Research Guides: Market Assessment: Market Sizing and Competitive Analysis: Home

Market Assessment Slide Deck

Value Proposition Presentation, 2019
Review the slides to select the best resources from this guide to prepare your market assessment.

Business Homepage

Business Information Website
Find quick access to all of the business resources and databases on this homepage along with news, events, research guides, and video tutorials.

Remote Help & Contact

Have business research questions? Ask us!

Contact the business librarians at busref@umn.edu for research help

Looking for in-depth help? Let's meet!

Schedule an appointment for a virtual meeting with a business librarian @ calendly.com/busref

The sources highlighted below are intended to offer a broad view of secondary business intelligence tools available to you through the University of Minnesota Libraries. We welcome your questions and comments.

Market Sizing using Industry & Market Reports B2B & B2C

IBIS World (Business)
Search industry reports for the United States, Canada, China, and global topics. Each report provides an overall current picture of an industry, including overviews, leading companies, sales information, and authoritative sources for researching hundreds of industries. Includes Business Environmental Profiles that summarize key drivers for industries in the U.S.
MarketsandMarkets
Provides detailed niche market research reports on current trends and industries; including but not limited to: AI, Big Data & Analytics, Blockchain, IoT, Nanotechnology, and Wearables. Covered industries include Aerospace & Defense, Automotive, Banking, Agriculture, Medical, and more. NOTE: Reports are read-only. Researchers may download report charts and tables. Additional download options available for faculty. Please contact busref@umn.edu for details.
GlobalData Medical This link opens in a new window
Market research platform for the medical device industry. Includes news, deals, and companies. Each user must register for a personal account using their U of MN email address from the link above.
Frost & Sullivan Market Research Reports
Use for business research and to find Frost & Sullivan's market and industry reports for over 300 markets and 250,000 companies for industrial markets organized into categories for Aerospace and Defense, Automotive and Transportation, Chemicals, Materials, Food; Electronics and Security, Energy and Power Systems, Environment and Building Technologies, Healthcare and Medical Devices, Measurement and Instrumentation, Information and Communication Technologies, and Industrial Automation and Process Control.
MarketResearch.com Academic
Market research reports on service industries, consumer goods,food and beverage, heavy industry, life sciences, technology and media.
Mintel Market Research
Mintel reports provide market research on consumer products, services, and lifestyles to identify economic drivers, leading companies, market share, market size, trends, segmentation, and analysis of consumer attitudes and purchasing habits. Includes Mintel Trends to analyze consumer trends by sectors, demographics, themes and regions.

Gartner (for CSOM only)
Gartner is a leading provider of research and analysis about the global information technology industry. This resource is not paid by the Libraries, and the access is limited to those affiliated with the Carlson School of Management. Gartner can be accessed by Carlson students/faculty/staff by going to the Carlson IT Service Center Research Databases/Datasets page (linked above), For access issues, please contact CSOM IT Service Center directly: csomhelp@umn.edu.

Bloomberg Professional
News and analytics for over 129 countries and 250 exchanges for the financial services industry. Offerings include 24-hour historical and 15-minute delayed securities pricing, news, data, and analysis on companies, markets and economies. Access is only available from terminals in Wilson or Walter libraries. See details below.

Bloomberg Professional desktop is available in Wilson Library (West Bank Campus), and laptops in Walter Library (for use in the Toaster). See access instructions below.
Using Bloomberg Professional in Wilson Library. Direct specific questions to the Libraries business specialists: busref@umn.edu.
Using Bloomberg Professional laptops in Walter Library (for use in the Toaster)
DynaMed
An evidence-based clinical decision support tool. Contains over 3,000 topic summaries covering diseases, disorders, diagnostics, and drugs with extensive references to journals and practice guidelines.
EMIS Professional
Find company and industry information, reports, statistics, proprietary mergers and acquisitions, credit analytics, benchmark indicators and trend comparisons to help understand emerging markets.
FitchConnect (formerly BMI Research) This link opens in a new window
UMN affiliates: Please email busref@umn.edu to request an account.
Detailed reports on global industrial and municipal markets, companies and nonprofits, emphasizing emerging markets. Include extensive country risk and credit ratings, macroeconomic and financial analysis, and ESG scores. Find intra-daily alerts on economic, industrial, and political developments, business deals, multinational joint ventures, and regulatory changes.
UMN affiliated users may request an individual account by sending a request to busref@umn.edu.
PubMed
Searches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Coverage is from the 1940s to the present. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.

