Librarian
Places such as Mecca, Lourdes, St. Peter's Basilica, Bighorn Medicine Wheel, Chimayo, Mt. Kailash, Benares, and the World Trade Center are visited by thousands of pilgrims each year. Even in our state, there are many places - cemetaries, burial mounds, landmarks, etc. - that have similar intrinsic value, to contemporaries or in the past. This guide is intended to provide you with information on key reference works, databases, web sites, collections and organizations that may be useful to you in studying these sacred landscapes and places.
Finding books, journals, and other materials
If you need to find articles, books or other materials, you will need to use MNCAT to determine whether or not those materials are available here on campus. Other major online catalogs - to search the holdings of libraries around the world - are also included. To access any materials not owned by the University Libraries, you will need to use our interlibrary loan services.
- Library CatalogSearch with the Library Catalog to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic.
- WorldCatFind books, journals, articles, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, theses/dissertations, machine-readable data files, and any other materials available in libraries worldwide. All subject areas are covered. Request items through Interlibrary Loan using the ILLiad link on each item's record. A mobile version of this database is available. Limited to 65 simultaneous users.
Handbooks and guides
These books are intended to give you an overview of the field and tips on finding information and resources.
- Archaeology, Ritual, ReligionBy Timothy Insoll. London ; New York : Routledge, 2004. A part of the Themes in archaeology series. This reference work - availalbe full-text online - covers prehistoric religion, rites and ceremonies. Includes bibliographies and index.
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability - Ethnic Groups WorldWide: A Ready Reference HandbookBy David Levinson. Phoenix, AZ: 1998. Available in print in Wilson Reference or as an electronic book online, this work intends "to provide readers with an easy-to-use, accurate, up-to-date guide to ethnic groups in the contemporary world." The four sections of the book are: Europe, Africa, Asia and the Pacific, and The Americas.
• Location(s): TC Wilson Library Reference GN325 .L46 1998 Non-Circulating
(Link above goes to MNCAT Record) - Handbook of Landscape ArchaeologyEdited by Bruno David & Julian Thomas. Walnut Creek, CA: Left Coast Press, 2008. "Over 80 archaeologists from three continents attempt a comprehensive definition of the ideas and practices of landscape archaeology, covering the theoretical and the practical, the research and conservation, and encasing the term in a global framework."
(Link above to MNCAT Record) - Handbook of the sociology of religionEdited by Michele Dillon. New York : Cambridge University Press, 2003.
• Location(s): TC Wilson Library BL60 .H36 2003 Regular Loan
(Link above to MNCAT Record) - Introduction to Library Research in Anthropology, 2nd ed.This book is the standard for guiding library research in cultural anthropology. Weeks begins with a good overview of the field, followed by individual chapters detailing different kinds of sources including archives, databases, internet sites as well as conventional information sources like indexes and abstracting services, regional bibliographies and Library of Congress subject headings. An essential tool.
• Location(s): TC Wilson Library Reference GN42 .W44x 1998 Non-Circulating
(Link above to MNCAT Record) - Landscape Architecture Sourcebook: A Guide to Resources on the History and Practice of Landscape Architecture in the United StatesDetroit, MI: Omnigraphics, 1997.
• Location(s): TC Arch/L.Arch Z5996.5.U6 L36 1997 Regular Loan
(Link above to MNCAT Record) - Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization [electronic resource]Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2003. "Online version provides a survey of the Greek and Roman worlds in all their aspects. Drawing on the latest edition of the Oxford Classical Dictionary, the Companion offers articles on diverse fields such as, history and politics; ethics and morals; law and punishment; social and family life; language, literature, and art; religion and mythology; technology, science, and medicine."
- Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of ReligionEdited by William J. Wainwright. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2005.
• Location(s): TC Wilson Library BL51 .O94 2005 Regular Loan
(Link above to MNCAT Record) - Sacred Landscape Bibliographycompiled by freelance writer catherine yronwode [sic] An annotated bibliography; each entry has keywords for searching using the site's search tool.
