Ask us
Ask Us
Health Sciences Library
Contact:
Phillips-Wangensteen Building
516 Delaware Street SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455
email: hsl@umn.edu
516 Delaware Street SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455
email: hsl@umn.edu
651-626-4045
Website
Resources for Clinical Laboratory Science, also called Medical Laboratory Science or Medical Technology, is the health profession that provides laboratory information and services needed for the diagnosis and treatment of disease.
Databases
- MEDLINE (Ovid)Searches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Ovid MEDLINE is optimized for advanced literature searches. Coverage is from the 1940s to the present.
- PubMedSearches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Coverage is from the 1940s to the present. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- CINAHL Ultimate (Nursing & Allied Health)Covers nursing and allied health journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations, as well as providing summarized evidence-based resources such as care sheets and quick lessons.
- Current ProtocolsCurrent Protocols is a collection of updatable, step-by-step, reproducible laboratory methods.
- Google Scholar (Setup connection to get to PDFs)Use Google Scholar to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, research institutes, and scholarly repositories from colleges and universities. If you are using from off-campus access, change the "Library Settings" to University of Minnesota Twin Cities. Look for the "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities" links in your Google Scholar search results to access full text and PDFs. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and BiologicalsClassic reference source for chemists with over 10,000 entries on drugs and pharmaceuticals, common organic chemicals and laboratory reagents. The entries include data such as chemical names, molecular formula, chemical structure, physical data, and literature references.
- SciFinderSciFinder is one of the best databases for topics related to chemistry and adjacent fields. It includes journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and patents. Find substance and reaction information as well as suppliers and chemical regulatory data.
E-Books in Medical Laboratory Science
E-books available at the University of Minnesota Libraries. Requires authentication/log-in with current University internet ID and password.
Laboratory Tests and Diagnostic Procedures by ISBN: 9781455706945Publication Date: 2012-11-20Look no further for quick, complete answers to questions such as which laboratory tests to order or what the results might mean. Laboratory Tests And Diagnostic Procedures, 5th Edition covers more tests than any other reference of its kind, with over 900 lab tests and diagnostic procedures in all. In Part I, you'll find a unique, alphabetical list of hundreds of diseases, conditions, and symptoms, including the tests and procedures most commonly used to confirm or rule out a suspected diagnosis. Part II presents key information on virtually every laboratory and diagnostic test available. All test entries are up-to-date, concise, complete, and consistently presented, making this resource the perfect choice for students or practitioners who need fast, accurate information on diagnostic tests. More than 900 laboratory tests and diagnostic procedures are included - more than any other reference! Over 600 diseases, conditions, and symptoms are listed, along with the tests used to confirm them. Alphabetical organization and A-to-Z thumb tabs make it easy to find the information you're looking for. Alternative test names and acronyms are cross-referenced to simplify lookup. Instructions for client and family teaching help you offer guidance concerning test preparation and follow-up care. Age and gender-specific norms are provided, giving you complete lifespan coverage. Risks and Contraindications are highlighted to help you safeguard your patients and provide effective care. Panic Level Symptoms and Treatment are provided for dangerously increased and decreased levels. Minimum volumes for blood samples are included, useful when a client's blood preservation is essential, as well as information on whether blood specimens can be drawn during hemodialysis. Tests for toxic substances are included, making this a lab, diagnostic, and toxicology book all in one. Abbreviations, measurement prefixes, and symbols are listed on the front and back covers for convenience. Information on herbal supplements indicates when a client's use of natural remedies might affect test results. Over 20 NEW test entries present the latest tests and procedures, with a strong focus on affordable, clinically relevant genetic tests. UPDATED content includes the latest research relating to accuracy of tests, diagnostic value of results, and associated cost-benefit ratios.