Market Sizing using Government & Private Data Sources

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. There are up to 2 billion charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables available for use in the Data-Planet repository.
Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Search statistical publications from US and state government agencies, international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, and universities.
Cortellis This link opens in a new window
Access three platform modules: Competitive Intelligence, Deals Intelligence and News. Cortellis Competitive Intelligence gives you accurate up-to-date information on global drug pipelines, companies, deals and patents, plus breaking industry news, clinical trials and conferences. Cortellis Deals Intelligence provides comprehensive biopharma deals information, helping you search for potential partners, conduct due diligence, assess deal value, and explore deal structures and terms. News includes press releases,conferences and more. The library maintains 25 seats available for 2 weeks at a time to affiliated faculty, students, and staff. For access, please contact busref@umn.edu.
GlobalData Medical This link opens in a new window
Market research platform for the medical device industry. Includes news, deals, and companies. Each user must register for a personal account using their U of MN email address from the link above.

Data.gov
Source of open data from the US government. Includes data on agriculture, climate, energy, health, and manufacturing. Also includes some state and local government data.
Healthcare Statistics Information (HCUPnet)
The Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP, pronounced "H-Cup") is a family of health care databases and related software tools and products developed through a Federal-State-Industry partnership and sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). HCUP databases bring together the data collection efforts of State data organizations, hospital associations, private data organizations, and the Federal government to create a national information resource of patient-level health care data (HCUP Partners).
HealthData.gov
Site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.
Information includes clinical care provider quality information, nationwide health service provider directories, databases of the latest medical and scientific knowledge, consumer product data, community health performance information, government spending data and much more.

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is a web-based online data and mapping application that provides access to over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more. Data is available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Data comes from both public and proprietary sources.
EV Data Center
This database provides access to the global market information on electronically chargeable vehicles, including sales volumes, vehicle information, charging infrastructure, incentive schemes, and installed battery capacity by chemistry, supplier and vehicles in use.
EV Data Center requires that University of Minnesota users enter a Username/Password combination when accessing content on their site.
Automotive News Data Center and Digital Edition
Sign up for a personal account at the link above. You will need to access the registration page using the University's full-tunnel VPN if you are off campus. Registered users get unlimited access to autonews.com, online archives, and weekly issues of Automotive News digital edition delivered to your inbox. Contact busref@umn.edu to request access to the Data Center to download insightful production, inventory, sales, customer, market data and annual lists.
Access interactive analytics tools:
- Market Reports: Build and save tables to compare data across various levels of detail and timeframes
- Monthly vehicle payments: Payments in over 30 U.S. markets based on lease vs. finance, term of the loan, credit score and down payment
- Customer incentives: Customer incentives and rebate data by vehicle and zip code
- U.S. vehicle registrations: New and used registrations by make, model, class, drivetrain, and fuel type
- Loyalty: Conquest and defection rates by make and model
- Vehicles in operation: Vehicles in operation by manufacturer, make, vehicle class and type.

Market Sizing using Policy, Regulatory & Legislative Sources

Policy Commons
Search millions of documents on thousands of topics from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs as well as from North American cities. Featured topics include Black Lives Matter, COVID-19, Climate Change, Gender Equity, and reports from the 500 largest cities in North America. UMN access includes both the Global Think Tanks and North American City Reports modules.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest Congressional Research Digital Collection (CRDC) provides full-text access to more than 5,000 Congressional committee prints published from 2004 to present and more than 23,000 Congressional Research Service reports published from 2004-present. Includes citations for bills, public laws, and Statutes at Large, and analytical abstracts of the documents. Also includes links to political parties and organizations and news sources. Coverage 1789-present.

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
CRS reports provide Congress with both anticipatory and on-demand research and analysis to support their legislative, oversight, and representational duties. All reports adhere to the core values of CRS; they are authoritative, objective and nonpartisan. Reports range in length from several pages to more than one-hundred pages and cover the full breadth of topics of interest to Congress. Currently, only the last year of reports is available freely through this website. See ProQuest Congressional below for full coverage of CRS reports.
National Conference of State Legislators
News, current events, information and analysis to support state legislatures. Bipartisan research on important public policy issues facing state governments.

CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher provides in-depth coverage of important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted, and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects in demand.
WestlawNext Campus Research (Law)
WestlawNext Campus Research provides access to legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments. It includes law journals, the American Jurisprudence encyclopedia, the American Law Reports, and news content.
VitalLaw (formerly CCH Cheetah) This link opens in a new window
VitalLaw includes full-text primary sources of law with commentary, a variety of CCH and Aspen legal publications, smart charts, practical tools, news, webinars, white papers, and blogs. Practice areas covered include corporate & securities, labor & employment, intellectual property, healthcare, human resources, intellectual property and tax.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Huge legal search tool with full-text of legal journals, legal histories, government documents, state and federal cases, international law and includes coverage of many older legal materials. Contains the Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports (Supreme Court) back to 1754.

Market Sizing using Financials, Public, PE & JV Sources

PitchBook
Use PitchBook to search thousands of private equity and venture capital deals by hundreds of criteria. Establish benchmarks, find real time data on deals, identify and analyze comparables, and search investor details.
Each user must create a personal account while on campus using their valid @umn.edu e-mail address. Individual accounts must be reset every year on June 30th. Detailed instructions on how to create a personal account are available at: libguides.umn.edu/pitchbook

Walk in users please contact busref@umn.edu ahead of your visit to arrange for login access. Walk-in Guest Users login in at: https://www.pitchbook.com

Downloads set at 10/day and 25/month per user; resets monthly. All data and content available in PitchBook except Morningstar equity research

Faculty requiring larger data downloads may contact the library for assistance. Forward Pitchbook faculty download requests busref@umn.edu.
S&P Capital IQ (with access to Aftermarket Research)
Standard & Poor's Capital IQ is a resource for financial data, analytics, and research. The web-based platform combines deep information on public and private companies, markets, and people worldwide with robust tools for analysis, idea generation, and workflow management. Capital IQ includes access to Aftermarket Research, an extensive collection of embargoed analyst research reports, offering coverage across more than 1,800 research providers including 30 million+ reports (current & historical back to 1995).
Guest users not affiliated with the University, please contact busref@umn.edu ahead of your visit to arrange for login access.
An Excel plugin feature provides powerful analytic capability.
UMN affiliated users will create an individual account through a self-registration process. Follow the steps after selecting from the link above. To use the Excel plug-in feature, please log in to the Virtual Private Network (VPN). Information on VPN is available at Virtual Private Network (VPN).
Faculty who wish to use this tool for a class may request a batch class registration. Please contact Mary Schoenborn (hawki003@umn.edu) to request this access.
S&P Capital IQ PRO (with access to ESG and Supply Chain)
S&P Capital IQ PRO (formerly known as S&P Market Intelligence and SNL) is a platform that integrates real time and historical financial and industry data, research and news. Analyze thousands of global public and private companies, their ownership structure, and related transaction data. PRO provides access to a wide range of ESG (Environmental, Social and Governance) data and analytics and trade and supply chain data. See "More Info" for detailed account creation instructions first time users.
Guest users not affiliated with the University, please contact busref@umn.edu ahead of your visit to arrange for login access.
Detailed instructions on how to create a personal account are available at: https://libguides.umn.edu/capiqpro

Note: Full Tunnel VPN is required to use this resource.
Aftermarket Research (a module of S&P Capital IQ)
Extensive collection of embargoed analyst research reports, offering coverage across more than 1,800 research providers including 30 million+ reports (current & historical back to 1995). Note: UMN affiliated users will create an individual account through a self-registration process. Follow the steps after selecting from the link above.
Guest users not affiliated with the University, please contact busref@umn.edu ahead of your visit to arrange for login access.
FitchConnect (formerly BMI Research) This link opens in a new window
UMN affiliates: Please email busref@umn.edu to request an account.
Detailed reports on global industrial and municipal markets, companies and nonprofits, emphasizing emerging markets. Include extensive country risk and credit ratings, macroeconomic and financial analysis, and ESG scores. Find intra-daily alerts on economic, industrial, and political developments, business deals, multinational joint ventures, and regulatory changes.
UMN affiliated users may request an individual account by sending a request to busref@umn.edu.
CB Insights
National Science Foundation-backed company that uses data to provide Venture Capitalists, corporate strategy and Mergers & Acquisitions groups, and investment bankers with intelligence on emerging companies and disruptive technology trends.
You must create a personal account to access this resource. Click on the SIGN UP link. Accounts expire after one year and must be renewed annually. Contact CB Insights at info@cbinsights.com to renew/reinstate account logins. Note: Users must connect to resource through Libraries site or be on VPN to use their personal login off campus.
PrivCo
Database of financial data on major privately-held companies. Includes private financials and revenues; private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history; and private and family ownership data.

