Find music-specific encyclopedias
-
Garland Encyclopedia of World MusicFind background information and search the full text of the 10-volume print encyclopedia with links to audio examples, musical illustrations, photographs, and drawings; song texts and score examples; and charts and maps of world regions.
-
Bloomsbury Popular MusicBloomsbury Popular Music provides an in-depth analysis of music in a global context. It includes the entirety of the Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World and the 33 1/3 series of books exploring key albums.
-
Oxford Music OnlineSearch this authoritative collection for music research resources charting the diverse histories and cultures of music around the globe. Limited to 8 simultaneous users.
-
African American Music ReferenceFind articles on the blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression from encyclopedias, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies.
Find journal articles
-
JSTORFind full text articles in academic journals or books on the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides articles from the journal's first issue. In some cases the most recent 2-5 years may not be available.
-
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full TextRILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text is a comprehensive bibliography of writings about music featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. It covers over one million publications from the early 19th century to the present on traditional music, popular music, classical music, and related subjects, enhanced with the full text of more than 200 periodicals.
-
Music Index OnlineFind articles from 1979 to the present about music history, forms and types of music, musical instruments from ancient to modern, acoustic, electronic, and computer-produced music. Book reviews, reviews of music recordings, tapes, and performances, first performances, and obituaries are also included.
-
Music Periodicals DatabaseFind articles from 350 international music journals, plus the New York Times and the Washington Post. Covers all types of music from classical to modern includes concert and music reviews. Useful for music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
TIP: Like using Google Scholar to search for articles? Use the University Libraries version of this resource to make sure you don't hit a paywall on items available through our many digital databases!
-
Google Scholar (Setup connection to get to PDFs)Use Google Scholar to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, research institutes, and scholarly repositories from colleges and universities. If you are using from off-campus access, change the "Library Settings" to University of Minnesota Twin Cities. Look for the "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities" links in your Google Scholar search results to access full text and PDFs.
Find streaming audio and digital liner notes
-
Naxos Music LibraryOnline collection of recorded music in streaming audio -- primarily classical music, plus smaller collections of world music and jazz.
-
Classical Music LibraryClassical Music Library is an extensive collection of recordings with a supplementary reference database that users may search and listen to music delivered to their desktop. Classical Music Library is cross-referenced to a database of supplementary information and features fully licensed recordings, thousands of program notes and composer biographies, advanced searching, and hundreds of recommended playlists themed by genres.
Find music-related theses and dissertations
Theses and dissertations represent the cutting-edge of research, and are often great places to find in-depth analysis and citations for other relevant resources. The University Libraries subscription to ProQuest Dissertations & Theses provides full-text access to documents published at Big Ten institutions, and you can use our Interlibrary Loan service to place requests for documents from other institutions using the citation information you find in this database (click the gray box labeled "Thesis" under the "Create a delivery request" heading).
-
Dissertations and ThesesProQuest Dissertations & Theses contains dissertations and theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities. Full-text access to many University of Minnesota and Big Ten Academic Alliance theses and dissertations.
Find Interdisciplinary Reference Tools and Resources (Dance, Theatre, Art, etc.)
-
Oxford Art OnlineThe most comprehensive online resource for all visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day.
-
ARTstorARTstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology.
-
International Bibliography of Theatre and DanceSearch dance and theater arts journals on topics such as performing arts, ballet, drama, opera, film, and more.
Last Updated: Dec 1, 2020 9:41 AM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/mus-1801W
