This guide is designed for new researchers who need to find articles, sources, and get started with research in law or legal issues.
- WestlawNext Campus Research (Law)WestlawNext Campus Research provides access to legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments. It includes law journals, the American Jurisprudence encyclopedia, the American Law Reports, and news content.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowHuge legal search tool with full-text of legal journals, legal histories, government documents, state and federal cases, international law and includes coverage of many older legal materials. Contains the Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports (Supreme Court) back to 1754.
- Proquest Congressional This link opens in a new windowThe ProQuest Congressional Research Digital Collection (CRDC) provides full-text access to more than 5,000 Congressional committee prints published from 2004 to present and more than 23,000 Congressional Research Service reports published from 2004-present. Includes citations for bills, public laws, and Statutes at Large, and analytical abstracts of the documents. Also includes links to political parties and organizations and news sources. Coverage 1789-present.
- Legislative Insight This link opens in a new windowFind compilations of digital full-text publications relevant to enacted United States public laws.
- Open StatesTrack state-level bills, review upcoming legislation, see how your local representatives are voting.
Then try any of the following:
- Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 This link opens in a new windowBrowse and full text searching available. Search by specific keywords or phrases, author (counsel or organization), case name, court term, document filing date and U.S. Reports citation. Document types include: briefs, applications, jurisdictional statements, opposition for review, oral transcripts, petitions, among other sources.
- Supreme Court Insight This link opens in a new windowSearch an online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including per decision, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amicus briefs. Access is 1975-present.
- PAIS Index (Political Science and Public Policy)PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) searches journals and other sources on issues of political science and public policy. This includes government, politics, international relations, human rights and more.
- Google Scholar (Setup connection to get to PDFs)Use Google Scholar to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, research institutes, and scholarly repositories from colleges and universities. If you are using from off-campus access, change the "Library Settings" to University of Minnesota Twin Cities. Look for the "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities" links in your Google Scholar search results to access full text and PDFs. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Oxford Constitutional Law This link opens in a new windowOxford Constitutional Law (OXCON) is the home of Oxfords constitutional law services: Oxford Constitutions of the World, US Constitutional Law, and the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional Law. From this platform users are able to perform a single search across all three constitutional law services.
- Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600-1926 This link opens in a new windowA digital archive of pre-1926 treatises and similar monographs. The international law component features classic works of great legal theorists, such as Gentili, Grotius, and Selden, and others. The foreign law component offers legal treatises from a variety of common-law countries and equivalent works in civil-law systems (commentaries, encyclopedias, textbooks, monographs, or festschriften). The comparative law component includes Ancient, Roman, Jewish Law and Islamic Law.
- Making of Modern Law: Landmark Records and Briefs of the U.S. Courts of Appeals, 1950-1980 This link opens in a new windowThis archive covers the years 1950 - c.1980 and offers a selection of frequently studied case histories from the U.S. courts of appeals. Document types include appellant's and appellee's briefs; reply briefs; amicus briefs; appendices; motions; petitions; transcript; and various court records. Source institutions include Jenkins Law Library, New York City Bar Association, University of Iowa, and Yale University.
- Making of Modern Law: Legal Treaties, 1800-1926 This link opens in a new windowA full-text digital image archive of 22,000 legal treatises on U.S. and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Browse feature (by author or title) and full-text search engine provided.
- Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926 This link opens in a new windowContains the full-text digital images of thousands of books and pamphlets covering Anglo-American trials, from the beginning of the modern period to the early in twentieth century. In addition to works pertaining to English-speaking jurisdictions, English-language titles about trials in other jurisdictions such as France are included. Books encompassing multiple trials are included as well as books about a single trial. Browse feature (by author or title) and full-text search engine provided.
Also check out:
- Academic Search PremierA great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Law LibraryThe Law Library is located on the west bank in 310 Mondale Hall. Find collections on law, legal research, and more. The Law Library primarily supports the research and curricular needs of the University of Minnesota Law School faculty and students.
Last Updated: Jul 6, 2022 11:23 AM