This resource requires creation of a personal account using U of MN e-mail address.
Note: During the COVID-19 closure, if you have already created a personal account, you can log in directly at http://privco.com/. For first-time users, click on the title link above (PrivCo) and create an account by clicking the "Create an academic account" link.
Preqin Venture Capital
Investors, fund performance, firms, funds, fund terms, deals and exits, service providers and more. NEW: Note large file download requests require you to enter your UMN email, Smaller downloads will occur immediately without entering email. Contact busref@umn.edu with questions.
Bloomberg Professional
News and analytics for over 129 countries and 250 exchanges for the financial services industry. Offerings include 24-hour historical and 15-minute delayed securities pricing, news, data, and analysis on companies, markets and economies. Access is only available from terminals in Wilson or Walter libraries. See details below.

Bloomberg Professional desktop is available in Wilson Library (West Bank Campus), and laptops in Walter Library (for use in the Toaster). See access instructions below.
Using Bloomberg Professional in Wilson Library. Direct specific questions to the Libraries business specialists: busref@umn.edu.
Using Bloomberg Professional laptops in Walter Library (for use in the Toaster)
Bizminer
Find industry financial analysis benchmarks of business and industry market trends, including market analysis reports at the national and local levels down to the zip code.

Competitive Analysis: Competitor Sources

Orbis (Company Research)
Orbis delivers information on over 170 million public and private companies across the globe. The information includes: financial strength metrics and projected financials, associated news and independent research, extensive corporate ownership structures and beneficial ownership, original filed documents, individuals associated with companies, global M&A deals and rumors.
Hoovers
Includes information on more than 162 million businesses, both public and private, around the world. Business data includes Annual Revenues, Employee Counts, Corporate Family Tree, Key Contacts, Analyst Reports, SWOT reports, stock data, financials and other vital information. Important note: downloading company lists is not available on the academic subscription.
Access does not work via a mobile device or tablet.
PitchBook
Use PitchBook to search thousands of private equity and venture capital deals by hundreds of criteria. Establish benchmarks, find real time data on deals, identify and analyze comparables, and search investor details.
Each user must create a personal account while on campus using their valid @umn.edu e-mail address. Individual accounts must be reset every year on June 30th. Detailed instructions on how to create a personal account are available at: libguides.umn.edu/pitchbook

Walk in users please contact busref@umn.edu ahead of your visit to arrange for login access. Walk-in Guest Users login in at: https://www.pitchbook.com

Downloads set at 10/day and 25/month per user; resets monthly. All data and content available in PitchBook except Morningstar equity research

Faculty requiring larger data downloads may contact the library for assistance. Forward Pitchbook faculty download requests busref@umn.edu.
CB Insights
National Science Foundation-backed company that uses data to provide Venture Capitalists, corporate strategy and Mergers & Acquisitions groups, and investment bankers with intelligence on emerging companies and disruptive technology trends.
You must create a personal account to access this resource. Click on the SIGN UP link. Accounts expire after one year and must be renewed annually. Contact CB Insights at info@cbinsights.com to renew/reinstate account logins. Note: Users must connect to resource through Libraries site or be on VPN to use their personal login off campus.
PrivCo
Database of financial data on major privately-held companies. Includes private financials and revenues; private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history; and private and family ownership data.

This resource requires creation of a personal account using U of MN e-mail address.
Note: During the COVID-19 closure, if you have already created a personal account, you can log in directly at http://privco.com/. For first-time users, click on the title link above (PrivCo) and create an account by clicking the "Create an academic account" link.
Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)
Directory information on U.S. and Canadian business, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll free and fax numbers are given for some companies.
Mergent Intellect (Business)
Mergent Intellect provides access to private and public U.S. and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more. It also provides access to contact information for over 250 million U.S. consumers using WhitePages Pro data.
Mergent Online (Business)
Profiles of public corporations around the world that includes summaries, company histories, property, financials, subsdiaries, joint ventures, long term, press release and historical annual reports.
S&P Capital IQ PRO (with access to ESG and Supply Chain)
S&P Capital IQ PRO (formerly known as S&P Market Intelligence and SNL) is a platform that integrates real time and historical financial and industry data, research and news. Analyze thousands of global public and private companies, their ownership structure, and related transaction data. PRO provides access to a wide range of ESG (Environmental, Social and Governance) data and analytics and trade and supply chain data. See "More Info" for detailed account creation instructions first time users.
Guest users not affiliated with the University, please contact busref@umn.edu ahead of your visit to arrange for login access.
Detailed instructions on how to create a personal account are available at: https://libguides.umn.edu/capiqpro

