Research Guides: Biomedical Engineering: Getting Started

Related Guides

Standards
by Meghan Lafferty Last Updated Oct 30, 2024 385 views this year
Patents
by Meghan Lafferty Last Updated Oct 2, 2024 219 views this year

Have questions?

Contact me for research help on this subject.

Engineering Librarian

Hannah Cabullo

she/her

Email Me

This guide covers search tools for research in topics related to biomedical engineering.

Start with:

PubMed
Searches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Coverage is from the 1940s to the present. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Scopus
Search for information from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Embase / Embase Classic
Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological database covering journal articles, conference proceedings, and gray literature. It is strong in its coverage of pharmaceutical research and international and non-English content. Covers 1947 to present.

Also check out:

Knovel
Online access to books, databases, and conference proceedings from a number of publishers that cover all areas of engineering and includes content relevant to related sciences (e.g., chemistry and earth sciences). It includes interactive graphs and tables.
For a tutorial on using Knovel, go to Start a research project with Knovel.

Off-campus access to library resources

Current University students, staff and faculty should be able to get full text and online access to the University Libraries from anywhere. Here are three ways to access the library full text from off campus.

Search the University of Minnesota library website. Log in with your UMN Internet ID and password to access resources.
Log in using the U of M Virtual Private Network (VPN). You will need to download it VPN software to your computer from campus OIT (Office of Information Technology).
Install the Libraries' Proxy Bookmarklet to your browser and click it to reload the page with your U of M login to get access to full text. Watch a proxy bookmarklet video (3 min) to learn more.

View examples and learn more on our How to get to full text from on and off campus Guide.

Last Updated: Nov 1, 2024 4:47 PM

Resources for: Biomedical Engineering