Data Resources related to Vulnerable Populations

The National Health Interview Survey is a survey collecting information on the health, health care access, and health behaviors of the civilian, non-institutionalized U.S. population, with digital data files available from 1963 to present. IPUMS Health Surveys harmonizes these data and allows users to create custom NHIS data extracts for analysis.

The National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH) provides up-to-date information on tobacco, alcohol, and drug use, mental health and other health-related issues in the United States. See this 2015 report for a specific example: https://www.samhsa.gov/data/sites/default/files/NSDUH-SexualOrientation-2015/NSDUH-SexualOrientation-2015/NSDUH-SexualOrientation-2015.htm

The Annual Survey of Jails, formerly titled National Survey of Jails, is the only data collection effort that provides an annual source of data on local jails and jail inmates. The series was begun in 1982 by the Bureau of Justice Statistics with data collected by the Bureau of the Census. Local jails are locally-operated correctional facilities that confine persons before or after adjudication. I

Data include jail population by reason being held, age (juvenile or adult) and sex, maximum sentence that can be served in the facility, available services, type of security available, facility capacity, age, construction and renovation of the facility, employment, and operating expenditures.

Produces annual national- and state-level data on the number of prisoners in state and federal prison facilities. Aggregate data are collected on race and sex of prison inmates, inmates held in private facilities and local jails, system capacity, noncitizens, and persons age 17 or younger. Data access via https://www.bjs.gov/index.cfm?ty=nps

The World Prison Population List gives details of the number of prisoners held in 218 independent countries and dependent territories. It shows the differences in the level of imprisonment across the world and makes possible an estimate of the world prison population total. The information is the latest available in 2015.

The National Health Interview Survey is a survey collecting information on the health, health care access, and health behaviors of the civilian, non-institutionalized U.S. population, with digital data files available from 1963 to present. IPUMS Health Surveys harmonizes these data and allows users to create custom NHIS data extracts for analysis.

Health, United States is an annual report on trends in health statistics. The report consists of two main sections: a chartbook containing text and figures that illustrates major trends in the health of Americans; and a trend tables section that contains 153 detailed data tables. The two main components are supplemented by an executive summary, a highlights section, an extensive appendix and reference section, and an index.

Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) provides nationally representative, longitudinal data from 1996 to the present on health status, medical conditions, healthcare utilization, and healthcare expenditures for the U.S. civilian, non-institutionalized population. IPUMS MEPS harmonizes these data and allows users to create customized data extracts for analysis.

Basic prevalence of disability in countries and characteristics of people with and without disabilities.

IPUMS USA collects, preserves and harmonizes U.S. census microdata and provides easy access to this data with enhanced documentation. Data includes decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Surveys (ACS) from 2000 to the present.

IPUMS CPS harmonizes microdata from the monthly U.S. labor force survey, the Current Population Survey (CPS), covering the period 1962 to the present. Data include demographic information, rich employment data, program participation and supplemental data on topics such as fertility, tobacco use, volunteer activities, voter registration, computer and internet use, food security, and more.

IPUMS-International is dedicated to collecting and distributing census data from around the world. The project goals are to collect and preserve data and documentation, harmonize data, and disseminate the harmonized data free of charge.

Historical and contemporary time use data from 1965 to the present.

The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides easy access to summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography, including states, counties, tracts, and blocks.

IPUMS Terra integrates population and environmental data across disciplinary scientific domains, enabling research into dramatic transformations of human populations, the environment, and their interactions.

Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) provides nationally representative, longitudinal data from 1996 to the present on health status, medical conditions, healthcare utilization, and healthcare expenditures for the U.S. civilian, non-institutionalized population. IPUMS MEPS harmonizes these data and allows users to create customized data extracts for analysis.

The National Health Interview Survey is a survey collecting information on the health, health care access, and health behaviors of the civilian, non-institutionalized U.S. population, with digital data files available from 1963 to present. IPUMS Health Surveys harmonizes these data and allows users to create custom NHIS data extracts for analysis.

The National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH) provides up-to-date information on tobacco, alcohol, and drug use, mental health and other health-related issues in the United States. See this 2015 report for a specific example: https://www.samhsa.gov/data/sites/default/files/NSDUH-SexualOrientation-2015/NSDUH-SexualOrientation-2015/NSDUH-SexualOrientation-2015.htm

compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals who, during a fiscal year, were granted lawful permanent residence (i.e., admitted as immigrants or became legal permanent residents), were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis (e.g., tourists, students, or workers), applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized.

Data on the number and
characteristics of foreign nationals aged 18 years and over who naturalized.

Provides international migration by major age-group and country of origin and destination, refugee populations by country of origin and destination, and the number of tertiary students by country of origin.

IPUMS USA collects, preserves and harmonizes U.S. census microdata and provides easy access to this data with enhanced documentation. Data includes decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Surveys (ACS) from 2000 to the present.

IPUMS CPS harmonizes microdata from the monthly U.S. labor force survey, the Current Population Survey (CPS), covering the period 1962 to the present. Data include demographic information, rich employment data, program participation and supplemental data on topics such as fertility, tobacco use, volunteer activities, voter registration, computer and internet use, food security, and more.

IPUMS-International is dedicated to collecting and distributing census data from around the world. The project goals are to collect and preserve data and documentation, harmonize data, and disseminate the harmonized data free of charge.

Historical and contemporary time use data from 1965 to the present.

The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides easy access to summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography, including states, counties, tracts, and blocks.

IPUMS-DHS facilitates analysis of Demographic and Health Surveys, administered in low- and middle-income countries since the 1980s. IPUMS-DHS contains thousands of consistently coded variables on the health and well-being of women, children, and births, and on all members of randomly selected households, for 29 African countries and 6 Asian countries. Users can determine variable availability at a glance and create data files with just the variables and samples they need.

IPUMS Higher Ed disseminates data from the Scientists and Engineers Statistical Data System (SESTAT), the leading surveys for studying the science and engineering (STEM) workforce in the United States. Data from the National Surveys of College Graduates (NSCG), Recent College Graduates (NSRCG) and Doctorate Recipients (SDR) are integrated from 1993 to the present.

Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) provides nationally representative, longitudinal data from 1996 to the present on health status, medical conditions, healthcare utilization, and healthcare expenditures for the U.S. civilian, non-institutionalized population. IPUMS MEPS harmonizes these data and allows users to create customized data extracts for analysis.

The National Health Interview Survey is a survey collecting information on the health, health care access, and health behaviors of the civilian, non-institutionalized U.S. population, with digital data files available from 1963 to present. IPUMS Health Surveys harmonizes these data and allows users to create custom NHIS data extracts for analysis.

IPUMS Terra integrates population and environmental data across disciplinary scientific domains, enabling research into dramatic transformations of human populations, the environment, and their interactions.