Mosby's manual of diagnostic and laboratory tests by ISBN: 9780323446648Publication Date: 2018"Writing care plans, understanding and performing tests, and interpreting test results is made easier with Mosby's Manual of Diagnostic and Laboratory Tests, 6th Edition. This essential resource provides clear, concise overage of over 700 of the most commonly performed diagnostic and laboratory tests. Valuable in academic and clinical settings alike, it is beloved for its full-color design, user-friendly organization, and illustrations that help clarify keep concepts. Updated and streamlined content with new tests ensures you have the most relevant information. A new Diagnostic Testing for the Most Common Diseases section highlights the integration of medical testing as it relates to the top diseases or clinical syndromes"
Tietz Textbook of Laboratory Medicine by ISBN: 9780323775724Publication Date: 2022-05-17Use THE definitive reference for laboratory medicine and clinical pathology! Tietz Textbook of Laboratory Medicine, 7th Edition provides the guidance necessary to select, perform, and evaluate the results of new and established laboratory tests. Comprehensive coverage includes the latest advances in topics such as clinical chemistry, genetic metabolic disorders, molecular diagnostics, hematology and coagulation, clinical microbiology, transfusion medicine, and clinical immunology. From a team of expert contributors led by Nader Rifai, this reference includes access to wide-ranging online resources on Expert Consult - featuring the comprehensive product with fully searchable text, regular content updates, animations, podcasts, over 1300 clinical case studies, lecture series, and more. Authoritative, current content helps you perform tests in a cost-effective, timely, and efficient manner; provides expertise in managing clinical laboratory needs; and shows how to be responsive to an ever-changing environment. Current guidelines help you select, perform, and evaluate the results of new and established laboratory tests. Expert, internationally recognized chapter authors present guidelines representing different practices and points of view. Analytical criteria focus on the medical usefulness of laboratory procedures. Use of standard and international units of measure makes this text appropriate for any user, anywhere in the world. Expert Consult provides the entire text as a fully searchable eBook, and includes regular content updates, animations, podcasts, more than 1300 clinical case studies, over 2500 multiple-choice questions, a lecture series, and more. NEW! 19 additional chapters highlight various specialties throughout laboratory medicine. NEW! Updated, peer-reviewed content provides the most current information possible. NEW! The largest-ever compilation of clinical cases in laboratory medicine is included on Expert Consult. NEW! Over 100 adaptive learning courses on Expert Consult offer the opportunity for personalized education.
Henry's Clinical Diagnosis and Management by Laboratory Methods by ISBN: 9780323673204Publication Date: 2021-06-01For more than 100 years, Henry's Clinical Diagnosis and Management by Laboratory Methods has been recognized as the premier text in clinical laboratory medicine, widely used by both clinical pathologists and laboratory technicians. Leading experts in each testing discipline clearly explain procedures and how they are used both to formulate clinical diagnoses and to plan patient medical care and long-term management. Employing a multidisciplinary approach, it provides cutting-edge coverage of automation, informatics, molecular diagnostics, proteomics, laboratory management, and quality control, emphasizing new testing methodologies throughout. Remains the most comprehensive and authoritative text on every aspect of the clinical laboratory and the scientific foundation and clinical application of today's complete range of laboratory tests. Updates include current hot topics and advances in clinical laboratory practices, including new and extended applications to diagnosis and management. New content covers next generation mass spectroscopy (MS), coagulation testing, next generation sequencing (NGS), transfusion medicine, genetics and cell-free DNA, therapeutic antibodies targeted to tumors, and new regulations such as ICD-10 coding for billing and reimbursement. Emphasizes the clinical interpretation of laboratory data to assist the clinician in patient management. Organizes chapters by organ system for quick access, and highlights information with full-color illustrations, tables, and diagrams. Provides guidance on error detection, correction, and prevention, as well as cost-effective test selection. Includes a chapter on Toxicology and Therapeutic Drug Monitoring that discusses the necessity of testing for therapeutic drugs that are more frequently being abused by users. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Ferri's Best Test by ISBN: 9780323812894Publication Date: 2022-04-22Clinicians at all levels must consider a myriad of tests in the diagnostic process, requiring an up-to-date understanding of changing technology and the demands of time- and cost-efficiency. Ferri's Best Test, 5th Edition, is a unique, easy-to-use guide that simplifies complex information and helps you choose the best test to supplement your clinical diagnostic skills. It includes both lab and imaging tests for concise, convenient access to all diagnostic test options for more than 200 common diseases and disorders. . Practical, concise, spiral-bound, and pocket-sized-designed from cover to cover for quick, on-the-go reference. . Three convenient sections provide quick access to key information on clinical laboratory testing, diagnostic imaging, and diagnostic algorithms. . New and updated content on cardiac computed tomography angiography, computed tomography perfusion imaging, COVID-19, and much more. . Coverage of 23 new laboratory tests and 14 new diseases and disorders. . Essential information on indications, advantages, disadvantages, approximate costs, normal ranges, typical abnormalities, likeliest causes, and more. . Experienced author Dr. Fred Ferri uses a unique, easy-to-follow format to simplify complex information and help you choose the best test for every patient. . New appendices on electrocardiography and respiratory testing and function. . Comparison tables and illustrations help improve your test selection. . Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook includes an image collection with access on a variety of devices.
