New additions to Databases A-Z

The Olympic Movement is a multi-archive collection from the United States, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom. Resources include records of the origins, expansion and growth of the Olympic Games, and the global history of sport. Through a broad range of sources including correspondence, official reports, newsletters and film footage, researchers can chart the history of sport and its relationships with culture, society, business, media and politics between the 1890s and 1990s.

From the National Library of France (Bibliothèque nationale de France), gives access to more than 2000 French-language newspaper titles published between 1631 and 1951. Also includes audio and video.

Zines, newspapers and ephemera, oral histories, films and photographs from archival collections housed across the United States, United Kingdom, Australia, and Canada. Diverse perspectives, materials produced by grassroots organizations and under-represented groups are presented alongside government records and mainstream media to showcase the key social, cultural, and political concerns of the decade.

Explore the history of European colonisation across the African continent in the late-nineteenth and early-twentieth century through rare printed works, diaries and journals, correspondence, maps, photographs, and film footage.

A collection of the International Secretariat records of Amnesty International. Includes materials on the history of key political events, global social change and the development of a global movement for human rights covering themes including state violence, political prisoners, minority rights and more.

Collection of newsreels produced by the Topical Film Company providing a glimpse into the early twentieth century - from everyday interests, such as sport and fashion, to coverage of key events, such as the First World War, the Suffragette Movement, and the establishment of the Irish Free State.

David Sarnoff, President of the Radio Corporation of America (RCA), and other industry papers detailing the expansion of radio and television technology, and the rise of mass media empires, accelerated America's transformation into a consumer-based society.

This database (皮书数据库) is an online database of high-value analytical reports (pishu). It represents the best of contemporary Chinese scholarship in the social sciences from cultural to economic development.

Candid, unedited interviews from the private collection of author and film-maker Nasreen Munni Kabir, Hindi Cinema offers a unique insight into the film industry from the years 1950-2010 through the experiences of leading film-makers. Also includes photos, posters, and a brief history.

This collection explores The Bancroft Library's Americana repository that includes hundreds of years of Mexico's history through social, religious, and political change. The collection includes rare manuscripts, and stunning visual materials, including maps, photographs, illustrations, and graphic art.

A comprehensive record of the performance history of the Royal Shakespeare Company and its predecessor, the Shakespeare Memorial Theatre. Includes almost 1,400 prompt books to uncover how productions took shape, and explore the creative process behind the company's most important presentations in extensive additional documentation including production records, costume designs, music files and photographs.

From the Yiddish Book Center, works of fiction, memoirs, poetry, plays, short stories, science manuals, cookbooks, primers, and more in Yiddish and other languages by Yiddish-speaking authors as well as oral histories and archival recordings. Materials can be downloaded or accessed online.

Primary source collections that relates to the sociocultural history of the retail industry across the nineteenth and twentieth century. Sourced from renowned institutions around the world, materials includes records from department store archives, trade literature, staff newsletters, union records, and photographs.

Diaries and oral histories for the study of the lives and experiences of less well-known women, told through their own words. Featuring content from both regional and national archives across the UK and Ireland.

Collections of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other topical areas.

Bodyswaps is an immersive learning and training solution in virtual reality. (VR & Web-Immersive). Access to Bodyswaps is available in the Virtual Reality Studio located in the Health Sciences Education Center -- Room 5-132. For open hours or to make an appointment to explore Bodyswaps please visit our Virtual Reality Studio service page.

Search and explore full-page images of newspapers of the Communist Party, USA, 1919-2013. Covers workers’ rights, social issues, national and international politics, culture, and Party activity. Contributors include writer Richard Wright, folk singer Woody Guthrie and political cartoonist Robert Minor.

Portal to books, music, paintings, sculptures, films, photographs, files, manuscripts and more held at German archives, libraries, museums, and other cultural organizations.

Hilary Ng'weno (1938-2021), is considered Kenya’s most accomplished journalist. This collection includes the full run of several historically significant publications from Ng’weno’s media company, including: The Weekly Review, 1975-1999. The Nairobi Times, 1977-1983, Rainbow children’s magazine, 1976-1995. Also includes Making of a Nation documentaries and oral histories.

The Fashion and Race Database is an online, educational platform that expands the narrative of fashion history and challenges mis-representation within the fashion system. Research tools include access to a library of essays and a podcast.

Collections of books, manuscripts, and ephemera providing a historical view of disabilities from the seventeenth to twentieth century. Materials include personal memoirs, reports and proceedings of organizations and institutions, policies and programs concerning persons with disabilities. Rehabilitation, treatments, methods of education, and other forms of remediation are documented.

Morningstar Investing Center provides data on over 50,000 stocks, 250,000 open-end mutual funds, over 17,000 exchange-traded funds, and over 13,000 closed-end funds.

Streaming audio collection of thousands of albums originally released on the Fantasy and Naxos Jazz labels, as well as a wide range of other record labels. Users can search and browse by a range of parameters, including featured artist, disc or song title, genre, label, or catalogue number. Access is limited to 10 simultaneous users across the University of Minnesota system.

Streaming audio collection comprising the catalogues of Smithsonian Folkways and many other labels from across the globe. Users can search and browse by a range of parameters, including geographic area, personal name, record label, and more. Access is limited to 10 simultaneous users across the University of Minnesota system.

Digital library of scores for art music dating from the Medieval era to the 21st century. Users can download and print scores from the database, and many works can also be transposed into any key or clef for viewing and playback.