- Sacred Landscapes in AmericaThis guide, from the University of California, Berkeley, Libraries covers resources related to "sacred landscapes across American ethnic and religious cultures, with an emphasis on California and the San Francisco Bay Area." Check MNCAT to see which titles would be owned here at the University of Minnesota.
- Sage Research MethodsSAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a tool designed to help you create research projects and understand the methods behind them. SRMO's new taxonomy of over 1,400 unique methods terms links to authoritative content, including: Over 600 books; Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks; The entire "Little Green Book" and "Little Blue Book" series; Two major works collating a selection of journal articles; a small selection of video tutorials and video definitions pertaining to a specific research method chosen by the editors.
Encyclopedia and dictionaries
These types of resources help you to get an overview or better understanding of some term, place or philosophy. We have hundreds of encyclopedia and dictionaries here in the Libraries. For something more specific to your needs, check MNCAT and search by keywords.
- Blackwell Encyclopedia of SociologyEdited by George Ritzer. New York: Blackwell, 2006. This 11-volume set includes 1700 articles from over 1,000 contributors. Reviewers consider it the "most ambitious and comprehensive reference work of its kind."
• Location(s): TC Wilson Library Reference HM425 .B53 2007 Non-Circulating
(Link above to MNCAT Record) - Brill Dictionary of ReligionWilson Library Reference BL31 .M4813 2006
• Location(s): TC Wilson Library Reference BL31 .M4813 2006 Non-Circulating
(Link above to MNCAT Record) - Burial Terminology: A Guide for ResearchersBy Roderick Sprague. Walnut Creek, CA: AltaMira, 2005. Contents includes: Historical background, field guide; Discussion of the classification; Form of disposal; Body preparation; Individuality; Articulation; Position; Deposition; Orientation, alignment, and facing; Grave goods or inclusions; Disposal container; Features; Description of disposal area; Demography; Excavation; and Data recording.
• Location(s): TC Wilson Library CC77.B8 S97 2005 Regular Loan
(Link above to MNCAT Record) - Companion Encyclopedia of ArchaeologyThis 1999 Routledge 2 volume encyclopedia is available as an ebook to provide background information on the topic.
• Location(s): http://www.lib.umn.edu/slog.phtml?url=http://www.netlibrary.com/summary.asp?id=71413 Access for the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities only.
(Link above to MNCAT Record) - Concise Oxford Dictionary of ArchaeologyEbook "with over 4,000 entries, entries cover vocabulary for archaeological work including including principles, theories, techniques, artefacts, materials, people, places, monuments, equipment, descriptive terms, and archaeolgical legislation in the United Kingdom and the United States."
- Concise Oxford Dictionary of World ReligionsEdited by John Bowker. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2003. "This searchable database, abridged from the Oxford Dictionary of World Religions, contains 8,200 entries on major and many minor religions, including Christianity, Judaism, Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, Jainism, Shinto, Sikhism, and Taoism."
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability - Dictionary of Landscape: A Dictionary of Terms Used in the Description of the World's Land Surface• Location(s): Arch/L.Arch Reference QH75 .G645 1991 Two Hour Loan
(Link above to MNCAT Record) - Dictionary of Landscape ArchitectureLocation(s): MAGRATH SB469.25 .M67 1987 Reference, ARCHITECTURE & SB469.25.M67 1987 LANDSCAPE ARCH Ref, ANDERSEN SB469.25 .M67 1987 HORTICULTURAL,
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability - Dictionary of Sociology, 2nd ed.Edited by Gordon Marshall. Oxford University Press, 2002. A basic dictionary of core terms available online for your convenience.
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability - Dictionary of the Social SciencesEdited by Craig Calhoun. [Oxford] : Oxford University Press, 2002. Searchable dictionary for terms in the social sciences.
• Location(s): http://www.lib.umn.edu/slog.phtml?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t104
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability
- Encyclopaedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new windowMajor encyclopedia with information on a wide range of subjects.
