These resources and books include both fiction and nonfiction and can be used as a starting point to learn and talk about wellness, self-care, mental health and more.
Finding medical information
Search through thousands of health journals, magazines and newspapers. Tip: Many of these resources are aimed at "consumer" health or written for the patient or caregiver versus articles written for doctors, nurses or health professionals.
- MedlinePlusMedlinePlus is a consumer health database that has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over hundreds of diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
- Mayo Clinic Patient Care and Health InformationPatient-level information from the Mayo Clinic on diseases and conditions, symptoms, tests and procedures, and drugs and supplements.
- KidsHealthKidsHealth contains patient information at the child, teen, and parent reading levels. Includes lesson plans and programs for teachers and early childhood educators.
- Consumer Health CompleteComprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
- Health Source: Consumer EditionFind magazine articles and encyclopedia entries for health and medical conditions and diseases. Search materials aimed at patients and used in patient education.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowSearch nursing and allied health journals for medical topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
Sample of books available from the UMN Libraries (non-fiction)
Below are a selection of online books and readings on the broad topics. We have more online books, journal articles, and sources in our Libraries Search and article databases.
-
On thriving : harnessing joy through life's great labors
by
ISBN: 9780593668887Publication Date: 2024We've all been there: We take a pause, look at our lives, and desire more--more from our relationships, more from our wellness journeys, maybe simply more from ourselves. For some, it might be more fun, more peace, more exploration--but what does it take to get to the other side of living in survival mode? In On Thriving, Brandi Sellerz-Jackson helps us wade through what she calls the four great labors of our lives--labors that she's had to overcome and that she has led many clients through. Drawing from her experiences as a doula and intimate storytelling from her own life, Sellerz-Jackson guides us through the many phases of these great labors--labors that we can get stuck in, stunting our ability to thrive. Across age, gender, economic status, or background, we all move through the great labor of our relationships, our mental health, grief and loss, and the feeling of being othered. -
50 Ways to Rewire Your Anxious Brain : simple skills to soothe anxiety & create new neural pathways to calm
by
ISBN: 9781648481789Publication Date: 2023-12-01A take-anywhere toolkit to short-circuit anxiety and rewire your brain for lasting calm. Do you struggle with anxiety? Has it taken over your life or affected your relationships? Do you feel like chronic worry and rumination are holding you back from being your best, achieving your goals, or just enjoying your day-to-day life? Get a crash course in neuroscience with this slimmed down guide--full of the actionable tools you need to face anxiety head on. -
Finding your calm : 12 methods to release anxiety, relieve stress, and restore peace
by
ISBN: 9798350866438Publication Date: 2023Twelve of Llewellyn's top authors have collaborated to introduce you to a dozen new age relaxation techniques that can positively impact all areas of your life. Pulling from both scientific and spiritual methods, these expert authors introduce you to guided meditations, visualizations, and other simple practices so you can achieve a state of calm, collected bliss. Through fun, conversational essays, this book explores a wide range of topics, including the power of chakras, bedtime rituals, listening to your body, and autonomous sensory meridian responses (ASMR). You will learn about aromatherapy from Gail Bussi, the vagus nerve from Cyndi Dale, mindfulness from Melanie Klein, and more. Whether your need is for yourself, a corporate retreat, or a therapy group, Finding Your Calm helps you tune into your innate intuition and find the right modality for any moment. -
The Comfort Book
by
ISBN: 9780525508168Publication Date: 2021-07-06An instant New York Times Bestseller! The new uplifting book from Matt Haig, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Midnight Library, for anyone in search of hope, looking for a path to a more meaningful life, or in need of a little encouragement. Named by The Washington Post as one of the best feel-good books of the year "It is a strange paradox, that many of the clearest, most comforting life lessons are learnt while we are at our lowest. But then we never think about food more than when we are hungry and we never think about life rafts more than when we are thrown overboard." THE COMFORT BOOK is Haig's life raft: it's a collection of notes, lists, and stories written over a span of several years that originally served as gentle reminders to Haig's future self that things are not always as dark as they may seem. Incorporating a diverse array of sources from across the world, history, science, and his own experiences, Haig offers warmth and reassurance, reminding us to slow down and appreciate the beauty and unpredictability of existence. -
Nap Ministry's Rest Deck : 50 Practices to Resist Grind Culture.
