Grab a brown bag lunch and join your public health librarian, Shanda Hunt, once a month to grow and advance your research skills. The one-hour sessions impart information you need to know to be a successful student and professional.

How to use this guide

Each month, there will be a new topic presented. The date, time, and Zoom link are displayed. After the session, a recording of the presentation and any accompanying materials will be posted. The recordings are "organic" as they are less structured and were recorded during 2020 and often reflect what's happening in my home (i.e., dog barking, cat jumping onto the laptop). Apologies in advance.

Searching for literature in health databases

There are high expectations for your ability to locate research-based public health evidence for assignments and research papers in graduate school. This workshop will teach you how to search Ovid MEDLINE, a sophisticated and powerful health database. Techniques to maximize efficiency, such as using the PICO framework and scanning abstracts, will also be shared.

Audience: First year graduate students and anyone who has not been formally trained in searching health/medical databases.

Slides: Slides to accompany "Searching for literature in health databases" (2021)

Recording: Recording of the Zoom presentation "Searching for literature in health databases" (2021)

Using a citation manager: Zotero

A citation manager is critical to staying organized as a graduate student, and it will save you hours - even weeks - of time spent hand typing citations. This workshop will teach you how to use Zotero, a free, cloud-based citation manager.

Audience: First year graduate students and anyone who has never used a citation manager.

Date: November 12, 2021, 12:00-1:00pm

Join via Zoom: Using a citation manager: Zotero

Slides: Slides to accompany "Using a citation manager: Zotero" (2020)

Recording: Recording of the Zoom presentation "Using a citation manager: Zotero" (2020)

Searching for literature in non-health databases

Public health is inherently interdisciplinary. Sometimes your research question can be best answered with literature published in journals outside the health field. For this, you need to turn to unfamiliar databases. This workshop will teach you how to locate an appropriate database, best practices for searching non-health databases, and how to use an interdisciplinary database.

Audience: Graduate students whose academic interests are inter-disciplinary in nature (e.g., policy, agriculture, etc.).

Date: December 10, 2021, 12:00-1:00pm

Join via Zoom: Searching for literature in non-health databases 

Slides: Slides to accompany "Searching for literature in non-health databases" (2020)

Recording: Recording of the Zoom presentation "Searching for literature in non-health databases" (2020)

Advanced searching in Ovid MEDLINE

Now that you’ve practiced searching for literature in Ovid MEDLINE, you’re ready to learn advanced searching techniques such as wild cards, adjacency searching, and MeSH hierarchy. This new depth of skill will allow you to quickly and effectively reach literature needed to support your work.

Audience: Graduate students who have already attended the Searching for Literature in Health Databases presentation.

Date: January 14, 2022, 12:00-1:00pm

Join via Zoom: Advanced searching in Ovid MEDLINE

Handout: Handout to accompany "Advanced searching in Ovid MEDLINE" (2020)

Recording: Recording of the Zoom presentation "Advanced searching in Ovid MEDLINE" (2020)

Searching for evidence not found in literature databases (i.e., Googling it)

Sometimes the Internet is the best source of information, especially when looking for statistics, data, and program evaluations. This workshop will lead you to curated lists of trustworthy websites, teach you how to systematically search for information on the Internet, and how to evaluate the information you find.

Audience: Graduate students who want to learn more about using information from the Internet as academic sources (good for citing data, statistics, programmatic summaries, evaluations).

Date: February 11, 2022, 12:00-1:00pm

Join via Zoom: Searching for evidence not found in literature databases (i.e., Googling it)

Slides: Slides to accompany "Searching for evidence not found in literature databases" (2020)

Recording: Recording of the Zoom presentation "Searching for evidence not found in literature databases" (2020)

Research data management

Think of data as any information you collect in your research efforts - this could be PDFs, spreadsheets, project documentation, interviews, etc. This workshop will teach you data management strategies including file inventory, file naming, folder organization, storage & back up, documentation, project close-out and long-term preservation. The second half of the presentation addresses data management as it related to publicly sharing data in a repository.

Audience: All graduate students, especially if you plan for a career in research.

Date: March 11, 2022, 12:00-1:00pm

Join via Zoom: Research data management

Slides: Slides to accompany "Research data management" (2020)

Recording: Recording of the Zoom presentation "Research data management" (2020)

Finding research-based evidence after you graduate and enter the “real world”

You’ll quickly learn in your careers that you don’t have access to the vast number of databases that you do when you’re affiliated with the University of Minnesota, but you do not have to rely on Google alone. This workshop will point you to free databases that lead to evidence-based literature and other types of open-source materials.

Audience: All graduate students, especially if you plan for a career outside academia.

Date: April 8, 2022, 12:00-1:00pm

Join via Zoom: Finding research-based evidence after you graduate and enter the “real world”

Slides: Slides to accompany "Finding research-based evidence after you graduate" (2020)

Recording: Recording of the Zoom presentation "Finding research-based evidence after you graduate" (2020)

Conducting scoping and systematic reviews

You may be conducting a scoping or systematic review as part of a research assistant position or for your dissertation. This session will also be helpful to all students who plan to write a comprehensive literature review as their master’s project. This workshop will teach you the expected methodology, point you toward guides and checklists, and help you think through how to treat a literature review as a research study.

Audience: Second year graduate students who are conducting a literature review as a master's/capstone project and students working with faculty on literature searching projects.

Date: May 6, 2022, 12:00-1:00pm

Join via Zoom: Conducting scoping and systematics reviews

Slides: Slides to accompany "Conducting systematic & scoping reviews (effectively)" (2020)

Recording: Recording of "Conducting systematic & scoping reviews (effectively)" (2020)

Bonus presentations

Data visualization: design principles and targeted messaging workshop

This Zoom workshop will introduce universal design strategies such as color, font, proximity, and shape that can be applied to traditional research visualizations such as tables and charts. It will also teach you how to create targeted messages for specific audiences through telling the story of your data. These learning objectives are grounded in ethical and accessibility principles. This workshop is intended for beginners – please be prepared with paper & pens/markers for a small activity at home.

Audience: Students, faculty, and staff interested in communicating research data through visualizations.

Slides: Slides to accompany "Data visualization: design principles and targeted messaging"

Recording: Recording of "Data visualization: design principles and targeted messaging"

 

Introduction to Tableau

This workshop will introduce participants to the basics of using Tableau, a tool for visualizing data. Topics will be presented via lecture and demonstration (no need to download the tool beforehand) and include preparing and importing datasets, creating queries, and exporting useful visualizations. This workshop is intended for beginners (no Tableau experience necessary). 

Audience: Students, faculty, and staff interested in communicating research data through visualizations.

Slides: Slides to accompany "Introduction to Tableau"

Recording: Recording of "Introduction to Tableau" (2021-10-08)

 

Research Poster Design

Poster design is challenging, and even intimidating for some. This workshop will impart design best practices, cover how to simplify your message, create a “center-design” research poster, and share useful templates.

Audience: Second year graduate students and anyone presenting a poster at a conference.

Slides: Slides to accompany "Research poster design"

Recording: Recording of "Research poster design"

Last Updated: Oct 15, 2021 4:13 PM