- Encyclopedia of Anthropology OnlineEdited by H. James Birx. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE, 2007. A comprehensive, five-volume work with over 1,100 entries of original material written for this encyclopedia by educators and scholars in the natural and social sciences as well as philosophy. All articles are organized by keywords ranging from A to Z and an index. Entries cover the major areas of anthropology, as well as relevant topics in related disciplines, e.g., evolution, geology, paleontology, biology, sociology, psychology, philosophy, and theology. Available online for full-text access to the contents. Also available in print in Wilson Reference.
- Encyclopedia of Archaeology"The Encyclopedia of Archaeology (2006) encompass all aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline. Featured are articles by leading authors that summarize archaeological knowledge at the beginning the 21st century, highlighting important sites and issues, and tracing the development of prehistoric cultures around the globe."
• Location(s): TC Wilson Library On Order
(Link above to MNCAT Record) - Encyclopedia of Historical ArchaeologyEdited by Charles E. Orser Jr. London: Routledge, 2002. This one-volume work presents overviews on various topics, including entries for folklore, geography, history, anthropology, and architecture among others. Organized alphabetically by topic, each entry includes a bibliography for further reading.
• Location(s): TC Wilson Library Reference CC77.H5 E53 2002 Non-Circulating
(Link above to MNCAT Record) - Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic StudiesBy Ellis Cashmore. New York: Routledge, 2004. Available as both an ebook and in print, this work examines race and ethnicity issues worldwide. Includes bibliographies for further reading and an index.
• Location(s): TC Wilson Library Reference GN495.6 .C37 2004 Non-Circulating
(Link above to MNCAT Record) - Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd ed. (Jones, 2005)Lindsay Jones, editor in chief. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2005. A 15-volume encyclopedia of the field of religion.
• Location(s): TC Wilson Library Reference Quarto BL31 .E46 2005 Non-Circulating
(Link above to MNCAT Record) - Encyclopedia of Religion and NatureBron R. Taylor, editor-in-chief. New York: Thoemmes Continum, 2005. A good reference work that looks at the intersections of religion and ecology.
• Location(s): TC Magrath Library Reference BL65.N35 E53 2005 Non-Circulating
(Link above to MNCAT Record) - Encyclopedia of Religious FreedomEdited by Catharine Cookson. New York: Routledge, 2003. Multidisciplinary in scope, "the 140 signed entries are written by an international team of specialists in the fields of religion, law, philosophy, human rights, government, sociology, and history."
(Link above to MNCAT Record) - Encyclopedia of Religious Rites, Rituals, and FestivalsFrank A. Salamone, editor. New York: Routledge, 2004.
• Location(s): TC Wilson Library Reference Quarto BL31 .E47 2004 Non-Circulating
(Link above to MNCAT Record) - Encyclopedia of Sacred PlacesNorbert C. Brockman. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1997. Includes: Sacred sites listed by religious tradition; Entries, listed by country; and Entries on the UNESCO world heritage list of cultural sites.
• Location(s): TC Wilson Library Reference Quarto BL580 .B76 1997 Non-Circulating
(Link above to MNCAT Record) - Encyclopedia of Science and ReligionJ. Wentzel Vrede van Huyssteen, editor in chief. New York: Macmillan, 2003. 2 volumes.
• Location(s): TC Wilson Library Reference Quarto BL240.3 .E53 2003 Non-Circulating
(Link above to MNCAT Record) - Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural AnthropologyEdited by Alan Barnard and Johnathan Spencer. London: Routledge, 1996. This work is available online as an ebook or in print.
• Location(s): TC Wilson Library Reference GN307 .E648x 1996 Non-Circulating
Check MNCAT Record for Location and Availability - Facts on File Encyclopedia of World Mythology and LegendBy Anthony S. Mercatante ; revised by James R. Dow. 2nd, revised edition. New York: Facts on File, 2004.
