Librarian
Computer Use of Databases for Non-U of M Researchers
I am not affiliated with the University of Minnesota, can I still use the databases?
Yes, visitors and researchers may stop by at a library
service desk to sign up for a computer workstation card by presenting
a valid government issued photo ID. The card will give the visitor
up to 2 hours of computer access per day and is valid for 6 months.
After 6 months, the card may be renewed.
Finding Articles in Databases
- Berg Fashion LibraryContent includes Encyclopedia Chapters from the 'Berg Encyclopedia
of World Dress and Fashion," e-books, reference works, images and white papers. - ProQuest Art Design and Architecture CollectionA comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts. This collection includes the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history), together with a complementary collection of current full-text journals, Arts and Humanities Full Text.
- Harper's Bazaar Archive, 1867-currentFind articles, advertisements, and covers of every issue of Harper's Bazaar from its first appearance in 1867 to the current month.
- Women's Wear Daily Archive, 1910-currentSearch the full text digital archive of the fashion industry's most influential trade magazines from 1910-present. Research the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers. Limited to 10 simultaneous users.
Electronic Archives of Fashion Periodicals
Get access to complete digital editions of these periodicals, including covers, editorials, advertisements, etc.
- Harper's Bazaar Archive, 1867-currentFind articles, advertisements, and covers of every issue of Harper's Bazaar from its first appearance in 1867 to the current month.
- Vogue Archive, 1892-currentA complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
- Women's Magazine ArchiveAn archival research resource comprised of leading womens interest consumer magazines. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.
- Women's Wear Daily Archive, 1910-currentBetter Homes and Gardens (1922-2005);
Chatelaine (1928-2005);
Good Housekeeping (1995-2005);
Ladies Home Journal (1883-2005);
Parents (1926-2005);
Redbook (1903-2005)
Print Journals in Magrath Library
Art, Gout, Beaute: Feuillets de l’Elegance Feminine (Published 1921-33),
Magrath has scattered issues 1929-1933. Magrath, Rare Periodicals
Charm (1953:Nov., 1956:Jan., 1957:Mar.), in Rare Periodicals
Dazed (limited holdings) Magrath Periodicals
Clothing and Textiles Research Journal, Magrath periodicals.
Critical studies in fashion and beauty (also available online)
Der Bazaar (1879, 1881-1894) in Magrath Rare Periodicals
Delineator (1873-1937) in Magrath Rare Periodicals
Details (2005 - to current issue), Magrath, Periodicals
Dress (1975 to current) and online access, Magrath Periodicals
Elle (1989-to current issue), Magrath Periodicals
Fashion practice:the journal of design, create process and the fashion industry
Fashion, style and popular culture (2014-2017) Magrath Library , Periodicals
Fashion theory:the journal of dress, body and culture Magrath Library, Periodicals
Gallery of fashion, volume 1, April 1794-1795. in Wilson Library
Gazette de Salons:Journal Des Dames et des Modes. (1820-1938) in Magrath Rare Periodicals.
GQ (1931-1964) in Magrath, Rare Periodicals
Harper’s Bazaar (1870 to current issue), in Magrath, Rare Periodicals
Ladies Home Journal (1891-2014) (Many of early issues are missing) Magrath Periodicals, 1st floor
Lucky (2006 - 2015) Magrath Periodicals,
McCalls (1924 - 1982) in Magrath, periodicals, 1st floor
Modern Priscilla (1891 - 1930) in Magrath Rare Periodicals
Officiel de la couture et de la mode de Paris in Magrath, Periodicals, 1st
Voici la Mode 1933-1936 [scattered issues] in Magrath Rare Periodicals
Vogue (London) (2006 to current issue) Magrath, periodicals
Vogue (USA) 1910, 1912 - current. (Some missing issues, especially 1910-1915
and during the war years). Located: Magrath, Periodicals, 1st floor
Woman’s Home Companion Magrath has 1911-1957; Wilson 1898, 1911-1957.
Sections include short novel stories, serials articles, fashion, food, family lifestyle and homemaking. Wilson has 1898, 1911-1957.
Fashion Magazines Available Electronically:
Costume; the Journal of the Costume Society (peer-reviewed)
Critical studies in fashion and beauty (scholarly)
Dress (peer reviewed)
Fashion practice
Fashion, style & popular culture.
Glamour
Images of BoF=Images business of fashion
International Journal of Fashion Design, Technology and Education (scholarly)
InStyle
Journal of Fashion Marketing and Management
Lucky
New African Women
Officiel de la couture et de la mode de Paris.
W
This is not an exhaustive list.
Print Journals That Are Contemporary, edgier fashion journals:
Vogue (British), Lulu, Worn, CR Fashion Book, CR Men’s book, Dazed (shelved as: Quarto TT 490.D39 v.4 2014…) Fantastic Man, Garage (shelved Quarto, TT 500.G27 no.6 2014), Gentlewoman, Grey, Hunger (shelved Quarto TT 500 H86 no.6 2014), Another Man, Majestic Disorder, Love:Fashion and Fame, Vestoj : the Journal of Sartorial Matters (shelved as:TT 500 .V47), AnotherMan, Candy (2010- current issue, vols.2-9) Magrath Rare Periodicals (the first fashion magazine for transversal people), W ; WeAR:A fashion workbook for professionals (2015 -- to date)
“Oh, Comely,” “Grey” and “Peppermint” are more lifestyle than fashion, but still fantastic.
Older, historical fashion journals in are Rare Periodicals. These are available for
viewing ONLY and it is best to make arrangements before you visit.
Art, Gout, Beaute: Feuillets de l'Elegance (1921-133)
Charm (1953:Nov, 1956, Jan, 1957 Mar/)
Der Bazaar (1879, 1881-1894)
Gallery of fashion volume 1, April 1794-1795 Located in Wilson Library only.
Gazette de Salons (1820-1938)
Gentlmens Quarterly (GQ) v.1:no.1-2 (1931-1932), v.2:no.1-3 (1932-1933), v.3-19:no.11 (1933-1949), v.20-29 (1950-1959), v.30:no.2-34 (1960-1964) and more current issues.
Ladies Home Journal (1891-2014) Many earlier issues are missing
McCalls (1924-1982)
Modern Priscilla (1891-1930)
Vogue (USA) 1910, 1912-current. Many earlier issues are missing.
Voici la Mode (1933-1936)
Woman's Home Companion (1911-1957) [Wilson has 1898, 1911-1957)
Searching the Library Catalog
If you want to browse the collection, go the 2nd floor :
GT500-2370
Quarto GT500 - 2370
Folio GT 500 - 2370
TT505 - fashion designers, fashion illustration.
Quarto TT505
Folio TT505
Periodicals are shelved on the 1st floor (you enter the library on the Ground Floor)