Librarian
Table of Contents
The following list includes resources used for your current courses, and the bibliography lists that the NBCRNA uses for developing questions on the national certification examination.
Textbooks (Required)
SAVING PDFs IN CLINICAL KEY TITLES
You can download PDF chapters from books in Clinical Key, but you must create a personal account in Clinical Key first. Click "register" in the upper right corner to create an account. In the future, login with this personal account to download PDFs.
**=NCE & SEE 2022 Bibliography
- Elisha, Heiner, & Nagelhout. Nurse Anesthesia (7th edition, 2023)**The 7th edition is not available online, but it is available in print in the Health Sciences Library. Check availability through the link above
Textbooks (Recommended)
**=NCE & SEE 2022 Bibliography
Additional NCE & SEE Bibliography Books
Textbooks (Helpful General Resources)
Databases
- Clinical KeyClinicalKey is a clinical resource designed to provide fast, clinically-relevant answers. It contains an array of content from Elsevier and trusted third parties including over 1,000 books, 500 journals, thousands of videos, and millions of images, as well as point-of-care content from First Consult. The html content for ebooks can be viewed without logging in to a personal account, but in order to view the PDF book chapters users are required to log in to ClinicalKey with a personal account.
- MICROMEDEXProvides access to drug information resources, including drug identification, packaging information, interaction and contraindication information, drug prices, international formulations, occupational safety sheets, safety in pregnancy, and more.
- PubMedThis is the primary source of journal article for the health sciences. You can search MEDLINE and preMEDLINE databases with full text access to all MEDLINE e-journals subscribed to by the University of Minnesota TC Libraries. MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database/article index that contains over 17 million references to journal articles. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Over 5200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are accessible.
Health-Related Organizations
- AANA - American Association of Nurse AnesthetistsThe American Association of Nurse Anesthetists (AANA) is the professional association representing more than 50,000 Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists (CRNAs) and student registered nurse anesthetists nationwide. The AANA promulgates education and practice standards and guidelines, and affords consultation to both private and governmental entities regarding nurse anesthetists and their practice.
- Agency for Healthcare Research and QualityThe Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and to work within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and with other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used.
- Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation (APSF) NewsletterThe official journal of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation.
- Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs: CRNA School SearchCRNA School Search is an online database containing the most up-to-date information about each of the nation’s 120 accredited nurse anesthesia programs across the country.
- MANA - Minnesota Association of Nurse AnesthetistsThe Minnesota Association of Nurse Anesthetists is a statewide professional organization of Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists (CRNAs) dedicated to promoting the profession of nurse anesthesia.
- National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse AnesthetistsThe National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists (NBCRNA) is a not-for-profit corporation dedicated to promoting patient safety by enhancing provider quality in the field of nurse anesthesia. This mission is accomplished through the development and implementation of credentialing programs that support lifelong learning among nurse anesthetists.
- National Institutes of HealthA part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, NIH is the largest biomedical research agency in the world. NIH’s mission is to seek fundamental knowledge about the nature and behavior of living systems and the application of that knowledge to enhance health, lengthen life, and reduce illness and disability. The NIH invests nearly $32.3 billion annually in medical research for the American people.
- WHO - World Health OrganizationWHO coordinates programs aimed at solving health problems, in areas such as immunization, health education and the provision of essential drugs. Working through offices in more than 150 countries, WHO staff work side by side with governments and other partners to ensure the highest attainable level of health for all people.
Library Support
- Liz Weinfurter (your liaison librarian)I will help you! Get in touch!
- Health Sciences Library
The Health Sciences Library in Phillips-Wangensteen Building includes collections for medicine, nursing, public health, dentistry, pharmacy, basic sciences, and more.
Last Updated: Jul 19, 2024 2:37 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/nurseanesthesia