• Location(s): TC Wilson Library Reference BL303 .M45 2004 Non-Circulating
(Link above to MNCAT Record)
- Gale EbooksThis website from the reference publisher, Gale, allows you to search through the full-text of tens of key reference works and encyclopedia. A great way to start a research project! Online, it can be used anywhere at anytime!
- International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral SciencesThis major encyclopedia for the behavioral sciences is the latest in recent publication. It is available in print in the Wilson Reference and the Magrath Reference collections.
• Location(s): Magrath Reference (Encyclopedia) H41 .I58 2001 Wilson Reference H41 .I58 2001
(Link above to MNCAT Record) - Landscape Encyclopaedia: A Reference Guide to the Historic LandscapeBy Richard Muir. Bollington, Cheshire: Windgather, 2004. Focussed on Britain and Ireland's historic landscapes, this encycopedia contains over 1200 entries providing explanations of the major terms, features and ideas discussed in landscape history and archaeology. Short entries describe less familiar terms, such as copyhold tenure, and longer articles discuss the subject's big themes, concepts and approaches, such as ancient countryside and aerial archaeology. The entries are cross-referenced and also brief bibliographies.
• Location(s): TC Arch/L.Arch Reference DA600 .M85 2004 Two Hour Loan
(Link above to MNCAT Record) - Mythology of the Americas: An Illustrated Encyclopedia of Gods, Spirits, and Sacred Places of North America, Mesoamerica and South AmericaBy David M. Jones and Brian L. Molyneaux. London: Lorenz Books, 2001.
• Location(s): TC Wilson Library Reference Quarto E59.R38 J66 2001 Regular Loan
(Link above to MNCAT Record)
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient EgyptFeaturing 600 original articles written by leading scholars, this encyclopedia offers the most complete picture available of ancient Egyptian civilization, from the predynastic era to its eclipse in the seventh century CE.
- Pilgrimage From the Ganges to Graceland: An EncyclopediaBy Linda Davidson & David Gitlitz. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2002. 2-volume set. Describing the study as "a journey to a special place, in which both the journey and the destination have spiritual significance for the journeyer," the encyclopedia presents over 600 entries. The work includes a listing of sites by country and an extensive bibliography.
• Location(s): TC Wilson Library BL619.P5 D38 2002 TC Wilson Library Reference BL619.P5 D38 2002 Non-Circulating
(Link above to MNCAT Record) - Religion and American Cultures: An Encyclopedia of Traditions, Diversity, and Popular ExpressionsGary Laderman & Luis Leon, editors. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, 2003. "The only multicultural survey of established and "new" American religions, this exhaustive three-volume encyclopedia explores the fascinating interaction between religion and ethnicity, gender, regionalism, and popular culture."
• Location(s): TC Wilson Library Reference Quarto BL2525 .R448 2003 Non-Circulating
(Link above to MNCAT Record)
- Sage KnowledgeSearch all library subscriptions from Sage Publishing including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.
- World EncyclopediaOxford University Press 2005. Over 13,000 entries providing information on a range of subjects, including world affairs, science and technology, the arts, modern and ancient history, religion, sports, and popular culture.
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily LifeUseful for comparative overview of cultures. Most entries provide brief information in each of twenty standard categories for over 500 culture groups. v. 1. Africa / v. 2. Americas / v. 3. Asia and Oceania / v.4. Europe.
• Location(s): WILSON Reference Quarto GN333 .W67 1998
(Link above to MNCAT Record)
Atlases and maps
The University Libraries have thousands of maps and atlases available. These are just a few of the atlases which might be useful to you in your study. For a complete list of our holdings, use MNCAT.
- Atlas of Holy Places & Sacred SitesBy Colin Wilson. New York: DK Publishing, 1996.
• Location(s): TC Wilson Library Reference Folio BL580 .W55 1996 Non-Circulating
(Link above to MNCAT Record) - Atlas of Sacred Places: Meeting Points of Heaven and EarthBy James Harpur. New York: Henry Holt, 1994.