by
ISBN: 9781797215778Publication Date: 2023-04-25The Nap Ministry's Rest Deck is a rousing call to reclaim rest in everyday life. Delivered in a stunning package with gold accents and gorgeous artwork throughout, the deck combines restorative meditations with prescient wisdom from celebrated activist and teaching artist Tricia Hersey, a.k.a. "the Nap Bishop," and founder of the Nap Ministry. Readers will discover 50 inspiring cards, each with an empowering affirmation and a simple practice to encourage rest, rejuvenation, and imagination. Rooted in social justice and imbued with spirituality, these cards offer short, accessible practices designed to uplift anyone suffering from the toxic effects of grind culture. -
Set Boundaries, Find Peace
by
Call Number: Wilson Library BF637.P3 T38 2021ISBN: 9780593192092 : a guide to reclaiming yourselfPublication Date: 2021-03-16The instant New York Times bestseller End the struggle, speak up for what you need, and experience the freedom of being truly yourself. Healthy boundaries. We all know we should have them--in order to achieve work/life balance, cope with toxic people, and enjoy rewarding relationships with partners, friends, and family. But what do "healthy boundaries" really mean--and how can we successfully express our needs, say "no," and be assertive without offending others? Licensed counselor, sought-after relationship expert, and one of the most influential therapists on Instagram Nedra Glover Tawwab demystifies this complex topic for today's world. In a relatable and inclusive tone, Set Boundaries, Find Peace presents simple-yet-powerful ways to establish healthy boundaries in all aspects of life. Rooted in the latest research and best practices used in cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT), these techniques help us identify and express our needs clearly and without apology--and unravel a root problem behind codependency, power struggles, anxiety, depression, burnout, and more. -
How to relax.
by
ISBN: 9781941529096Publication Date: 2015Thich Nhat Hanh continues his exploration of Zen mindfulness with this pocket-sized guide that demonstrates the importance of taking time to stop, relax, and recharge How to Relax is part of The Mindfulness Essentials series of how-to titles by Zen Master Thich Nhat Hanh, introducing beginners and reminding seasoned practitioners of the essentials of mindfulness practice. Pocket-sized, with original two color illustrations by celebrated artist Jason DeAntonis, How to Relax shows how critical it is to regularly interrupt the hub-bub and routine of our lives to stop, relax mindfully, and recharge. Thich Nhat Hanh says that when we relax, we andamp;ldquo;become calm water, and we will reflect reality as it is. If we’re not calm, the image we reflect will be distorted. When the image is distorted by our minds, it’s not the reality, and it causes lots of suffering.” Relaxation is essential for accessing the tranquility and joy that lead to increased personal well-being. With sections on healing, relief from nonstop thinking, transforming unpleasant sounds, solitude, being peace, and more, How to Relax includes meditations you can do to help you achieve the benefits of relaxation no matter where you are. Scientific studies indicate that meditation contributes tremendously to well-being, general health, and longevity. How to Relax is a unique gift for those who want a simple guide to achieving deep relaxation, controlling stress, and renewing mental freshness and clarity, appropriate for those practicing in any spiritual tradition, whether seasoned practitioners or new to meditations. -
Big Magic : creative living beyond fear
by
Call Number: Magrath Library BF408 .G464 2015ISBN: 9781594634710Publication Date: 2015-09-22The instant #1 NEW YORK TIMES Bestseller "A must read for anyone hoping to live a creative life... I dare you not to be inspired to be brave, to be free, and to be curious." --PopSugar From the worldwide bestselling author of Eat Pray Love and City of Girls: the path to the vibrant, fulfilling life you've dreamed of. Readers of all ages and walks of life have drawn inspiration and empowerment from Elizabeth Gilbert's books for years. Now this beloved author digs deep into her own generative process to share her wisdom and unique perspective about creativity. With profound empathy and radiant generosity, she offers potent insights into the mysterious nature of inspiration. She asks us to embrace our curiosity and let go of needless suffering. She shows us how to tackle what we most love, and how to face down what we most fear. She discusses the attitudes, approaches, and habits we need in order to live our most creative lives. Balancing between soulful spirituality and cheerful pragmatism, Gilbert encourages us to uncover the "strange jewels" that are hidden within each of us. Whether we are looking to write a book, make art, find new ways to address challenges in our work, embark on a dream long deferred, or simply infuse our everyday lives with more mindfulness and passion, Big Magic cracks open a world of wonder and joy. -
