Skip to Main Content

MUED 8280: Current Trends in Music Education - Critical Pedagogy and Transnational Dialogues in Music Education

General resources for finding journal articles

TIP: Like using Google Scholar to search for articles? Use the University Libraries version of this resource to make sure you don't hit a paywall on items available through our many digital databases!

Resources for finding music-specific journal articles (includes music ed and music therapy!)

Resources for finding education-specific journal articles

First, try:

Next, explore:

Resources for finding theses and dissertations

Theses and dissertations represent the cutting-edge of research, and are often great places to find in-depth analysis and citations for other relevant resources. The University Libraries subscription to ProQuest Dissertations & Theses provides full-text access to documents published at Big Ten institutions, and you can use our Interlibrary Loan service to place requests for documents from other institutions using the citation information you find in this database (click the gray box labeled "Thesis" under the "Create a delivery request" heading).

Resources for finding government data, statistics, and publications

Interested in incorporating government data, statistics, or publications into your research? We have resources and a librarian expert that can help! Check out the University Libraries Getting Started Guide for Government Data and Statistics, and reach out to Music Librarian Jessica Abbazio at jabbazio@umn.edu with questions - I can get you connected with the experts who can help!

To get started, check out Sage Stats:

Lists of resources by topic: Check out bibliographies and guides to research!

Bibliographies and guides to research, locating in the ML134 call number of the Music Library's reference section, as well as online via Oxford Bibliographies - Music, can be great way to find curated lists of articles, books, and dissertations about specific topics, genres, and composers and their works. Visit the Music Library in person to browse the ML134 section (and don't hesitate to ask for help at the circulation desk or from Jessica Abbazio, Music Librarian, at jabbazio@umn.edu if you need it), or browse digital composer bibliographies in Oxford Bibliographies Online:

Last Updated: Nov 18, 2021 6:23 PM