Research Guides: PT 7200: Getting Started

Need some help?

Ask Us

Health Sciences Library

Contact:

Phillips-Wangensteen Building
516 Delaware Street SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455
email: hsl@umn.edu

651-626-4045

Recommended for PT Courses

PubMed search

Getting Started

Start with:

MEDLINE (Ovid)
Searches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Ovid MEDLINE is optimized for advanced literature searches. Coverage is from the 1940s to the present.
PubMed
Searches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Coverage is from the 1940s to the present. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.

Then try any of the following:

CINAHL Ultimate (Nursing & Allied Health)
Covers nursing and allied health journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations, as well as providing summarized evidence-based resources such as care sheets and quick lessons.

American Physical Therapy Association (APTA)
APTA represents more than 100,000 members: physical therapists, physical therapist assistants, and students of physical therapy.
PEDro: Physiotherapy Evidence Database
Database of randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.

Also check out:

Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library consists of a collection of regularly updated evidence-based health care databases. The Cochrane collection is designed to provide information and evidence to support health care decision-making.
The available databases are: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (regularly updated reviews of the effects of health care interventions); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness: DARE (critical assessments and structured abstracts of good systematic reviews published elsewhere); The Cochrane Controlled Trials Register: CENTRAL (bibliographic information on controlled trials); The Cochrance Database of Methodology Reviews: CDMR (systematic reviews of methodological studies); Health Technology Assessment Database: HTA (information about health technology assessments); NHS Economic Evaluation Database: NHS EED (National Health Service (UK), structured abstracts of articles describing evaluations of health care interventions); browse by Cochrane Collaborative Review Group; and the Cochrane Reviewer's Handbook.

Coverage: 1996 - present
SPORTDiscus
The world's most comprehensive bibliographic resources for all aspects of sport and fitness. Includes websites, conference papers, journal articles, unpublished papers and theses. It also includes Full-text access to over 350 journals. Limited to 8 simultaneous users.
An@tomy.tv
A detailed, interactive, 3D model of human anatomy with customized, downloadable images. Focuses on muscles, ligaments, nerves, veins, arteries, and bones. Includes features such as zoom, rotation, angle, layers, extensive text, MRI, clinical slides and xrays, movies, animations, radiology slides, dissection and surface anatomy videos and slides.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy is a series of anatomy lessons on video presented by Robert Acland. The series uses unembalmed human specimens to illustrate anatomical structures.

Last Updated: Nov 15, 2024 9:56 AM