This guide supports basic research on the subject of zines and independent fan publishing, and zine bibliographies specific to GLBT. Click the menu on the left to navigate.
What are zines?
A zine (short for magazine or fanzine) is a self-published, nonprofit publication made by hand or online. Zines are usually published in small batches and distributed by hand, through zine or book stores, or by mail. They are usually devoted to specialized, unconventional, or subcultural topics. The independent nature of zines means they express ideas or tell stories underrepresented in mainstream print.
Zines at the University of Minnesota Libraries
- Marshall Weber Zine and Pamphlet CollectionFind zines in this collection by searching the library catalog for "Marshall Weber Zine and Pamphlet Collection" in the author/creator field.
- Jean-Nickolaus Tretter Collection in Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Studies
The Tretter Collection in Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Studies includes published materials, organizational records, and personal papers providing insights into the GLBT experience, and is the home of the Tretter Transgender Oral History Project. - Social Welfare History Archives
The Archives documents the history of social service programs, policies, and organizations; the evolution of the social work profession; and social reform movements.
Zine Bibliographies
- Queer Zine Archive ProjectFounded in 2003, QZAP provides online access to hundreds of zines by and about queer people. All zines uploaded to the site were digitized with the consent of their creators.
Start with:
Articles:
- Art Full TextSearch for articles in fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, film and architecture. Limited to 20 simultaneous users. Includes the following journals: American Art, Art Bulletin, Beaux Arts Magazine, Art Documentation, and more.
- International Bibliography of ArtSearch journal articles, magazines, reviews, and more on western and European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945 including painting, sculpture, drawing, video, installations, new media, decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art and material culture, classical studies, antiques, architectural history.
Books:
- Libraries SearchSearch the University of Minnesota Libraries to find books, scholarly journal articles, news, magazines, media, and other items in the University's collection. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Gorman Rare Art Books and Media CollectionThe Francis V. Gorman Rare Art Books and Media Collection is a collection of rare art exhibition catalogs, artists’ books, zines, illustrated periodicals, and more that date from the 1500s – present.
Newspapers:
- Art in AmericaNews on contemporary art in the United States.
- ARTnewsWell established magazine that reports on the art, people, issues, trends, and events shaping the international art world.
- The Art NewspaperMore news about the international art world, including reviews and commentary by major players in the art scene
Images:
- ARTstorARTstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology.
- UMediaDiscover 161,819 images, maps, manuscripts, video, audio, and more. UMedia provides open access to digitized materials from across the University of Minnesota.
Reference Materials:
- Oxford Art OnlineUseful for general information on artists and art terminology.
The most comprehensive online resource for all visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. - Oxford BibliographiesUse Oxford Bibliographies to find scholarship on a variety of subjects including Art History. Entries provide subject summaries followed by an annotated bibliography.
- Heilbrunn Timeline of Art HistoryGeneral resource that tells the story of art and culture through the Met's collections.
From the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
Last Updated: Jul 19, 2024 3:07 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/zines