The Nature Fix : why nature makes us happier, healthier, and more creative
by
ISBN: 9780393242713Publication Date: 2017-02-07For centuries, poets and philosophers extolled the benefits of a walk in the woods: Beethoven drew inspiration from rocks and trees; Wordsworth composed while tromping over the heath; and Nikola Tesla conceived the electric motor while visiting a park. Intrigued by our storied renewal in the natural world, Florence Williams set out to uncover the science behind nature's positive effects on the brain. In this informative and entertaining account, Williams investigates cutting-edge research as she travels to fragrant cypress forests in Korea to meet the rangers who administer "forest healing programs," to the green hills of Scotland and its "ecotherapeutic" approach to caring for the mentally ill, to a river trip in Idaho with Iraqi vets suffering from PTSD, to the West Virginia mountains where she discovers how being outside helps children with ADHD. The Nature Fix demonstrates that our connection to nature is much more important to our cognition than we think and that even small amounts of exposure to the living world can improve our creativity and enhance our mood. In prose that is incisive, witty, and urgent, Williams shows how time in nature is not a luxury but is in fact essential to our humanity. As our modern lives shift dramatically indoors, these ideas--and the answers they yield--are more urgent than ever. -
A Curious Mind: the secret to a bigger life
by
Call Number: Magrath Library BF323.C8 G73 2015ISBN: 9781476730752Publication Date: 2015-04-07From Academy Award-winning producer Brian Grazer and acclaimed business journalist Charles Fishman comes a brilliantly entertaining peek into the weekly "curiosity conversations" that have inspired Grazer to create some of America's favorite and iconic movies and television shows-from 24 to A Beautiful Mind. For decades, film and TV producer Brian Grazer has scheduled a weekly "curiosity conversation" with an accomplished stranger. From scientists to spies, and adventurers to business leaders, Grazer has met with anyone willing to answer his questions for a few hours. These informal discussions sparked the creative inspiration behind many of Grazer's movies and TV shows, including Splash, 24, A Beautiful Mind, Apollo 13, Arrested Development, 8 Mile, J. Edgar, Empire, and many others. A Curious Mind is a brilliantly entertaining, fascinating, and inspiring homage to the power of inquisitiveness and the ways in which it deepens and improves us. Whether you're looking to improve your management style at work or you want to become a better romantic partner, this book-and its lessons on the power of curiosity-can change your life. -
10% Happier : how I tamed the voice in my head, reduced stress without losing my edge, and found self-help that actually works : a true story
by
ISBN: 9780062265425Publication Date: 2014-03-11Winner of the 2014 Living Now Book Award for Inspirational Memoir Nightline anchor Dan Harris embarks on an unexpected, hilarious, and deeply skeptical odyssey through the strange worlds of spirituality and self-help, and discovers a way to get happier that is truly achievable. After having a nationally televised panic attack on Good Morning America, Dan Harris knew he had to make some changes. A lifelong nonbeliever, he found himself on a bizarre adventure, involving a disgraced pastor, a mysterious self-help guru, and a gaggle of brain scientists. Eventually, Harris realized that the source of his problems was the very thing he always thought was his greatest asset: the incessant, insatiable voice in his head, which had both propelled him through the ranks of a hyper-competitive business and also led him to make the profoundly stupid decisions that provoked his on-air freak-out. We all have a voice in our head. It's what has us losing our temper unnecessarily, checking our email compulsively, eating when we're not hungry, and fixating on the past and the future at the expense of the present. Most of us would assume we're stuck with this voice - that there's nothing we can do to rein it in - but Harris stumbled upon an effective way to do just that. It's a far cry from the miracle cures peddled by the self-help swamis he met; instead, it's something he always assumed to be either impossible or useless: meditation. -
