- University of Minnesota Libraries Home PageFind books, scores, recordings, magazines, journals, movies, and more in the University of Minnesota Libraries catalog.
Tutorial: Let's talk databases: Google Scholar
This video introduces the Google Scholar database.
After viewing this video, you will be able to:
- Access the Google Scholar database
- Perform keyword searching
- Filter and sort search results
- View the Full text of articles or download a PDF
- Generate a citation right in the database
And finally: you will know how to get Library help if you need it!
Finding Specific Articles
- AGRICOLA Agriculture (Ovid)Search agriculture, animal husbandry, animal and human nutrition, forestry, plant pathology, plant science, human ecology, agricultural economics, and rural sociology. Limited to 8 simultaneous users.
- CAB Abstracts Plus Full Text SelectCAB Abstracts covers agriculture in its broadest sense, including crop production, forestry, environment, animal health and nutrition, veterinary science, agricultural engineering, biotechnology, soil and water, agricultural economics, recreation and tourism, rural sociology, and human nutrition and health.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science DatabaseSearch journals and literature on agriculture, pollution, animals, environment, policy, natural resources, water issues and more. Searches tools like AGRICOLA, ESPM, and EIS databases.
- CABI Distribution Maps of Plant DiseasesSource for data on the worldwide distribution of plant diseases of economic or quarantine importance. Created in association with the European and Mediterranean Plant Protection Organization (EPPO), over 1000 Disease Maps can be browsed, searched, and used via this site.
- CABI Distribution Maps of Fungi and BacteriaFor use by plant pathologists and veterinary and medical mycologists. These provide integrated information to allow identification and confirmation of the identity of significant species, along with related information on pathology or other economic significance. The Descriptions of Fungi and Bacteria were initiated in 1964, and more than 1600 sheets have been issued, each devoted to a single species.
- International Plant Names IndexA database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of all seed plants.
- Plant Information OnlineIncludes current sources in North American nurseries for over 70,000 plants; over 200,000 citations to current plant science literature, listings for more than 1300 North American seed and nursery firms, and an evaluative review of 75 CD-ROMs and web sites of plant images.
- Tutorial: What are citations?Understand what citations are, why they are important, and how to create and use them.
- Citation Guides and Style ManualsA guide to different citation styles.
- Citation Managers (e.g. Zotero, EndNote Online, etc.)Citation managers are software packages used to create personalized databases of citation information and notes. They allow you to: import and organize citation information from article indexes and other sources; save links to pdfs and other documents; format citations for your papers and bibliographies using APA and many other styles; and include your own notes.
Last Updated: Sep 7, 2022 10:37 AM