Clinical Laboratory Methods: Atlas of Commonly Performed Tests by ISBN: 9781260470284Publication Date: 2022-03-17Master 100 of the most commonly performed lab tests Clinical Laboratory Methods covers the 100 tests most often done in clinical labs. The description of each method covers the basic concept of the assay; clinically important information; the expense of the test (based cost of the reagents, supplies, and labor); the complexity of the test; and whether each method is manual, semi-automated, or highly automated, and each method includes a flowchart. The author avoids getting bogged down in unimportant details, focusing on only what you need to know to master these important processes. Features *Each testing-method description includes a flowchart *Practice tests enable you to quiz yourself on what you have learned *The expense of each method is described as low, moderate, or high
Journals in Medical Laboratory Science
Selected list of Journals in Medical Laboratory Science and related disciplines. Requires a current University of Minnesota internet ID and password to access. See library catalog for more titles.
-
Clinical laboratory science (Online). (1988). The Society.
-
Annals of clinical and laboratory science (Online). (1971). Association of Clinical Scientists.
-
Laboratory medicine (Online). (1970). [American Society of Clinical Pathologists, etc.].
-
Archives of pathology & laboratory medicine (Online). (1976). College of American Pathologists.
-
Clinical chemistry. (1955). P.B. Hoeber.
-
Alternatives to laboratory animals : ATLA. (1981). FRAME.
-
Microscopy research and technique (Online). (1992). Wiley-Liss.
-
Journal of clinical laboratory analysis (Online). (1987). [Alan R. Liss].
-
Journal of clinical microbiology. (1975). American Society for Microbiology.
-
Journal of clinical pathology (Online). (1947). British Medical Association.
Selected Internet Resources
Freely available selected internet resources on laboratory tests and clinical laboratory medicine
- PubChem: PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
- MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. A useful resource to direct patients and caregivers
- Medical Tests: List of common medical tests, including iwhat the tests are used for, why a doctor may order a test, how a test will feel, and what the results may mean.
- Laboratory Tests: Set of resources aimed at the consumer
- Testing.com (formerly LabTestsOnline.org): Testing.com is a health information digital resource designed to help people understand the many lab tests that are a vital part of health care. The site contains a library of over 400 expert-reviewed guides on specific lab tests and laboratory topics.
- Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA): The Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments of 1988 (CLIA) regulations include federal standards applicable to all U.S. facilities or sites that test human specimens for health assessment or to diagnose, prevent, or treat disease.
-
Normal Laboratory Values (Merck Manual, Professional)
-
Bayot ML, Lopes JE, Naidoo P. Clinical Laboratory. [Updated 2022 Dec 19]. In: StatPearls [Internet]. Treasure Island (FL): StatPearls Publishing; 2023 Jan-.
Minnesota State Resources
Last Updated: Nov 15, 2024 9:52 AM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/ClinLabSci