Facing the Fracture: : How to navigate the challenges of living in a divided nation. byISBN: 9798886452358Publication Date: 2024-08-13Foster resilience in the face of political polarization. Unsettled by provocative news, clashing politicians, and social fragmentation, Americans struggle to navigate the challenges of living in a divided country. Facing the Fracture offers a path out of the distress and disempowerment plaguing everyday people. Grounded in psychological research, this book offers readers strategies to foster resilience in the face of political polarization.
In this valuable book, Israel moves beyond explaining the problem of polarization to demonstrate how individuals can cope with the political divide, which seems to widen with each passing day. Readers will find guidance to reduce toxic input from media, manage polarizing thoughts and feelings, and engage effectively with others. And they will learn that they have the power to improve their personal well-being, relationships, community, and country. -
A Fragile Life : accepting our vulnerability
by
ISBN: 9780226440019Publication Date: 2017-03-01It is perhaps our noblest cause, and certainly one of our oldest: to end suffering. Think of the Buddha, Chuang Tzu, or Marcus Aurelius: stoically composed figures impervious to the torments of the wider world, living their lives in complete serenity--and teaching us how to do the same. After all, isn't a life free from suffering the ideal? Isn't it what so many of us seek? Absolutely not, argues Todd May in this provocative but compassionate book. In a moving examination of life and the trials that beset it, he shows that our fragility, our ability to suffer, is actually one of the most important aspects of our humanity. -
Daring Greatly : how the courage to be vulnerable transforms the way we live, love, parent, and lead
by
Call Number: Wilson Library BF575.A85 B76 2012ISBN: 9781592407330Publication Date: 2012-09-11Researcher and speaker Dr. Brene Brown offers an all-embracing new philosophy that provides encouragement to dare greatly: to embrace vulnerability and imperfection, to live wholeheartedly and to courageously engage in life, whatever it brings. Dr. Brown challenges preconceived ideas about vulnerability. Based on twelve years of research, she argues that vulnerability is not weakness, but rather the clearest path to courage, engagement and meaningful connection. -
The Stigma Effect : unintended results of mental health campaigns
by
ISBN: 9780231545006Publication Date: 2019-01-14In The Stigma Effect, psychologist Patrick W. Corrigan examines the unintended consequences of mental health campaigns and proposes new policies in their place. He argues that effective strategies require leadership by those with lived experience, as their stories replace ideas of incompetence and dangerousness with ones of hope and empowerment. -
Transgender Mental Health
by
ISBN: 9781615371891Publication Date: 2018-03-08Societal awareness of transgender and gender-nonconforming (TGNC) individuals is greater now than at any point in history, owing to the education of policy makers by advocacy organizations, the education of clinicians by research and scientific organizations, and the education of the general public by movies, television, and other media. However, most professional training programs for mental health professionals provide little to no education regarding gender diversity. Transgender Mental Health squarely addresses this deficit. This guide forgoes clinical jargon in favor of accessible, straightforward language designed to educate clinicians on how to address the basic needs of the TGNC community, thus increasing access to mental health care for TGNC individuals, which has been sorely lacking to this point. -
American Psychosis : how the Federal government destroyed the mental illness treatment system
by
