Getting Started and Getting Help!
Explore databases and resources relevant to research in German Film. Use the links on the left to find specific types of resources, such as journal articles, books, and reference works that will be helpful in completing your assignments.
Questions? Need help? Contact Brian Vetruba, European Studies and Digital Scholarship Librarian (email@example.com). You can also schedule an appointment with Brian. Drop-in office hours: Thursdays, 3-4pm (Zoom meeting room).
Libraries & online resources available during COVID-19
The UMN Libraries spaces are different due to COVID-19 AND we are here to help with your research online!
Studying at the Libraries during Covid-19
Four of our largest libraries are open - Wilson Library (west bank), Walter Library Health Sciences Library (east bank), and Magrath Library (St. Paul). These spaces are open for current U of M students with U Cards. Per University guidelines, masks are required. We have reconfigured furniture and are requiring physical distancing with one student per table. You can reserve a study room - one person per room. The coffee shops in Wilson and Walter are closed. Read through our FAQs for more details on visiting.
Getting physical materials from the Libraries
If you know the item you are looking for, search by title or author or search by your keywords in Libraries search. You can go to our open libraries to find your items or browse the stacks. Or sign in to Libraries search and place a “get it” request. You can pick up items at one of our four open buildings — Wilson Library, Walter Library, Health Science Libraries, and Magrath Library — or have them delivered to your office, home, or residence hall. You can also request to have part of a book or physical item scanned and we will send it electronically with our Digital Delivery service. Read through our FAQs including details on checking out and returning materials.
- Online library resources and services for students during COVID-19You can connect virtually to our libraries, librarians and staff and get millions of online books and many services and resources online.
Get research help online! Schedule an online consultation!
Help isn’t available in our spaces this semester, instead use Chat with a librarian 24/7, chedule an online consultation with Brian, your librarian, or schedule a 30 minute virtual appointment with a Peer Research Consultant (a.k.a. peer tutor for library research).
Films by Ernst Lubitsch Available via UMN Libraries
- Die Puppe (The Doll) byCall Number: Available via streamingISBN: 081351391XProduced in Berlin in 1919, Ernst Lubitsch's the Doll (Die Puppe) is a charming romantic fantasy that shows the director already in full command of the now-legendary "Lubitsch touch."
- The Marriage Circle (1924) byCall Number: Available via streamingOriginally released as a motion picture in 1924. Ernst Lubitsch effortlessly sets up the duality of one perfectly happy marriage contrasted with another couple in a perpetual state of grimly endured misalliance. The Marriage Circle is full of scenes with a sense of unspoken formality, of a mutually antagonistic marital standoff that has been going on for years. Ernst Lubitsch 1892-1947 (film director) ; David Shepard (film producer) ; Paul Bern 1889-1932 (screenwriter) ; Charles J. Van Enger 1890-1980 (cinematographer); Florence Vidor (actor) ; Monte Blue 1887-1963 (actor) ; Marie Prevost 1898-1937 (actor) ; Creighton Hale 1882-1965 (actor) ; Adolphe Menjou 1890-1963 (actor) ; Flicker Alley (Firm) (distributor) ; Warner Bros. Pictures (1923-1967) (production company, presenter). Also available as a DVD.
Selected Reference and Scholarly Articles on Ernst Lubitsch
- "Lubitsch, Ernst" (American National Biography)REFERENCE ARTICLE. Published in 1999.
- "Ernst Lubitsch" (Concise Cinegraph Encyclopaedia of German Cinema)REFERENCE ARTICLE. Use this link to view or download the chapter "L". The entry for Lubitsch is on pp. 299-300.
- Search "ernst lubitsch" in EBSCO databasesResults from Academic Search Premier, Film and Television Literature Index, and MLA International Bibliography.
SEARCH FOR ADDITIONAL ARTICLES IN DATABASES.
