Resources for: Topographic Maps

While this list is not exhaustive, its goal is to highlight online collections of topographic maps that we have come across while answering questions for our patrons.

MINNESOTA TOPOGRAPHIC MAPS ONLINE

• TOPOVIEW - HISTORICAL USGS MAPS View and download all historic USGS Topographic maps; view footprints for historical USGS map series
• USGS HISTORICAL TOPOGRAPHIC MAP EXPLORER View, overlay, and download all historic USGS Topographic maps
• USGS STORE MAP LOCATOR Google maps interface for downloading GeoPDFs of USGS 1:24k, 1:100k and 1:250k scale topographic maps
• DIGITAL USGS 15 MINUTE TOPOGRAPHIC MAPS OF MINNESOTA Online versions of historic 15 minute topographic maps of Minnesota produced by the United States Geological Survey (USGS) between the end of the 19th century and the 1950s (requires MrSID plug-in)
• USGS TOPOGRAPHIC MAPS FOR GOOGLE EARTH Over 50,000 1:24k scale topographic maps -- once in Google Earth, click on the green "buttons" to get to the second grid with blue buttons that let you view a particular map

UNITED STATES TOPOGRAPHIC MAPS ONLINE

• TOPOVIEW - HISTORICAL USGS MAPS View and download all historic USGS Topographic maps; view footprints for historical USGS map series
• USGS HISTORICAL TOPOGRAPHIC MAP EXPLORER View, overlay, and download all historic USGS Topographic maps
• USGS STORE MAP LOCATOR Google maps interface for downloading GeoPDFs of USGS 1:24k, 1:100k and 1:250k scale topographic maps
• UNITED STATES TOPOGRAPHIC MAPS 1:250,000 FROM THE PERRY-CASTAÑEDA LIBRARY MAP COLLECTION USGS 1:250k scale topographic maps in JPG format -- some historic 1:250k maps available as well
• USGS TOPOGRAPHIC MAPS FOR GOOGLE EARTH Over 50,000 1:24k scale topographic maps -- once in Google Earth, click on the green "buttons" to get to the second grid with blue buttons that let you view a particular map

SOUTH & SOUTHEAST ASIA TOPOGRAPHIC MAPS ONLINE

• SURVEY OF INDIA 1:126,720 The series covers much of pre-independence British India (modern Pakistan, India, Bangladesh and Burma), giving detailed topography and social and industrial infrastructure.

• SURVEY OF INDIA 1:253,440 

• BURMA 1:253,440

WORLD TOPOGRAPHIC MAPS ONLINE

• SCANNED MAPS, SCALES 1:50,000 to 1:125,000 Interactive web map showing availability of scanned maps for download. The scans of maps are provided by a variety of sources, but in particular the University of Texas’ Perry-Castañeda Library, the University of Florida, and maps.vlasenko.net.
• SCANNED MAPS, SCALES 1:200,000 to 1:253,440 Interactive web map showing availability of scanned maps for download. The scans of maps are provided by a variety of sources, but in particular the University of Texas’ Perry-Castañeda Library, the University of Florida, and maps.vlasenko.net.
• ARMY MAP SERVICE TOPOGRAPHIC MAP SERIES FROM THE PERRY-CASTAÑEDA LIBRARY MAP COLLECTION Many countries available at 1:250k scale in JPG format, published between the 1940s and 1960s -- also check out the Google Earth index (scroll to the bottom of the page to download the kml file) to see all the maps available from this set
• INTERNATIONAL MAP OF THE WORLD FROM THE PERRY-CASTAÑEDA LIBRARY MAP COLLECTION 1:1,000,000 scale topographic maps in JPG format for much of the world -- also check out the Google Earth index (scroll to the bottom of the page to download the kml file) to see all the maps available from this set
• PACIFIC ISLANDS TOPOGRAPHIC MAPS FROM THE PERRY-CASTAÑEDA LIBRARY MAP COLLECTION USGS 1:24k and 1:25k scale topographic maps in JPG format for American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Guam and Republic of Palau -- also check out the Google Earth index (scroll to the bottom of the page to download the kml file) to see all the maps available from this set
• RUSSIA TOPOGRAPHIC MAPS FROM THE COLORADO SCHOOL OF MINES Soviet-produced 1:200,000 scale maps dating from the 1950s to the 1980s
• GERMAN EMPIRE TOPOGRAPHIC MAPS 1:100,000  Maps available from the David Rumsey Map Collection and are mostly from the 1880s and 1890s
• GERMANY TOPOGRAPHIC MAPS 1:25,000 Covers all of pre-WWII Germany, which now includes all of the Federal Republic as well as a good part of Poland. Most of the data found on the maps is from the 1930s and 1940s.