• Location(s): TC Arch/L.Arch Quarto BL580 .H37 1994 Regular Loan
(Link above to MNCAT Record) - Atlas of Sacred Sites"Sacred sites are the most loved and visited places on planet earth. Since prehistoric times they have exerted a mysterious attraction on billions of pilgrims from every region and religion. These holy places have the power to heal the body, enlighten the mind, and awaken the soul. Anthropologist Martin Gray spent 20 years as a wandering pilgrim to study and artistically photograph 1000 sacred sites in 80 countries. This web site features Martin's sacred art photographs and shows the location of sacred places and pilgrimage shrines around the world."
- Atlas of World Cultures: A Geographical Guide to Ethnographic Literature (print)By David H. Price. Newbury Park, CA: Sage Publications, 1989.
• Location(s): Wilson Library Reference Quarto G1046.E1 P7 1989 Non-Circulating
(Link above to MNCAT Record) - Atlas of the World's ReligionsEdited by Ninian Smart. New York: Oxford University Press, 1999.
• Location(s): TC Wilson Library Borchert Map Folio G1046.E4 A85x 1999 Regular Loan
(Link above to MNCAT Record) - Library of Congress Country StudiesThe Library of Congress Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. The series examines the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors.
Core scholarly databases and indexes
The University Libraries provides access to over 200 online databases and indexes as well as many more in print and on CD-ROM. If you need assistance in selecting the right database for your project, ask at any reference desk.
- America: History and LifeThis index provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present with over 2,000 journals including all key English-language historical journals.
- Anthropology PlusAnthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
- Anthropology Review Database"The Anthropology Review Database, ARD for short, is a brand new resource for anthropology and a member of a rare new species of online publication. Unlike traditional periodicals, ARD reviews are published individually, as soon as they clear the editorial process. Documents are housed in an online database where they can be accessed at any time. eginning in September of 1999, citations for reviews published in American Antiquity from 1990 to 1999 were added to the database, increasing our inventory four-fold. February, 2001, we entered into an arrangement with the American Journal of Physical Anthropology to include their review citations."
- AnthroSourceCurrent and archival journals from the American Anthropological Association (AAA). Current coverage includes 15 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications; including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly. The archive includes all AAA journals.
- Art Full TextArt Full Text, produced by The HW Wilson Company, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. There is full-text coverage for selected periodicals. Coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. The abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full-text coverage begins in 1997.
- ASCE Civil Engineering DatabaseThe Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) is designed to provide easy bibliographic access to all publications of the American Society of Civil Engineers. The database covers ASCE documents published since 1973. It provides access to all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newsletters.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerialsATLA lists journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Some listings link to full text of articles. More about ATLA
- Avery Index to Architectural PeriodicalsRecognized as one of the world's leading databases of the architectural literature, this indexes more than 1,000 western language periodicals published worldwide on architecture, archaeology, decorative arts, environmental studies, furniture, historic preservation, landscape architecture, urban planning/city planning, interior design, and historic preservation.
- Compendex ArchiveProvides extensive indexing of scholarly and technical periodicals, conference proceedings, and report literature in all engineering disciplines including applied physics, electronics, materials science, and related fields in science and management. Indexes nearly 3000 sources worldwide.
- Communication and Mass Media CompleteFind academic journal articles on topics in mass media, film, television, marketing, and communications in business, health, and other communication studies.
- Historical AbstractsCovers the world's scholarship in history from 1450 to the present.
- MLA International BibliographyThe MLA International Bibliography is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926.
- Philosopher's IndexThe Philosopher's Index is a comprehensive, bibliographic database covering worldwide research in all areas of philosophy from 1940 to the present. This bibliographic database offers informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology and book reviews.
