Welcome!
Watch this video to meet some of the staff from the UMN Libraries who are here to help you succeed!
Whether you are on campus or online you can connect with a librarian, use library services, and access millions of books, newspapers, videos and other resources online.
Learn More Here:
Want a virtual library tour?
The library is sometimes referred to as the heart of campus. We certainly feel this way. Getting an online tour of the Libraries website is a great step to take before classes even start! You can get an idea of the resources available to you and we will highlight our online tools for new students.
Fill out this short form to request a tour
We will contact you within two days to schedule and/or confirm the tour. The tour will take about 20-30 minutes. We will send a Zoom or other meeting link at least one hour ahead of the scheduled tour. If you have any questions contact Kate Peterson (katep@umn.edu)
Go on a Gopher Library Adventure
Go on a Gopher Library Adventure
Do you like adventure? Explore your way through this “choose your own adventure” eBook! Learn about all the awesome stuff available from the UMN Libraries - like online search tools, streaming music, archives, undergraduate research, ways to get help, and more. The e-book is fun, fast, and full of adventure! It is so good you will want to start the adventure all over again.
Check the Libraries for your textbooks and readings
In partnership with the University of Minnesota Bookstores, the University Libraries provides you with a list of free U of M required books. All books are free for U of MN - Twin Cities’ students to read online and to checkout. Books in PDF format are available for download in their entirety.
Check the list to see if the library already has books for your course online, for free.
Streaming music and video you can access now
You can stream and watch documentaries and many arts focused films including Opera and Theater performances. We have a bunch of online streaming music collections -- primarily these are for the music majors but we all get to take advantage of them.
Keep in mind that any of these sources evens songs can also be used as part of a future research paper or project!
- Music Online: Smithsonian Global SoundStream music online including the collections of the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings with music from cultures all over the world.
- Kanopy StreamingVideo streaming platform hosting a wide variety of award-winning films and documentaries.
- Filmakers Library OnlineProvides award-winning documentaries on race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
- Naxos Music LibraryOnline collection of recorded music in streaming audio -- primarily classical music, plus smaller collections of world music and jazz.
Note: Users who create/use a personal Playlist account are required to log-in to the Library's Naxos website at least once every 6 months, to guarantee the re-authentication of their account. Accessing NML through the NML app is not considered re-authentication.
- Swank Digital Campus Titles (Streaming videos)Swank Digital Campus provides institutional streaming access to feature films from most of the major studios (excluding FOX).
- UMN Libraries Streaming Video Collections GuideThis is a guide of university licensed and freely available quality digital (mostly streaming) video online resources.
Newspapers & magazines you can read online now
Never get stopped by a message asking you to "buy" and article (sometimes that is called a pay wall)! The University Libraries has millions of online journals, magazine and newspapers -- both subscriptions to "browse" or read a current issue and tools to help you search.
Use the links below to reach current articles. Remember this is just a sample of what you have access to -- try the search box on our homepage lib.umn.edu to find more.
- New York Times (1980 to present) This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage of the New York Times to present day. Does not include photos, illustrations, ads, wire stories, or other page-image level access. (via ProQuest Newsstream)
- Minneapolis Star Tribune (1986 to present) This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from the recent issues of the Star Tribune. Does not include wire stories, ads, photos, or other non-textual article content from the paper. (via ProQuest Newsstream). Note: There is a one-day embargo on content.
- Wall Street Journal (WSJ.COM) This link opens in a new windowGet WSJ.com subscription through the library. Sign up for a personal account at the link above. Access to the articles, photographs, charts, podcasts, videos and other premium content available on the WSJ.COM website back to the 2010. Mobile app access is included in the subscription.
- St. Paul Pioneer Press (2010 to 2019) This link opens in a new windowFull digital replicas of recent content from the newspaper (including full-text articles, photos, illustrations, ads, etc.). Does not include the most recent 3 months of content. (via ProQuest Recent Newspapers)
- Washington Post (1987 to present) This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from the recent issues of the Post, as well as some online content (blogs, videos) from more recent years. Does not include wire stories, ads, photos or other image-based content from the paper. (via ProQuest Newsstream)
- The Minnesota DailyThe historical archive of the student newspaper for the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities is available online in the UDC from 1900 to 2009. There is a full web archive of the MN Daily site, including video content, available from April 2019 to present, and 2014 to present copies are available on Issuu.
- Vogue Archive, 1892-currentA complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
- The New YorkerThe New Yorker is an American weekly magazine featuring journalism, commentary, criticism, essays, fiction, satire, cartoons, and poetry.
- The AtlanticThe Atlantic Monthly is a literary and cultural commentary magazine.
Prepare and plan for your classes
Getting ready for your semester ahead can mean many things - like figuring out your textbooks and readings, to making a fancy bullet journal sort of schedule in a calendar to using an app to figure out everything you need to get done.
Your classes at the University will require more time than your school in the past -- now is a good time to level up those skills around "time management."
Here is a great tutorial from Effective U to help you do that.
- Effective ULearn new ways to manage your time, manage stress, take better notes, and prepare for tests.
- Citation Managers (e.g. Zotero, EndNote Online, etc.)Citation managers are software packages used to create personalized databases of citation information and notes. They allow you to: import and organize citation information from article indexes and other sources; save links to pdfs and other documents; format citations for your papers and bibliographies using APA and many other styles; and include your own notes.
- Assignment CalculatorEnter in the due date for your research project (paper, speech, lab report) and get a suggested time-line for completing with links to the resources to help you succeed in each step.
Effective U (Online Tutorials)
As a student, you've probably realized you need new skills for dealing with the many tasks filling up your semester: studying, classes, work, finances, family, friends. Explore these free online tutorials to learn new ways to manage your time, manage stress, take better notes, and prepare for tests.
Go to effectiveu.umn.edu.
Get help from the U Libraries - Online!
- Peer Research ConsultantsMake an online 30 minute appointment for one-on-one peer assistance with your research. Get help with researching your topic, finding sources, citing sources and more. Peer Research Consultants can also help you get started with faculty-sponsored research.
- Chat 24/7 online with the LibrariesAsk us anything! Chat with a librarian, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with any research or library questions.
- Meet with a librarianSchedule an online consultations for personalized research support primarily for University of Minnesota faculty, instructors, graduate and undergraduate students and staff.
Academic Success Centers (peer tutoring and more)
- Academic Success Centers
The Academic success centers website provides you with a variety of services to help you succeed at the University. Find peer tutors for your courses, academic skills coaching, or get support with writing, research, or media projects.
These services are designed to:
- Boost your confidence as a student
- Help you stay on top of your coursework
- Offer a deeper understanding of the content
- Connect you to peers who know tips and tricks for various courses
- Teach you effective study strategies and time management
Student Jobs
The Libraries employ hundreds of student employees for many different tasks. COVID-19 has reduced our staff for now, but you can view current openings on our student jobs page and stay updated by signing up for our email list.
