Search Tips
Use the Library's Search box to locate quality management materials.
Tips to keep in mind when searching:
1) Searching for "Quality Management" under the Key Word or Subject criteria will not always give you the best results.
2) Instead, if you are searching for Quality Management materials available in our library's collection, then use one or more of the of the following Subject Headings:
-
Applied Systems Theory
-
Benchmarking
-
Business Continuity Management (BCM)
-
Disaster Recovery
-
Project Management
-
Quality Assurance/Quality Control (QA/QC)
-
Six Sigma
-
Kaizen
-
Supply Chain
-
Design Thinking
-
Sustainability
-
User Experience
These help narrow the focus of the search and can be helpful if you have a specific topic or area you're interested in exploring. If you want to know all of the Subject Headings for a particular item in our catalog, then click the Catalog Record tab in the item's record. You can click on one of the Subject Headings and it will bring up a list of all the other items in the library that have the same Subject Heading.
Find journal articles
- Business Source PremierFind business articles from journals and magazines in marketing, management, information technology, operations, human resources, accounting, finance and economics dating back to 1965.
- FactivaSearch millions of newspapers, business magazines, and newswires with international and foreign language coverage with all editions of the Wall Street Journal. Financial information for publicly traded companies, stocks, funds, currencies, and common market indexes. Limited to 7 simultaneous users.
- JSTORFind full text articles in academic journals or books on the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides articles from the journal's first issue. In some cases the most recent 2-5 years may not be available. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Academic Search PremierA great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Google Scholar (Setup connection to get to PDFs)Use Google Scholar to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, research institutes, and scholarly repositories from colleges and universities. If you are using from off-campus access, change the "Library Settings" to University of Minnesota Twin Cities. Look for the "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities" links in your Google Scholar search results to access full text and PDFs. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Online Resources
- Benchmarking
Benchmarking uses standard measurements in a service or industry for comparison to other organizations in order to gain perspective on organizational performance.
- ISO - International Organization for Standardization
International Standards gives world-class specifications for products, services and systems, to ensure quality, safety and efficiency. ISO is instrumental in facilitating international trade.
- ISO9000
ISO9000 is an internationally recognized standard of quality and includes guidelines to accomplish the ISO 9000 standard.
- Six Sigma
Six Sigma is a quality management initiative that takes a very data-driven, methodological approach to eliminating defects with the aim to reach six standard deviations from the desired target of quality.
- Total Quality Management (TQM)
TQM is a set of management practices throughout the organization, geared to ensure the organization consistently meets or exceeds customer requirements.
Online Tutorials
Tutorial: Creating an effective search strategy
- Use meaningful keywords to find the best sources
- Apply search strategies like AND and OR to connect keywords
Tutorial: Getting the most out of Google Scholar
- Identify the differences between Google and Google Scholar
- Understand how to access University of Minnesota Libraries-licensed materials through Google Scholar’s “Library Links”
- Search more effectively using Google Scholar’s advanced features and settings