ISBN: 9780199988716Publication Date: 2013-10-01In 1963, President John F. Kennedy delivered an historic speech on mental illness and retardation. He described sweeping new programs to replace "the shabby treatment of the many millions of the mentally disabled in custodial institutions" with treatment in community mental health centers.This movement, later referred to as "deinstitutionalization," continues to impact mental health care. Though he never publicly acknowledged it, the program was a tribute to Kennedy's sister Rosemary, who was born mildly retarded and developed a schizophrenia-like illness. Terrified she'd become pregnant, Joseph Kennedy arranged for his daughter to receive a lobotomy, which was a disaster and left her severely retarded.Fifty years after Kennedy's speech, E. Fuller Torrey's book provides an inside perspective on the birth of the federal mental health program. -
Asian Americans : personality patterns, identity, and mental health
by
Call Number: Wilson Library RC451.5.A75 U23 1994ISBN: 0898623723Publication Date: 1993-12-24It has been more than 12 years since Stanley Sue and James Morishima published their seminal work, The Mental Health of Asian Americans. Since that time, an enormous amount of research has been conducted and there has been a significant shift in who comprises this population--an increasing number of Asian Americans are foreign born and the percentages from different ethnic groups have changed. This volume, based on the most recent research findings, brings the literature up to date by offering the most comprehensive coverage available on the full range of contemporary issues facing Asian Americans with respect to personality, ethnic identity, and mental health. -
Lay My Burden Down : unraveling suicide and the mental health crisis among African-Americans
by
Call Number: TC Wilson Library E185.625 .P68 2000ISBN: 0807009601Publication Date: 2000-10-01Suicide is now the third leading cause of death among Black males ages 15-19, after homicide and accidents. Although lifestyles in many cases differ dramatically, there have been no studies to determine whether or not the risk factors among African-Americans differ significantly from those of whites. These startling statistics demonstrate a real crisis in America's social landscape, and more specifically in our health care system. -
In and Out of Our Right Minds : the mental health of African American women
by
Call Number: Wilson Library RC451.5.N4 I5 2003ISBN: 0231113781Publication Date: 2003-10-01African American women have commonly been portrayed as "pillars" of their communities--resilient mothers, sisters, wives, and grandmothers who remain steadfast in the face of all adversities. While these portrayals imply that African American women have few psychological problems, the scientific literature and demographic data present a different picture. They reveal that African American women are at increased risk for psychological distress because of factors that disproportionately affect them, including lower incomes, greater poverty and unemployment, unmarried motherhood, racism, and poor physical health. Yet at the same time, rates of mental illness are low. This invaluable book is the first comprehensive examination of the contradictions between the strengths and vulnerabilities of this population. Using the contexts of race, gender, and social class, In and Out of Our Right Minds challenges the traditional notions of mental health and mental illness as they apply to African American women.
Sample of ebooks available from the UMN Libraries (fiction)
Everything Is OK by ISBN: 9781524881535Publication Date: 2022-09-27From the bestselling author of Quiet Girl in a Noisy World comes a gently humorous and poignant collection of comics about anxiety and depression--because sometimes even the simple things like getting out of bed every day feel like an uphill battle. Everything Is OK is the story of Debbie Tung's struggle with anxiety and her experience with depression. She shares what it's like navigating life, overthinking every possible worst-case scenario, and constantly feeling like all hope is lost. The book explores her journey to understanding the importance of mental health in her day-to-day life and how she learns to embrace the highs and lows when things feel out of control. Debbie opens up about deeply personal issues and the winding road to recovery, discovers the value of self-love, and rebuilds a more mindful relationship with her mental health. In this graphic memoir, Debbie aims to provide positive and comforting messages to anyone who is facing similar difficulties or is just trying to get through a tough time in life. She hopes to encourage readers to be kinder to themselves, to know that they are not alone, and that it's okay to be vulnerable because they are not defined by their mental health struggles. The dark clouds won't be there forever. Everything will turn out all right.
