This guide is intended for health researchers, educators, clinicians, and students seeking various types of information about COVID-19 or novel coronavirus.
Introduction
This guide is intended for health researchers, educators, clinicians, and students seeking various types of information about COVID-19 or novel coronavirus. We refrained from listing individual sources as a number of aggregate sources are quickly populating the Internet. Instead, we point you to types of aggregated resources based on the information you might need (e.g., dataset, meta-analysis, training resource, etc.). This guide is a collaborative effort of the Health Science Library and engineering liaison librarians for the health sciences disciplines.
Table of Contents
- Curated Lists of Resources
- Point of Care Resources
- Rapid Reviews, Systematic Reviews, and Meta-analyses
- Search Strategies for Literature Databases
- Discipline-specific Resources
- Datasets and Maps
- Multilingual Resources
- Health Literacy and Patient Resources
- Training Resources
- Additional Open Access Resources
- Standards and Patents
Curated Lists of Resources
- Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy at the University of Minnesota“Bibliography, Recent News, and Online Resources”
- Coronavirus (COVID-19) - Cochrane resources and news“Cochrane provides high-quality, relevant, and up-to-date synthesized research evidence to inform health decisions. This page highlights content relating to the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic and the various related activities that Cochrane is undertaking in response.”
- Coronavirus Research RepositoryFrom Elsevier 1foldr: "presenting scholarly articles on COVID-19, SARS, MERS and other coronaviruses research."
- COVID-19: living map of the evidenceThe Evidence for Policy and Practice Information and Coordinating Centre (EPPI-Centre) based out of University College, London, is "maintaining an up-to-date map of the current evidence that we partition into broad domains for easy exploration."
- COVID-evidenceCurated list by international researchers and librarians: “We provide information about worldwide planned, ongoing, and completed trials on any intervention to treat or prevent SARS-CoV-2-infections. We combine automatic search strategies with expert manual extraction of key trial characteristics performed in duplicate.”
- COVID19 Vaccine TrackerMcGill University and partners collate and curate COVID-19 vaccine clinical trial data from multiple sources.
- COVID Resources that Take Race SeriouslyResources from EmbraceRace that “center the needs of Black, Indigenous and People of Color and other racialized communities most impacted by the COVID-19 crisis.”
- Disaster Lit“Documents include expert guidelines, research reports, conference proceedings, training classes, fact sheets, websites, databases, and similar materials for a professional audience.”
- LitCOVIDFrom the National Library of Medicine: “LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. It is the most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing a central access to 4037 (and growing) relevant articles in PubMed. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics and geographic locations for improved access.”
- Medical Library AssociationCurated and maintained by health sciences librarians across the US and internationally: In the News | “U.S. Government Resources | World Health Organization | Clinical Resources and Guides | Data, Research, Article Collections, Systematic Reviews | Journal, Publisher, Society Resource Sites | Public Health Portals and Sites | Education Resources | Medical Librarians and COVID-19”
- National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care TechnologyFrom the National Library of Medicine: “the collection, storage, analysis, retrieval, and dissemination of information on health services research, clinical practice guidelines, and on health care technology, including the assessment of such technology."
- Ovid MEDLINE and Journals@OvidArticles published in the Ovid MEDLINE database and Journals@Ovid.
- PubMed Running BibliographyUpdated weekly, this is a running bibliography of Covid-19 articles indexed in PubMed pulled together by the Veterans Affairs Library Network.
Point of Care Resources
- Cochrane Special CollectionsEvidence related to critical care as well as prevention and control measures.
- DynaMed on Covid-19Includes an "Updates" tab with the latest research.
- Elsevier's COVID-19 Clinical Tool KitFree of charge. Multiple social media options for users to stay up to date via Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn.
- epocrates COVID-19 ContentProvided free of charge, includes drug therapy trial updates as well as an interactive CDC guidance tool.
- IBM Micromedex and DynaMed COVID-19 Resource CatalogCurrently freely available and contains content from Micromedex and DynaMed for clinicians and individuals. Includes drug monographs, disease monographs, evidence-based reports, and patient education materials.
- NICE (UK)Rapid guidelines and evidence summaries.
- UpToDate COVID-19 ContentProvided free of charge, includes acute respiratory distress syndrome content.
Rapid Reviews, Systematic Reviews, and Meta-analyses
- Living Meta-analysisInternational team with the following aims: “We are collecting data of all randomized controlled trials identified, evaluating the risk of bias and collecting outcome data; Evidence synthesis will be performed and made available in the next few days; We are contacting all investigators of ongoing trials to obtain the results as soon as available; We are identifying non randomized-studies and case series, These studies are also listed on this website; We are preparing a database that will be shared with all researchers.”