Note: Full Tunnel VPN is required to use this resource.
GuideStar: The National Database of Nonprofit Organizations
Information on nonprofit organizations in the United States that register with the Internal Revenue Service. Includes financial information, mission, programs, board of directories and historical 990 tax returns filed with the IRS with more detail about expenditures and revenue. Search for nonprofits by location, size, and types of services.
Licensed for 3 simultaneous users.
Leadership Connect (formerly: Leadership Library)
Leadership Connect (formerly Leadership Library) allows screening for people, companies, and organizations by type, industry, job function, geographic location, size, or keyword. Ideal for searching NGOs, government agencies, board memberships, and not-for-profit organizations.
Need to download more than 500 records? Contact Mary Schoenborn (hawki003@umn.edu) for assistance.

Competitive Analysis: News & Media Sources

American City Business Journals (BizJournals)
Find articles from the Minneapolis St. Paul Business on local companies and other organizations. Students, faculty and staff have full access to Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal, including Digital content across 18 different Industries, access to the Weekly Edition, Book of Lists, the Search Archives. Register for an account with a valid @umn.edu e-mail address using the link above. NOTE: Full text access only includes Minneapolis/St Paul market.
Once a personal account is created, you can access from anywhere at https://www.bizjournals.com/twincities/
Regional Business News
Regional Business News offers full text coverage for regional business publications; Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated daily.
Business Source Premier
Find business articles from journals and magazines in marketing, management, information technology, operations, human resources, accounting, finance and economics dating back to 1965.
Wall Street Journal (WSJ.COM) This link opens in a new window
Get WSJ.com subscription through the library. Sign up for a personal account at the link above. Access to the articles, photographs, charts, podcasts, videos and other premium content available on the WSJ.COM website back to the 2010. Mobile app access is included in the subscription.
Access available only for University of Minnesota Twin Cities students, faculty, and staff. No guest access available. Each user must set up a personal account to save articles, create alerts, download apps, and use other features. Once a personal account is created, you can access WSJ.COM from anywhere.
Financial Times (FT.com)
News, analysis and comment from the Financial Times, a leading global business publication. Current students, faculty, and staff must register and create personal accounts using University of Minnesota e-mail addresses at the link above.
Once registered, you can use your account to log in to FT.com from anywhere on any device by clicking on the "Sign in" link in the upper right-hand corner.

Guest access for non-affiliated users is available at the CD-ROM workstation (computer ID: ULWILB-CRT8W52) located in the Smart Commons area of Wilson Library basement.
Environment & Energy Publishing
Provides news and analysis of developments in environmental, energy, and natural resources policy.
Factiva
Search millions of newspapers, business magazines, and newswires with international and foreign language coverage with all editions of the Wall Street Journal. Financial information for publicly traded companies, stocks, funds, currencies, and common market indexes. Limited to 7 simultaneous users.
S&P Capital IQ PRO (with access to ESG and Supply Chain)
S&P Capital IQ PRO (formerly known as S&P Market Intelligence and SNL) is a platform that integrates real time and historical financial and industry data, research and news. Analyze thousands of global public and private companies, their ownership structure, and related transaction data. PRO provides access to a wide range of ESG (Environmental, Social and Governance) data and analytics and trade and supply chain data. See "More Info" for detailed account creation instructions first time users.
Guest users not affiliated with the University, please contact busref@umn.edu ahead of your visit to arrange for login access.
Detailed instructions on how to create a personal account are available at: https://libguides.umn.edu/capiqpro

Note: Full Tunnel VPN is required to use this resource.
Cortellis This link opens in a new window
Access three platform modules: Competitive Intelligence, Deals Intelligence and News. Cortellis Competitive Intelligence gives you accurate up-to-date information on global drug pipelines, companies, deals and patents, plus breaking industry news, clinical trials and conferences. Cortellis Deals Intelligence provides comprehensive biopharma deals information, helping you search for potential partners, conduct due diligence, assess deal value, and explore deal structures and terms. News includes press releases,conferences and more. The library maintains 25 seats available for 2 weeks at a time to affiliated faculty, students, and staff. For access, please contact busref@umn.edu.

Last Updated: Apr 4, 2024 10:59 AM