Workshop: Introduction to Citation Managers (Zotero & EndNote)

Introduction to Citation Managers Workshop: Videos

What is a citation manager?

A citation manager is a software tool used to create personalized databases of citation information and notes. They allow you to:

  • import and organize citation information from article indexes and other sources,
  • export your citations into Word documents or other types of publications,
  • format citations for your papers and bibliographies using APA and many other styles, and
  • include your own notes.

Choosing a citation manager

Zotero

Zotero is a free, open-source citation manager that:

  • imports and organizes citations and PDFs;
  • recognizes and creates citations for wide range of file types;
  • formats citations in thousands of styles including APA and Chicago;
  • easily adds in-text citations to Word and Google Doc documents, and creates a bibliography from those citations;
  • allows you to add notes to your citation information for later use.

EndNote

EndNote is a computer-based, desktop citation manager available for purchase through the University Bookstore that allows you to:

  • create your own database of citations by importing references from article databases and the library catalog
  • have unlimited reference and attachment storage
  • automatically generate bibliographies and in-text citations in all major styles
  • edit and customize styles

support

EndNote Online

EndNote Online is a free online citation manager that allows you to:

  • collect and store up to 50,000 references
  • organize and share your references with others
  • insert references and format a bibliography in Word

support

Have more questions about citation managers?

Request a virtual consultation and we will connect you with one of our experts with our various citation tools. 

Last Updated: Feb 16, 2022 11:05 AM