Related resources
Have questions?
Contact me for research help on this subject.
Engineering Librarian
This guide covers search tools for introductory research in topics related to industrial engineering. It is aimed at undergraduate researchers
Start with:
- Business Source PremierFind business articles from journals and magazines in marketing, management, information technology, operations, human resources, accounting, finance and economics dating back to 1965.
Then try any of the following:
- Web of ScienceA comprehensive interdisciplinary collection of journal article citations. Subjects generally covered are within science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- ScopusSearch for information from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Google Scholar (Setup connection to get to PDFs)Use Google Scholar to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, research institutes, and scholarly repositories from colleges and universities. If you are using from off-campus access, change the "Library Settings" to University of Minnesota Twin Cities. Look for the "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities" links in your Google Scholar search results to access full text and PDFs. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Also check out:
- INFORMS: Institute for Operations Research and Management ScienceThe Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS) is an international society for practitioners in the fields of operations research, management science, and analytics. INFORMS publishes 16 highly-regarded, scholarly peer-reviewed journals.
- Sage Research MethodsSAGE Research Methods is a tool designed to help scholars of all levels create research projects in their specific discipline and understand the methods behind them.
Operations Research and Management Science by ISBN: 9780470400630Publication Date: 2011-02-15Overviews of theories and applications of operations research and management science. Topics include optimization, data mining, decision analysis, linear programming, financial applications, game theory, heuristics, industrial applications, health care, qualitative analysis, queueing theory, reliability, retail and service applications, risk analysis, simulation modeling, stochastic processes, supply chain management, transportation and warehousing systems.
Handbook of Global Supply Chain Management by ISBN: 1412918057Publication Date: 2006-09-14This state-of-the-art Handbook provides a comprehensive understanding and assessment of the field of global supply chain management (GSCM). Editors John T. Mentzer, Matthew B. Myers, and Theodore P. Stank bring together a distinguished group of contributors to describe and critically examine the key perspectives guiding GSCM, taking stock of what we know (and do not know) about them. Key Features: Identifies emerging developments and delineates their significance to the practice of GSCM Examines many methods and perspectives on GSCM that have emerged from logistics, operations, marketing, management, economics, sociology, personnel, information systems, and international relations Employs top flight international contributors from both academia and practice who share their unique perspectives and insights within the broad parameters of this volume Intended Audience: The Handbook is a valuable resource for graduate students, researchers, and parishioners alike, bringing clarity and comprehensive insight to the phenomenon of global supply chains and to their management.
Off-campus access to library resources
Current University students, staff and faculty should be able to get full text and online access to the University Libraries from anywhere. Here are three ways to access the library full text from off campus.
- Search the University of Minnesota library website. Log in with your UMN Internet ID and password to access resources.
- Log in using the U of M Virtual Private Network (VPN). You will need to download it VPN software to your computer from campus OIT (Office of Information Technology).
- Install the Libraries' Proxy Bookmarklet to your browser and click it to reload the page with your U of M login to get access to full text. Watch a proxy bookmarklet video (3 min) to learn more.
View examples and learn more on our How to get to full text from on and off campus Guide.
Creating a search query
For most databases and even Google you can combine search terms to write a search query that databases understand. A good search query will give you a good selection of highly relevant results. Below are a few examples of how to build a search string using climate change as a topic:
- Use quotation marks to search words as a phrase, e.g., "climate change"
- Use an asterisk with a word stem to search for variations on a term, e.g., sustain* for sustain, sustainability, sustaining
- Use the word AND to link together concepts, e.g., "climate change" AND sustain*
- Use the word OR to search for synonyms, e.g., "climate change" OR "global warming"
- Use parentheses to group terms, e.g., "climate change" AND (policy OR law)
Remember that searching is an iterative process—as you search and learn more about a topic, you will be able to refine your strategy.
Last Updated: Nov 1, 2024 4:47 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/industrialeng