Hyperbole and a Half : unfortunate situations, flawed coping mechanisms, mayhem, and other things that happened by Call Number: Walter Library Popular (2nd Floor) PN6727.B7568 H96 2013ISBN: 9781451666175Publication Date: 2013-10-29Allie Brosh's Hyperbole and a Half showcases her unique voice, leaping wit, and her ability to capture complex emotions with deceptively simple illustrations. Every time Allie Brosh posts something new on her hugely popular blog Hyperbole and a Half the internet rejoices. This full-color, beautifully illustrated edition features more than fifty percent new content, with ten never-before-seen essays and one wholly revised and expanded piece as well as classics from the website like, "The God of Cake," "Dogs Don't Understand Basic Concepts Like Moving," and her astonishing, "Adventures in Depression," and "Depression Part Two," which have been hailed as some of the most insightful meditations on the disease ever written. Brosh's debut marks the launch of a major new American humorist who will surely make even the biggest scrooge or snob laugh. We dare you not to.
Overdrive and Libby app
Overdrive and the Libby app are great ways to read ebooks, listen to audiobooks, read magazines and more. These tools are common in public libraries but they are new to the UMN Libraries. We have a growing collection with an early focus with titles from our Libraries Racial Equity Fund. Starting in October 2024, we are pleased to announce that students, faculty, instructors and staff at all the University of Minnesota campuses including the Twin Cities (Minneapolis and St. Paul), Crookston, Duluth, Morris, and Rochester have access to Overdrive and Libby.
- Search or browse Overdrive to see the UMN Collection.
- Learn more about getting started with the Libby app.
5000 magazines in Overdrive and Libby app
We have over 5000 magazines you can read use Overdrive or the Libby app. Read magazines on news, politics, cooking, crafts, fitness and more including titles like The New Yorker, Harpers, Vanity Fair, etc.
Sample of memoirs available from the UMN Libraries
What My Bones Know by Call Number: Wilson Library RC552.P67 F66 2022ISBN: 9780593238103Publication Date: 2022-02-22A searing memoir of reckoning and healing by acclaimed journalist Stephanie Foo, investigating the little-understood science behind complex PTSD and how it has shaped her life. By age thirty, Stephanie Foo was successful on paper: She had her dream job as an award-winning radio producer at This American Life and a loving boyfriend. But behind her office door, she was having panic attacks and sobbing at her desk every morning. After years of questioning what was wrong with herself, she was diagnosed with complex PTSD--a condition that occurs when trauma happens continuously, over the course of years. Both of Foo's parents abandoned her when she was a teenager, after years of physical and verbal abuse and neglect. She thought she'd moved on, but her new diagnosis illuminated the way her past continued to threaten her health, relationships, and career.
I want to die but i want to eat tteokbokki : A memoir. by ISBN: 9781639730780Publication Date: 2022The South Korean runaway bestseller, debut author Baek Sehee's intimate therapy memoir, as recommended by BTS. PSYCHIATRIST: So how can I help you? ME: I don't know, I'm what's the word depressed? Do I have to go into detail? Baek Sehee is a successful young social media director at a publishing house when she begins seeing a psychiatrist about her - what to call it? - depression? She feels persistently low, anxious, endlessly self-doubting, but also highly judgmental of others. She hides her feelings well at work and with friends, performing the calmness her lifestyle demands. The effort is exhausting, overwhelming, and keeps her from forming deep relationships. This can't be normal. But if she's so hopeless, why can she always summon a yen for her favorite street food: the hot, spicy rice cake, tteokbokki? Is this just what life is like? Recording her dialogues with her psychiatrist over a twelve-week period, and expanding on each session with her own reflective micro-essays, Baek begins to disentangle the feedback loops, knee-jerk reactions, and harmful behaviors that keep her locked in a cycle of self-abuse. Part memoir, part self-help book, I Want to Die but I Want to Eat Tteokbokki is a book to keep close and to reach for in times of darkness. It will appeal to anyone who has ever felt alone or unjustified in their everyday despair.