- Oxford COVID-19 Evidence ServiceOxford's Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine's “rapid reviews of primary care questions relating to the coronavirus pandemic, updated regularly.”
- PROSPERO ProtocolsPROSPERO, a systematic review protocol registry, is "fast-tracking registration of protocols related to COVID-19.” Browse protocols here.
Search Strategies for Literature Databases
- Australian Library and Information AssociationAn extensive listing of PubMed searches developed on COVID-19 topics including PPE, surge planning, diagnostic imaging, and pathophysiology.
- Medical Library AssociationDeveloped by members of the Medical Library Association, these literature searches span a range of COVID-19 related topics such as airway management, geriatric patients, and critical care.
- University Library Vrije Universiteit AmsterdamLiterature search strategies developed for PubMed, Embase, and Google Scholar, on COVID-19, SARS/MERS, PPE, and drug therapy.
- Wolters Kluwer (Ovid)Expert Searches developed "aid scientists, epidemiologists and clinical researchers using the Ovid medical research platform." Databases include Ovid MEDLINE, Embase, and Journals@Ovid.
Discipline-specific Resources
Policy
- COVID-19 Legal Research ResourcesFrom the Policy Surveillance Program, a Law Atlas project: “These tables catalog resources tracking emergency declarations, mitigation policies, and other topic-specific resources available at every jurisdictional level in response to COVID-19.”
Dentistry
- ADA Coronavirus (COVID-19) Center for Dentists“The COVID-19 outbreak and its impact on our daily lives is rapidly evolving. Here are some resources and guidance to help dentists navigate this unprecedented time for their practices, staff and patients.”
Dermatology
- CEBD Coronavirus Resource for DermatologyFrom Centre of Evidence Based Dermatology: “Welcome to our CEBD Coronavirus Resource for Dermatology—a collection of guidelines, web resources and journal articles on coronavirus relevant to skin diseases and dermatology.”
Medicine
- DynaMed on Covid-19Includes an "Updates" tab with the latest research.
Mortuary Sciences
- National Funeral Directors Situation Update: Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19)Coronavirus guidance for funeral directors.
Nursing
- American Nurses Association: Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19)Resources for nurses related to COVID-19, including advocacy, ethics, infection control, information for school nurses, mental health and wellness resources for nurses, and more.
- Preparing for COVID-19: Long-term Care Facilities, Nursing HomesInformation from the CDC to help long-term care facilities keep COVID-19 from entering the facility; identify infections early; prevent spread of COVID-19; assess supply of personal protective equipment (PPE) and initiate measures to optimize current supply; and identify and manage severe illness.
Pharmacy
- APhA Pharmacists’ Guide to Coronavirus"Information and Resources on COVID-19 for Pharmacists and the Communities They Serve"
- A Living WHO Guideline on Drugs for COVID-19This living guideline, from the World Health Organization (WHO), provides up to date covid-19 guidance to inform policy and practice worldwide.
- National Alliance of State Pharmacy AssociationsContinuously updated compilation of state actions affecting pharmacy.
- United States Pharmacopeia-National Formulary (USP-NF)Selected USP-NF general chapters and monographs on the development of vaccines and antiviral medications have been made publicly available at no cost.
Physical Therapy
- Coronavirus (COVID-19) Resources for the Physical Therapy ProfessionAmerican Physical Therapy Assocation's official guidelines and best practices.
Occupational Therapy
- Information Pertaining to Occupational Therapy in the Era of Coronavirus (COVID-19)American Occupational Therapy Association's collected information on Covid-19.
Radiology
- Covid Chest Imaging DatasetAn open-source database of chest X-ray and CT images from COVID-19 cases.
Datasets and Maps
- Allen Institute for AI“In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Allen Institute for AI has partnered with leading research groups to prepare and distribute the COVID-19 Open Research Dataset (CORD-19), a free resource of over 51,000 scholarly articles, including over 40,000 with full text, about COVID-19 and the coronavirus family of viruses for use by the global research community.”
- CORD-19 Research Challenge“In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the White House and a coalition of leading research groups have prepared the COVID-19 Open Research Dataset (CORD-19). CORD-19 is a resource of over 51,000 scholarly articles, including over 40,000 with full text, about COVID-19, SARS-CoV-2, and related coronaviruses.”
- COVID-19 Deaths by Race/EthnicityThe Kaiser Family Foundation's analysis of The COVID Tracking Project, COVID Racial Data Tracker.
- COVID-19 Hospitalization Tracking ProjectThe Medical Industry Leadership Institute (MILI) and the Management Information Systems Research Center (MISRC) at the Carlson School of Management launched this project to track and report daily hospitalizations from all 50 states.
