Digital image collections guide

The American Society of Hematology (ASH) Image Bank is intended to serve as a comprehensive reference and teaching tool that is widely accessible to physicians and hematology students around the world.

Over 1,000 endoscopic images. Categories include esophagus, stomach, colon, and more.

Michigan State University online atlases of the brains of humans, sheep, dolphins, and more. Search for brain images by animal category.

Photos, illustrations, audio/visual, and animation files. Images include titles, descriptions, and subject identifiers.

From the National Health Museum. Graphics Gallery is a series of labeled diagrams with explanations representing the important processes of biotechnology. Each diagram is followed by a summary of information, providing a context for the process illustrated.

Genome Sciences images from the Department of Energy Human Genome Project. Search by topic or browse by categories including Human Chromosome Gallery, Basic Genomics, and more.

Atlas of the human brain from Harvard Medicine. Browse for a variety of images by normal brain or brain disease type.

HEAL is a digital repository that allows medical educators to discover, download, and re-use over 22,000 medical education resources.

Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) provides access to nearly 70,000 images in the collections of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S National Library of Medicine (NLM). The collection includes portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine dated from the 15th to 21st century.

JayDoc HistoWeb is an online histology atlas. The creators of HistoWeb allow use of the content for non-profit, educational purposes.

Over 10,000 medical images. Search for images by limiting your "content type" to "images."

Open-i is a National Institutes of Health (NIH) sponsored project designed to "provide next generation information retrieval services for biomedical articles from the full text collections such as PubMed Central. It is unique in its ability to index both the text and images in the articles." The initial launch is with 600,000 images, with plans to scale in the millions over time.

Images from the collections of the Office of Communications and Education and Office of Media Relations, National Cancer Institute.

Over 40,000 current and historical medical images; topics include medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.

The records chronicle the American Social Health (originally "Hygiene") Association's efforts to control and prevent venereal disease, prostitution, and drug addiction through educational, legal, and medical measures. The records reflect considerable interaction with the armed forces, particularly during periods of war or full mobilization. Field reports document conditions in individual cities and the influence of housing, recreation, sanitation, and other factors on vice and public health. Financial sections reflect the development of federated fund-raising and its impact on a national association's program. Activities of longtime executives and staff members William Snow, C. Walter Clarke, Bascom Johnson, and Paul Kinsie are extensively documented.

University of Western Ontario virtual slidebox of images illustrating pathological processes.

Illustrations from Henry Gray's 1918 work Anatomy of the Human Body

Duke Medical Center Library's historical images in medicine

Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) provides access to nearly 70,000 images in the collections of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S National Library of Medicine (NLM). The collection includes portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine dated from the 15th to 21st century.

"Keeping Fit" was a 48-poster series produced by the U.S. Public Health Service and the YMCA in 1919. It was designed to educate teenage boys and young men about the dangers of sexual promiscuity and urged them to embrace moral and physical fitness. A parallel series, "Youth and Life" was designed for girls and young women.

Over 600 historical and health-related advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines from 1910-1959; categories include cigarettes, vitamins and tonics, diet, and more From Duke University Libraries digital collections.

The National Eye Institute's (NEI) repository for images, photos, and videos. Can be search by condition, anatomy, diagnostics, age group, and others.

Images from the thirteenth through the early twentieth century in the fields of astronomy, chemistry, geology, mathematics, medicine, and physics, as represented in manuscript illuminations, engravings, lithographs, and photographs from the New York Public Library.

Images from the collections of the Office of Communications and Education and Office of Media Relations, National Cancer Institute.

Images from the Pathology Teaching Collection, historical hospital postcards, portrait engravings, and the George E. Palade slide collection.

"Youth and Life" was a 48-poster series, designed to educate teenage girls and young women about the dangers of sexual promiscuity and urged them to embrace moral and physical fitness. It was adapted in 1922 by the American Social Hygiene Association from "Keeping Fit", a similar series for boys and young men.

The ECG Learning Center also includes diagrams useful in explaining ECG abnormalities. Use of ECG Learning Center images is governed by a Creative Commons Copyright which allows rather liberal non-profit use.

The ECG Library includes approximately 50 ECGs, a few diagrams useful in explaining ECG abnormalities, and a brief history of electrocardiography. Materials available through the site may be used for non-commercial purposes if their source is acknowledged.

A collection of stereoscopic anatomy images from the Lane Library at Stanford. Use and copyright discussed on home page of Bassett collection.

Collection of images, movies, illustrations and animations across biology and biomedicine. You can download as much material as you want for non-commercial purposes, such as for use in lectures or seminars.

Non-governmental organization whose central purpose is to set standards for the presentation of health information on the web. The Media Gallery is a searchable repository of over 6,800 images and videos which meet HON standards.

TRIP allows you to search across a gamut of high evidence sources, such as guidelines, systematic reviews, and primary research.

The world's most detailed 3D model of human anatomy available online created by Primal Pictures. Includes features such as interactive zoom, rotation, angle, interactive layers, extensive text, MRI, clinical slides and xrays, live action movies, animations, radiology slides, dissection videos and slides, surface anatomy videos and slides. Focuses on muscles, ligaments, nerves, veins, arteries, bones.