Useful Subject Terms
|City Planning||Consumption (Economics)||Economic Development|
|Environmental Aspects||Ecosystem||Environmental Policy|
|Environmentalism||Environmental Economics||Environmental Ethics|
|Human Ecology||Land Use||Pollution|
|Over-polution||Regional Planning||Religious Aspects|
|Restoration Ecology||Social Aspects||Social Justice|
|Stewardship||Sustainable Agriculture||Sustainable Development|
|Sustainable Architecture||Urban Ecology||Urban Renewal|
- Agricultural & Environmental Science DatabaseSearch journals and literature on agriculture, pollution, animals, environment, policy, natural resources, water issues and more. Searches tools like AGRICOLA, ESPM, and EIS databases.
- AGRICOLA Agriculture (Ovid)Search agriculture, animal husbandry, animal and human nutrition, forestry, plant pathology, plant science, human ecology, agricultural economics, and rural sociology. Limited to 8 simultaneous users.
- CAB Abstracts Plus Full Text SelectCAB Abstracts covers agriculture in its broadest sense, including crop production, forestry, environment, animal health and nutrition, veterinary science, agricultural engineering, biotechnology, soil and water, agricultural economics, recreation and tourism, rural sociology, and human nutrition and health.
- WorldCatFind books, journals, articles, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, theses/dissertations, machine-readable data files, and any other materials available in libraries worldwide. All subject areas are covered. Request items through Interlibrary Loan using the ILLiad link on each item's record. A mobile version of this database is available. Limited to 65 simultaneous users.
- Google Scholar (Setup connection to get to PDFs)Use Google Scholar to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, research institutes, and scholarly repositories from colleges and universities. If you are using from off-campus access, change the "Library Settings" to University of Minnesota Twin Cities. Look for the "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities" links in your Google Scholar search results to access full text and PDFs. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Sustainable Communities Books
- Emerald cities : urban sustainability and economic developmentTC Wilson Library General Collection HT123 .F58 2010
- Regional planning for a sustainable America : how creative programs are promoting prosperity and saving the environmentTC Wilson Library General Collection HT395.N612 R44 2011
Library research tutorial: Creating an effective search strategy
Library research tutorial: How to read and comprehend scientific research articles
Library research tutorial: What are citations?
What is a citation manager?
A citation manager is a software tool used to create personalized databases of citation information and notes. They allow you to:
- import and organize citation information from article indexes and other sources,
- export your citations into Word documents or other types of publications,
- format citations for your papers and bibliographies using APA and many other styles, and
- include your own notes.
Choosing a citation manager
Last Updated: Feb 17, 2022 3:01 PM