- COVID-19 Pandemic Vulnerability Index (PVI)Developed by ToxPi: Toxicological Prioritization Index. Shows resources, trends, and infection rate by county in the United States.
- COVID-19 Patient Data for Retrospective and Observational ResearchUMN CTSI offers access to high-quality COVID-19 patient data, thanks to a new registry from CTSI. The COVID-19 Registry houses the electronic medical records of COVID-19 patients as well as those with related conditions and symptoms. This data is restricted to University of Minnesota researchers.
- The COVID Racial Data TrackerThe COVID Racial Data Tracker is a collaboration between the COVID Tracking Project and the Boston University Center for Antiracist Research. Together, they’re gathering the most complete and up-to-date race and ethnicity data on COVID-19 in the United States.
- The COVID Tracking ProjectVolunteer organization launched by The Atlantic which "dedicated to collecting and publishing the data required to understand the COVID-19 outbreak in the United States." Information is collected daily from state/district/territory public health authorities.
- Data 4 Black Lives list of states reporting COVID cases by raceFrom Data 4 Black Lives: “Data is often not collected about Black communities when it's needed the most. We have compiled all of the states that have shared data on COVID-19 infections and deaths by race and the states that have not, as well as the disparities among them. Please note that many of these states may have underreported COVID-19 deaths due to the fact that many Black communities have not had access to testing. We must also be mindful of the possibilities of over-reporting while interpreting these data.”
- Johns Hopkins COVID-19 Dashboard and MapDeveloped by the Center for Systems Science and Engineering at Johns Hopkins. "Experts are aggregating data from multiple credible sources to track the spread of COVID-19. Map data is updated in near real-time throughout the day.” US map now includes county-level data.
- Open-Access Data and Computational Resources to Address COVID-19"COVID-19 open-access data and computational resources are being provided by federal agencies, including NIH, public consortia, and private entities. These resources are freely available to researchers, and this page will be updated as more information becomes available."
- OpenICPSR COVID-19 Data RepositoryLocate and/or deposit data examining the impact of the novel coronavirus global pandemic.
Multilingual Resources
- CDC Resources for COVID-19“Esta guía de recursos está destinada a proporcionar recursos informativos de los CDC relacionados con COVID-19 en español. This resource guide is intended to provide informational resources from the CDC related to COVID-19 in Spanish.”
- Global research on coronavirus disease (COVID-19)“WHO is gathering the latest international multilingual scientific findings and knowledge on COVID-19. The global literature cited in the WHO COVID-19 database is updated daily (Monday through Friday) from searches of bibliographic databases, hand searching, and the addition of other expert-referred scientific articles. This database represents a comprehensive multilingual source of current literature on the topic. While it may not be exhaustive, new research is added regularly.”
- Resources for COVID-19 Patient Education in Languages Other Than EnglishUniversity of Nevada Libraries’ Guide to “Resources for COVID-19 Patient Education in Languages Other Than English”
Health Literacy and Patient Resources
- The Health Literacy Solutions Center Coronavirus (COVID-19) ResourcesLibrary of plain-language Covid-19 resources, including resources for health professionals and for the general public.
- Wisconsin Literacy COVID-19 Health Resources“Find accurate and easy to understand information about COVID-19.”
Training Resources
- TRAIN Learning NetworkFrom the Public Health Foundation: “Training related to Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) is available through the TRAIN Learning Network, a national learning network that aggregates training opportunities for public health, healthcare, and preparedness professionals from thousands of training providers. This includes training from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), World Health Organization, European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control, and other organizations.”
Additional Open Access Resources
- Open Science FrameworkA search on OSF.io for "COVID-19" and related terms reveals the extent to which researchers are sharing their research, data, and protocols in real-time. In February and March alone, 170 preprints, over 425 projects, over 150 registrations, and over 11,000 files of rapidly emerging research were uploaded, with additional research added daily.
- Publishers who made COVID-19 materials open accessList assembled by ICOLC. “The International Coalition of Library Consortia (ICOLC) is an informal group currently comprising approximately 200 library consortia from around the world.”
Standards and Patents
- Commonly Accessed Standards for COVID-19Standards serve as a common language for engineers, designers and manufacturers, provide information to define quality and safety criteria; outline test methods and performance requirements; and provide rules and guidelines. ANSI has worked with ISO to make several crucial standards freely available. AAMI, ASTM, and IEEE are also making relevant standards freely available.
- PatentsPatents protect the intellectual property of inventors; patents also promote innovation. A curated resource guide for finding patents in the United States and globally.
Last Updated: Dec 19, 2023 9:30 AM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/healthsciencesresourcescovid19