An Unquiet Mind: A Memoir of Moods and Madness by Call Number: Wilson Library RC516 .J363 1995ISBN: 0679443746Publication Date: 1995-09-05From a leading international authority on manic-depressive illness--and one of only a handful of women who are full professors of medicine--comes a remarkable personal testimony: the revelation of her own struggle since childhood with manic-depression, and how it has shaped her life.
Manic : a memoir by Call Number: Law Library Loft RC516 .C48 2008ISBN: 9780061430237Publication Date: 2008-02-05"I didn't tell anyone that I was going to Santa Fe to kill myself." On the outside, Terri Cheney was a highly successful, attractive Beverly Hills entertainment lawyer. But behind her seemingly flawless façade lay a dangerous secret--for the better part of her life Cheney had been battling debilitating bipolar disorder and concealing a pharmacy's worth of prescriptions meant to stabilize her moods and make her "normal." In bursts of prose that mirror the devastating highs and extreme lows of her illness, Cheney describes her roller-coaster life with shocking honesty--from glamorous parties to a night in jail; from flying fourteen kites off the edge of a cliff in a thunderstorm to crying beneath her office desk; from electroshock therapy to a suicide attempt fueled by tequila and prescription painkillers. With Manic, Cheney gives voice to the unarticulated madness she endured.
Hunger : a memoir of (my) body by Call Number: Wilson Library BF697.5.B63 G39 2017ISBN: 9780062362599Publication Date: 2017-06-13The New York Times Bestseller National Book Critics Circle Award Finalist Lambda Literary Award winner From Roxane Gay, the New York Times bestselling author of Bad Feminist, a memoir in weight about eating healthier, finding a tolerable form of exercise, and exploring what it means to learn, in the middle of your life, how to take care of yourself and how to feed your hunger. New York Times bestselling author Roxane Gay has written with intimacy and sensitivity about food and bodies, using her own emotional and psychological struggles as a means of exploring our shared anxieties over pleasure, consumption, appearance, and health. As a woman who describes her own body as "wildly undisciplined," Roxane understands the tension between desire and denial, between self-comfort and self-care. In Hunger, she casts an insightful and critical eye on her childhood, teens, and twenties--including the devastating act of violence that acted as a turning point in her young life--and brings readers into the present and the realities, pains, and joys of her daily life.
Lit: a memoir by Call Number: Wilson Library PS3561.A6929 Z4683 2009ISBN: 9780060596989Publication Date: 2009-11-03Mary Karr's bestselling, unforgettable sequel to her beloved memoirs The Liars' Club and Cherry--and one of the most critically acclaimed books of the year--Lit is about getting drunk and getting sober; becoming a mother by letting go of a mother; learning to write by learning to live. The Boston Globe calls Lit a book that "reminds us not only how compelling personal stories can be, but how, in the hands of a master, they can transmute into the highest art."
Prozac Nation : young and depressed in America by Call Number: Wilson Library RC537 .W87 1994ISBN: 1573229628Publication Date: 2002-04-02Elizabeth Wurtzel writes with her finger in the faint pulse of an overdiagnosed generation whose ruling icons are Kurt Cobain, Xanax, and pierced tongues. In this famous memoir of her bouts with depression and skirmishes with drugs, Prozac Nation is a witty and sharp account of the psychopharmacology of an era for readers of Girl, Interrupted and Sylvia Plath's The Bell Jar.
