 (CRT-5) for countries that pose the most risk and, therefore, the greatest challenge to an insurer's financial stability, strength and performance. - Fitch Sovereign RatingsThe Fitch Ratings Sovereigns Group provides credit research and opinion on more than 100 countries, and assigns ratings to the foreign and local currency debt of sovereign governments that account for virtually all of sovereign international debt issuance.
- Standard & Poor's RatingsCredit ratings are forward-looking opinions about credit risk. Standard & Poor's credit ratings express the agency's opinion about the ability and willingness of an issuer, such as a corporation or state or city government, to meet its financial obligations in full and on time.
- Moody's RatingsYou need to register. It is free. Limited data are available from the free site.
- Coface RatingsThe Coface country rating aims at evaluating the average credit risk of companies in a given country. The rating is based on economic, financial and political data. Based in France.
- Country Risk from ONDDThe Office national du ducroire | Nationale Delcrederedienst (ONDD) is the Belgian public credit insurer with a mission to promote international economic relations. ONDD performs this task as an autonomous government institution enjoying the state guarantee.
Country Financial Statistics:
- IFS OnlineIFS (International Financial Statistics) Online provides statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance from 1948-. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, i.e., data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowOECD iLibrary is the online publications portal of the 34-country Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. OECD iLibrary is OECD's Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. It replaces SourceOECD, and hosts all content so users can find - and cite - tables and databases as easily as articles or chapters. Video User Guide.
- WDI OnlineWDI (World Development Indicators) Online contains statistics for over 550 indicators from 1960 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Subjects include: social welfare, economies, natural resources, and the environment. Data may not be available for all years for all countries.
Country Culture:
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily LifeCovers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Each volume is organized by continent, covering history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life, and more.
• Location(s): earlier edition in print: WILSON Reference Quarto GN333 .W67 1998 - Polling the Nations This link opens in a new windowPolling the Nations is an online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 700,000+ questions and responses, from 18,000+ surveys and 1,700+ polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Information on Privately Held Companies
Finding information about privately-owned companies can be challenging. Privately owned companies do not make their stock available to the public through public securities exchanges, such as the NYSE. Because they are privately owned and operated, they are not required to make information about their financial condition public. Private companies usually do not produce annual reports which are available to the public. Information about them does not appear in any of the financial databases that cover publicly traded corporations. Private companies enjoy the competitive advantage of not disclosing information about themselves or their market position.
So, where can you find some information about them? The best search strategy is to look for articles in newspapers and journals, search business directories, consult trade associations, find local sources, and search the Internet for information.
Trade Associations:
- NetAdvantage by S&P GlobalOverviews, rankings and comparative statistics for major industries that provides detailed information on public companies such as stock reports, bonds, stock valuation annual reports, and other detailed fianancial statistics. NetAdvantage also includes investment services such as the advisory newsletter Outlook and screening directories for stocks, bonds and mutual funds. There are also directories for private companies and the Register of Corporations, Directors, and Executives
Subscription cancelled effective November 27, 2018.- Look for Trade Associations in the Industry Surveys.
Choose Industry References to get to a page with trade association listings.
- Look for Trade Associations in the Industry Surveys.
- Company DirectoriesCreate lists of companies and other organizations by location or industry. Learn basic information about any company.
- ASAE Gateway to AssociationsInternet source. Search this directory of more than 6,000 associations. Entries are searchable by name, keyword and geographic location. The American Society of Association Executives maintains this site.
Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers
Check the following indexes for news about the company's history:
- Business Source PremierUse this popular research database to find business articles from 2,200 journals and magazines in marketing, management, information technology, operations, human resources, accounting, finance and economics dating back to 1965. Additional company and industry profiles from Datamonitor are included along with country reports and SWOT analyses.
- FactivaFull text articles and transcripts from news sources, business magazines, and websites with international and foreign language coverage. Includes daily newspapers, television transcripts, newswires, and all editions of the Wall Street Journal. Financial information for publicly traded companies, stocks, funds, currencies, and common market indexes. Limited to 7 simultaneous users.
- EconLitContains bibliographic citations and selected abstracts to the professional and scholarly literature in the field of economics and allied disciplines, including journals, books, chapters in books, conference proceedings and dissertations.
- Minneapolis Star Tribune (1986 to present) This link opens in a new windowThis resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
Full text available from 1986 - Current. Access to freelance articles and other features within this publication such as photographs or classifieds may not be available. - Wall Street Journal (1980 to present)Full-text coverage of the Journal - a business newspaper with extensive coverage of stock markets, finance, investments, and companies - to present day. Does not include photos, illustrations, ads, wire stories, or other page-image level access. (via ProQuest Newsstream)
- Regional Business NewsThis resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
Full text coverage for regional business publications; Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis - American City Business Journals (BizJournals)Find articles from the Minneapolis St. Paul Business on local companies and other organizations. Search the the local business journals in over 40 metropolitan areas in the United States to find information on regional companies or other urban issues. These business journals will include lists and rankings leading employers that later get published separately as the Book of Lists for various cities.
Access is limited to 10 simultaneous users. If you are on the Twin Cities campus, go to https://www.bizjournals.com/twincities/portal/uofminnesotaMN. If you are affiliated with the University of Minnesota Twin Cities and would like to access this resource off campus, click on the following link to go through the authentication process: http://www.lib.umn.edu/ejournals/restricted/16519 - U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new windowSearch the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
- International Newsstream This link opens in a new windowInternational news from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format. Over 800 of the world's top news sources.
Last Updated: Mar 21, 2024 10:12 AM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/c.php?g=849497