Social media: Researching consumers, markets, and platforms
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. For social media research check out the Digital Market Outlook and Digital Trend Reports sections.
- Mintel Market ResearchMintel reports provide market research on consumer products, services, and lifestyles to identify economic drivers, leading companies, market share, market size, trends, segmentation, and analysis of consumer attitudes and purchasing habits. Includes Mintel Trends to analyze consumer trends by sectors, demographics, themes and regions.
- AdAge Datacenter and Digital EditionSearch for articles or consult the Datacenter to find rankings and statistics about media companies and advertising agencies and the archives for past issues and access to the AdAge Datacenter.
- Mergent Online (Business)Profiles of public corporations around the world that includes summaries, company histories, property, financials, subsdiaries, joint ventures, long term, press release and historical annual reports.
- Nielsen InsightsNielsen is a major provider of media audience and market data. The Libraries do not subscribe to any of their products, but their Insights tool provides free high level overviews of many of their data topics.
For in-depth consumer data and web analytics:
These tools provide access to detailed consumer surveys and web panel data that you can use to refine specific audiences and look closely at the consumers of specific media channels.
- ComScore Media MetrixComScore is an industry source for web analytics about major online properties, which is useful for consumer and audience research and for statistics and rankings of websites. Contact Cody Hennesy to request an account.
- Simmons InsightsSurvey data from the the Simmons National Consumer Survey to find target markets and consumer profiles for brands and products. Use Simmons advertising campaigns, market research, and business plans. Limited to 25 simultaneous users. NOTE: Please click logout when done to end session.
Social media and technology news
- Ars TechnicaTechnology news site aimed at technologists and IT professionals.
- The AtlanticThe Atlantic Monthly magazine offers cultural analysis including regular coverage of technology and society.
- Business InsiderBusiness website on global tech, finance, markets, media, healthcare, and strategy. (Some content only available to subscribers)
- Columbia Journalism ReviewWebsite and magazine from Columbia University that features stories on news, reporting, and the media industry.
- DigidayNews and analysis on media and marketing industries. Some content is only available to subscribers (UMN does not subscribe).
- The EconomistWeekly news and business publication for business decision-makers and opinion leaders who need an international outlook in an increasingly global marketplace. (Available via UMN)
- engadgetTechnology blog focused on gadgets and consumer electronics.
- Fast CompanyMagazine with a focus on innovation in technology, leadership, and design. (Available via UMN)
- Nieman Journalism LabThe Nieman Journalism Lab reports on the future of journalism in an Internet age.
- NY Times: TechnologyNote that UMN does not have access to the nytimes.com website. To find Technology section articles from the New York Times, go to the ProQuest NY Times site advanced search page and search for "technology" as Section - SEC.
- recode (Vox)News and analysis on digital culture and society.
- TechCrunchReporting on the business of technology, startups, venture capital funding, and Silicon Valley. (Some TechCrunch+ content is only available to subscribers)
- TechmemeAggregator of technology news from a variety of online sources.
- VarietyVariety is an American weekly magazine and website that features breaking entertainment news, reviews, box office results, and more. (Access via EBSCO)
- The VergeMultimedia website examining how technology changes lives and the world.
- Wired Magazine (via EBSCO)Access the full-text of articles from Wired Magazine - exploring technology's intersections with culture, business, science, and design - via this library database.
Last Updated: Apr 20, 2023 9:27 AM