Maybe You Should Talk to Someone : a therapist, her therapist, and our lives revealed by ISBN: 9781328662057Publication Date: 2019-04-02From a New York Times best-selling author, psychotherapist, and national advice columnist, a hilarious, thought-provoking, and surprising new book that takes us behind the scenes of a therapist's world--where her patients are looking for answers (and so is she). One day, Lori Gottlieb is a therapist who helps patients in her Los Angeles practice. The next, a crisis causes her world to come crashing down. Enter Wendell, the quirky but seasoned therapist in whose office she suddenly lands. With his balding head, cardigan, and khakis, he seems to have come straight from Therapist Central Casting. Yet he will turn out to be anything but as Gottlieb explores the inner chambers of her patients' lives -- a self-absorbed Hollywood producer, a young newlywed diagnosed with a terminal illness, a senior citizen threatening to end her life on her birthday if nothing gets better, and a twenty-something who can't stop hooking up with the wrong guys -- she finds that the questions they are struggling with are the very ones she is now bringing to Wendell.
What is your study playlist style?
Lo-fi and ambient
-
Music Online: Popular Music LibraryMusic Online: Popular Music Library from Alexander Street contains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.
-
Music Online: Smithsonian Global SoundStream music online including the collections of the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings with music from cultures all over the world.
Jazz
-
Naxos Music Library JazzStreaming audio collection of thousands of albums originally released on the Fantasy and Naxos Jazz labels, as well as a wide range of other record labels. Users can search and browse by a range of parameters, including featured artist, disc or song title, genre, label, or catalogue number. Access is limited to 10 simultaneous users across the University of Minnesota system.
-
Music Online: Jazz Music LibraryJazz Music Library streams over a half-million audio tracks from about 45,000 albums issued by such major labels as Verve, Impulse, Jazzology, Black Swan, Circle Records, and Paramount,
Nature sounds
-
Music Online: Smithsonian Global SoundStream music online including the collections of the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings with music from cultures all over the world.
Classical and instrumental
-
Classical Music LibraryClassical Music Library is an extensive collection of recordings with a supplementary reference database that users may search and listen to music delivered to their desktop. Classical Music Library is cross-referenced to a database of supplementary information and features fully licensed recordings, thousands of program notes and composer biographies, advanced searching, and hundreds of recommended playlists themed by genres.
-
Naxos Music LibraryOnline collection of recorded music in streaming audio -- primarily classical music, plus smaller collections of world music and jazz.
World and international music
-
Naxos Music Library WorldStreaming audio collection comprising the catalogues of Smithsonian Folkways and many other labels from across the globe. Users can search and browse by a range of parameters, including geographic area, personal name, record label, and more. Access is limited to 10 simultaneous users across the University of Minnesota system.
-
Contemporary World MusicWorld Music streams over 1.5 million audio tracks from about 130,000 albums, plus 22 videos. The content ranges from reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
-
Music Online: Smithsonian Global SoundStream music online including the collections of the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings with music from cultures all over the world.
Virtual Reality for meditation
Virtual Reality Studio
- Four VR workstations and nine gaming computers, supporting apps that run on Windows, Meta, Steam, Windows Mixed Reality and VisionOS.
-
Visit the VR studio in room 5-132 Health Sciences Education Center
- Open Monday, Wednesday, Friday 12-5 and Tuesday, Thursday 12-7. Closed on the weekends.
“Meta Quest 2" Headsets
-
Rent or check out for free with your UCard at the Health Sciences Library for one week. Visit lib.umn.edu/services/vr.
Wellness VR App Examples -
Note: You can use these for free at the VR Studio or if you check out a Meta Quest 2 headset.
Tripp
Mindfulness on the go. Using a VR headset you can have a a deeply immersive, perspective-transforming experience. This app is great for guided meditation for beginners and or more advanced uses. It combines immersive VR with captivating and engaging worldscapes, transporting you into a kaleidoscopic universe of mythical adventures.
Hoame
Want to meditate on a beach? Or in front of a glowing orb? Or while floating in space? This is all possible with guided meditation VR like Hoame. It has on-demand pre-recorded classes and the live classes with you and the instructor sitting in a beautiful space while they instruct you to breathe, let go of your thoughts and tune out the outside world.
Last Updated: Jun 2, 2025 4:54 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/wellness