Nowy Dziennik (also known as Polish Daily News) is one of the largest independent Polish-language newspapers in the United States, serving as a key source of information for the Polish-American community covering current social, political, sports, cultural, and religious events. Includes full-page images with coverage from 1971-2022.

Overton is the world’s largest searchable index of policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications and working papers and links them to the research, people and other policy documents that they quote or reference.
Access is limited to 5 simultaneous users across the University of Minnesota system. Current students, faculty, and staff must register and create personal accounts using University of Minnesota e-mail addresses. Please email busref@umn.edu to request the registration link.

Search and explore full-page images of The Scotsman, founded in 1817 in Edinburgh. It provides an independent voice and uniquely Scottish analysis of local and global events.

SimX is an immersive learning and training solution in virtual reality. (VR & Web-Immersive). Access to SimX is available in the Virtual Reality Studio located in the Health Sciences Education Center -- Room 5-132. For open hours or to make an appointment to explore SimX please visit our Virtual Reality Studio service page.

Search primary and secondary materials from South Asia, including books, magazines, reports, historical journals, video, audio, zines, newspapers, letters, diaries, and more, principally from the 19th Century to the present. In English and South Asian languages.

See studies on inscriptions from archaic Greek texts (up to the 8th century A.D.).

V Novom Svete (В Новом Свете), which ran from 1995-2022, was a popular weekly newspaper among Russian immigrants to the US. It combined reprints from the Moscow daily Moskovskii Komsomolets (Московский комсомолец) known for its reporting on social and political issues with original stories from US-based Russian-speaking authors. Includes interviews with leaders of modern Russia as well as articles on the Russian community in the US. Includes full-page images.

CABI Compendium is an encyclopedic resource of datasheets covering environmental and agricultural production, health and biosecurity. It includes images, maps, and diagnostic and decision support tools. The eight subsections of the Compendium can be searched separately or all at once:
Animal Health and Production Compendium
Aquaculture Compendium
Crop Protection Compendium
Food Safety and Quality
Forestry Compendium
Horticulture Compendium
Invasive Species Compendium
Seedborne Pests

Crop Protection Compendium: The Crop Protection Compendium includes detailed datasheets that cover a wide range of information about crop protection related to pests, diseases, weeds, host crops and natural enemies.

Horticulture Compendium: The Horticulture Compendium includes detailed datasheets that cover a wide range of information about temperate, tropical and subtropical horticultural food crops from around the world.

Access is limited for 2 simultaneous users.
This database 中华经典古籍库 is a full-text searchable database of 8,000+ titles (and growing) of annotated and punctuated ancient books, published mostly by Zhonghua Shu ju. It also includes comparison between text version and image version. We now have access to series.1-10.

Full page images of the Daily Observer, Liberia's best-known, independent, national newspaper. Coverage from its founding in 1981 to 2016.

Full page images of El Mundo, a respected conservative newspaper from Puerto Rico. It was widely considered a key source for news from its founding in 1919 to its closure in 1990. In Spanish.

It provides one-stop search for etymology, pronunciation, definition and documentary evidence in three Chinese language reference works: Great Chinese Dictionary, Chinese Dictionary Supplement and Kangxi Dictionary.

Ireland's "only independent newspaper," the Irish Times provides comprehensive news reporting, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more, beginning with 1859. The Weekly Irish Times’ coverage includes The Times Pictorial.

Search the Jerusalem Post, a long-running English-language Israeli newspaper originally founded in 1932 as The Palestine Post. This database offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.

Search the Korea Times, the oldest English-language newspaper in Korea. The paper covers international business, economic and financial news as well as regional issues and events.

LandScan combines geospatial science, remote sensing technology, and machine learning algorithms, LandScan Global is the finest resolution global population distribution data available representing an ambient (24 hour average) population.

Explore publications covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist theory and practice. Issues include workers’ rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyism, Civil Rights, class struggle, and alternative social organization.

Full page images of five Ukrainian newspapers. Coverage is from 1899 to 1939. Includes newspapers in both Ukrainian and Russian.

News and job-information about colleges, universities, and academia, in general.

Explore the global story of Palestinian literature in the 20th century. Explore Palestinian literature through timelines; networks of people, periodicals, and themes; visualizations; and audio interviews.

Keledge is a Chinese ebook platform includes over 200 domestic publishers(keep growing) and has a collection of 200,000 titles of Chinese literature covering all academic disciplines. We have single user access to purchased ebooks on this platform. For other non-purchased titles, we only have preview access.

This collection of over 900 newspapers traces the history of Ukraine from about 1989 to 2001 and includes newspapers from over 340 towns and from each of Ukraine's 27 regions. Many titles are in Ukrainian and Russian with a smaller number in Armenian, Crimean Tatar, German, Hebrew, Hungarian, Polish, and other languages.

This collection of 16 newspapers traces the evolution of post-Soviet Russia, with coverage beginning in the mid-1980s and extending well into the twenty-first century. These newspapers, some of which had a relatively short lifespan, provide important and critical insight into the events and personalities that defined post-Soviet Russian politics and history.

A fully immersive, interactive and engaging virtual environment for teaching and learning anatomy. Primal VR uses Primal Pictures’ 3D human anatomy model to provide an immersive experience for learning anatomy.

Datasets from the International Federation of Robotics (IFR). Industrial robots data is from 40 countries, including areas of application, customer industries, types of robots and more. The service robots data reflects global sales of professional and consumer service robots, and includes an industry structure analysis with a full list of service robot producers.