- Sociological AbstractsThis core database for the field of sociology contains information on sociology and social policy worldwide. Sociological Abstracts includes citations from the 1952-present. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of journal publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
- Urban ForestryIndexes publications relating to the history of urban forestry; urban forest legislation; the benefits of urban forests; selection and planting of trees; maintenance of the urban forest; planning and management; and urban forestry programs. Covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents. Database produced by the U of Minn Forestry Library.
- Web of ScienceSearch within a comprehensive interdisciplinary collection of journal article citations. Subjects generally covered are within Science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences . Use the citation web to find articles and journals with the most impact. Coverage runs from 1975 to the present. Find help on their website.
Key websites
Googling, you can find thousands of pages on this topic. Here are just a few sites with good information and links for your research.
- AAA's Anthropology Resources on the InternetA good set of annotated links to major web sites relevant to the field and practice of Anthropology.
- Anthropological TheoriesThis browsable, searchable set of "guides to anthropological theories and approaches listed below have been prepared by graduate students of the University of Alabama under the direction of Dr. Michael D. Murphy." Each of the 16 theoretical traditions includes good background on the theories and history of them, information on key theorists, key works and links to useful web sites.
- Anthropology Resources on the InternetExcellent, organized and searchable guide to related web sites in all areas of Anthropology.
- Place and Space in PhilosophyCreated by Professor Burce Jenz, this includes a useful hyperlinked bibliography of philosophical sources about place.
- Places of Peace and Power: Sacred Sites and Pilgrammage Traditions of the World"Anthropologist Martin Gray spent 20 years as a wandering pilgrim to study and artistically photograph 1000 sacred sites in 80 countries." The site features hundreds of Gray's photographs, "information on the mythology, history and significance of the site," an atlas, bibliography, and a set of related links.
- Sacred Places Directory"An index of stone circles, holy wells, sacred groves, temples, mountain tops, pyramids, caves, shrines, megaliths, ancient pilgrimage and vision quest sites, organized by region."
- Society PagesAn excellent set of links, blogs and other useful information related to sociology, politics and society. Created and maintained by University of Minnesota Sociology professors Doug Hartmann and Chris Uggen, this is an excellent place to learn how the principles, ideas and research in the field relate to our lives and help explain and understanding the world around us.
- UNESCO World Heritage ListThe United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) seeks to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world considered to be of outstanding value to humanity. The list contains over 800 locations, organized by country.
More guides to help you find the information you need
- History (general aspects)This subject covers: all periods of history and all geographical areas. Other related topics are: History, African; History, East Asian; History, European; History, United States.
- PhilosophyThis subject covers: aesthetics, epistemology, logic, ethics, history of philosophy, moral and political philosophy, philosophy of logic and mathematics, philosophy of mind and psychology, philosophy of science.
- Religious StudiesThis subject covers: the spiritual history and practices of human beings from mythological times to the present. Other related subjects are Philosophy, and Middle East Studies.
Key campus libraries and collections
- Ames Library of South Asia
Located in Wilson Library and home to materials on Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Burma, India, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka, mainly covering the social sciences and humanities in English, vernacular, and European languages. The Ames Library includes a special collection of rare books and archives of manuscripts, photographs, maps, prints and drawings, mostly from the period 1600-1900.
Hours - Magrath Library (St. Paul)
Magrath Library is the largest on the St. Paul campus with books on design, agriculture, plant sciences, and more. - East Asian Library
Collection, in Wilson Library, focused on Chinese, Japanese, and Korean language materials, serving the instructional and research needs of the East Asian studies and more. - Architecture and Landscape Architecture Library
The Architecture and Landscape Architecture Library is located on the East Bank on the second level, 210 Rapson Hall. - Wilson Library (West Bank)
Wilson Library is the largest library on campus with books on Social Sciences (e.g. History, Business, Psychology, Education, Sociology, etc.) and Humanities (e.g. Art, Literature, etc.) including most of our books in languages including Chinese, Japanese, Korean, German, French, and dozens more.
Last Updated: Feb 23, 2024 12:09 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/c.php?g=858526