Ask Us
Health Sciences Library
Contact:
Phillips-Wangensteen Building
516 Delaware Street SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455
email: hsl@umn.edu
516 Delaware Street SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455
email: hsl@umn.edu
651-626-4045
Website
Need some help?
Ask Us
Health Sciences Library
Contact:
Phillips-Wangensteen Building
516 Delaware Street SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455
email: hsl@umn.edu
516 Delaware Street SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455
email: hsl@umn.edu
651-626-4045
Website
This guide is intended to help medical students at the University of Minnesota prepare for their clinical experiences.
PubMed search
Finding Answers to Clinical Questions
Evidence-Based Topics
- DynaMedPoint-of-care tool consisting of topic summaries covering diseases, disorders, diagnostics, and drugs.
- DynaMed Mobile AppGo to this website for detailed instructions on installing the DynaMed mobile app.
Differential Diagnosis
- VisualDxTool to build and visualize a differential diagnosis based on physical signs and symptoms, lab results, history, environmental exposure, and more. Contains a large medical image library, with special emphasis on dermatology for skin of color.
- VisualDX Mobile AppGo to this website for detailed instructions on installing the VisualDX mobile app.
Guidelines
- TRIP DatabaseThe TRIP database contains evidence-based health care resources, such as guidelines, systematic reviews, and primary research. Each abstract denotes the source and description of information along with complete citations.
Study Tools
Procedures Videos
- ClinicalKey's Procedure VideosClinicalKey's procedure videos contain step-by-step instructions for performing procedures common in hospital settings. Browse the A-Z list or by specialties.
Anatomy
- An@tomy.tvA detailed, interactive, 3D model of human anatomy with customized, downloadable images. Focuses on muscles, ligaments, nerves, veins, arteries, and bones. Includes features such as zoom, rotation, angle, layers, extensive text, MRI, clinical slides and xrays, movies, animations, radiology slides, dissection and surface anatomy videos and slides.
Question Banks
- BoardVitalsBoardVitals contains interactive and customizable question banks. The University of Minnesota's subscription includes USMLE Steps 1-3 and six NBME Shelf exams: Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, Neurology, Ob/Gyn, Psychiatry, and Surgery.
A personal account is needed to create exams. If you already have an account with BoardVitals, sign in through this URL: https://www.boardvitals.com/users/sign_in
Culturally Appropriate Healthcare
A person’s culture is multifaceted, and culturally appropriate care requires a holistic approach. Some important factors include religious fasting holidays, cultural views of mental illness, and family structures. Taken together, knowledge of these factors can support respectful conversations between providers and patients and enhance the health care experience.
- EthnoMedFind information about cultural beliefs, medical issues, and related topics pertinent to the health care of immigrants to the United States. Access relevant information through the Cultural Profiles, Clinical Topic, or the multilingual Patient Education categories.
- MedlinePlusMedlinePlus is a consumer health database that has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over hundreds of diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
Dictionaries
- Stedman's Medical DictionaryFind definition of words using in healthcare for medical students, physicians, educators, researchers, and medical language specialists. Includes specialties including endocrinology, gastroenterology, geriatrics, rheumatology, cardiology, and oncology.
Last Updated: Oct 2, 2024 4:41 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/med-clerkships