Company information & business news
- HooversIncludes information on more than 162 million businesses, both public and private, around the world. Business data includes Annual Revenues, Employee Counts, Corporate Family Tree, Key Contacts, Analyst Reports, SWOT reports, stock data, financials and other vital information. Important note: downloading company lists is not available on the academic subscription.
- S&P Capital IQ PRO (with access to ESG and Panjiva Supply Chain)S&P Capital IQ PRO (formerly known as S&P Market Intelligence and SNL) is a platform that integrates real time and historical financial and industry data, research and news. Analyze thousands of global public and private companies, their ownership structure, and related transaction data. PRO provides access to a wide range of ESG (Environmental, Social and Governance) data and analytics and trade and supply chain data with Panjiva. See "More Info" for detailed account creation instructions first time users.
Guest users not affiliated with the University, please contact email@example.com ahead of your visit to arrange for login access.
- Company financials (guide to databases) »More databases that go in-depth on company financials.
Business news databases
- Business Source Premier EnhancedThis version of Business Source Premier makes it easy to find articles and specialized reports from company profiles and industry reports. This is a good resource for business and economic topics and global studies.
- Regional Business NewsRegional Business News offers full text coverage for regional business publications; Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated daily.
Trade publications and journals
Historical news archives
- Duluth News Tribune (1995 to present) This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage of daily Duluth newspaper, including full-page digital images of the complete paper from 2018 to present. (via Access World News)
- Minneapolis Star Tribune (1867 to 2001) This link opens in a new windowHistorical run of full-text digital replicas of daily Minneapolis newspaper. Includes news articles, editorials, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, notices, illustrations and photographs and all other full image content. (via ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
- Minneapolis Star Tribune (1986 to present) This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from the recent issues of the Star Tribune. Does not include wire stories, ads, photos, or other non-textual article content from the paper. (via ProQuest Newsstream). Note: There is a one-day embargo on content.
- Minnesota Digital Newspaper HubDigital reproductions of historical newspapers from Minnesota cities. Includes the Minneapolis Tribune from 1867-1922.
- Newspaper Archive (Midwest)A partial collection covering historical newspapers from Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Missouri and Oklahoma. Includes digital reproductions of newspapers from counties and cities from the 19th and 20th centuries.
- Proquest Historical NewspapersSearch old editions major U.S. newspapers and the Times of India. Papers include the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, and the Minneapolis Star Tribune. Other titles include the Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
- St. Paul Pioneer Press (1986 to present) This link opens in a new windowFull text of the St. Paul daily newspaper from 1986 to present. Does not include photos, illustrations, ads, wire stories, or other page-image level access. (via ProQuest Newsstream)
- Taconite Mining (MNHS Guide)A guide to resources about taconite mining on the Mesabi Iron Range from the MN Historical Society.
Government publications & other archives
- Wayback machineYou can use the Internet Archive to explore older versions of many websites.
- United Steelworkers web archive (PSU)Web archive documenting the United Steelworkers, North America’s largest industrial union.
- Libraries SearchSearch for articles and books across library databases using the Libraries search on the homepage. Great for finding book chapters on late nineteenth century journalism, for example.
- JSTORFind full text articles in academic journals or books on the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides articles from the journal's first issue. In some cases the most recent 2-5 years may not be available. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Communication and Mass Media CompleteSearch for journal articles on topics such as communication, mass media, film, television, marketing, business communication, health communication, and more.
- Historical AbstractsFind journal articles covering world history from 1450 to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Last Updated: Feb 13, 2023 11:44 AM