Books on Ernst Lubitsch
- Sex, politics, and comedy : the transnational cinema of Ernst Lubitsch byCall Number: eBookISBN: 9780253048349Publication Date: 2020CONTENTS:
Berlin: sex, spectacle, and anarchy. From the Jewish "Bad boy" to the "Bad girl": early comedies, 1914-18 ; Bad girls in the costume epics, 1919-22 ; Bad girls untamed: anarchic/fantastic comedies 1919-22 -- Hollywood: from European sophistication to antifascist screwball. Sex and sophistication: comedies and operettas, 1923-34 ; Pushing the boundaries in the pre-code Hollywood, 1931-34 ; Screwball politics: American populism and European politics, 1935-41 ; Coming out as Jewish: to be or not to be, 1942 -- Epilogue: Twilight of a cosmopolitan, 1943-47.
- Herr Lubitsch Goes to Hollywood byCall Number: eBookISBN: 9789053567098Publication Date: 2005Kristin Thompson's study analyzes Lubitsch's earlier silent films of 1918 to 1927 in order to trace the mutual influences between the classical Hollywood film style as it had evolved in the 1910s and the German film industry of the same period, which had emerged from World War I second in strength only to Hollywood. Also avaialble in print.
- How Did Lubitsch Do It? byCall Number: eBookISBN: 9780231546645Publication Date: 2018Joseph McBride analyzes Ernst Lubitsch's films in rich detail in the first in-depth critical study to consider the full scope of his work in both his native and adopted lands. McBride explains the "Lubitsch Touch," shows how the director challenged American attitudes toward romance and sex, and offers revealing insights into his working methods.
- Lubitsch can't wait : a theoretical examination byISBN: 9789616417846Publication Date: 2014Followers of the Hegelian, Marxist, Freudian, Lacanian, and Deleuzian traditions discuss the philosophical, political, and ethical dimensions of Lubitsch's late Hollywood work. They focus on love as stealing, the ethics of style, and comedy in times of austerity in the director's masterpiece, Trouble in Paradise (1932); answer the question of why comedy is always polygamous; discuss links between masochism, melancholia, and ideology in Ninotchka(1939); celebrate the ethical gesture of comedy in To Be or Not to Be (1942); and promote the revolutionary comic spirit of Lubitsch's last directorial effort, Cluny Brown (1946).
Databases for Scholarly Articles, Dissertations, and Reference
- Academic Search PremierA great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new windowCollection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals DatabaseInternational Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) inlcudes coverage of hundreds of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals right up to the present day. Many of these key titles are available here in full text including complete runs.
- Film and Television Literature Index with Full-TextSearch articles on film and television studies' topics including theory, preservation, restoration, writing, production, cinematography, reviews from "Variety" back to 1914 and more.
- Gale EbooksSearch encyclopedias and reference books from various publishers in many subjects, including art, biography, business, cultural studies, education, the environment, history, religion, science, and social science.
- MLA International BibliographyUse the MLA International Bibliography to find scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. This index has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926.
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains 100 language and subject dictionaries and other reference works, and searches across these resources. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Books on History of German Film
- A Critical History of German Film byCall Number: eBookISBN: 9781571134684Publication Date: 2017-03-10A history of German film dealing with individual films as works of art has long been needed. Existing histories tend to treat cinema as an economic rather than an aesthetic phenomenon; earlier surveys that do engage with individual films do not include films of recent decades. This book treats representative films from the beginnings of German film to the present.
- A Companion to German Cinema byCall Number: eBookISBN: 9781444345575Publication Date: 2011A Companion to German Cinema offers a wide-ranging collection of essays demonstrating state-of-play scholarship on German cinema at a time during which cinema studies as well as German cinema have once again begun to flourish. Offers a careful combination of theoretical rigor, conceptual accessibility, and intellectual inclusiveness Includes essays by well-known writers as well as up-and-coming scholars who take innovative critical approaches to both time-honored and emergent areas in the field, especially regarding race, gender, sexuality, and (trans)nationalism. Distinctive for its contemporary relevance, reorienting the field to the global twenty-first century. Fills critical gaps in the extant scholarship, opening the field onto new terrains of critical engagement.
- Historical Dictionary of German Cinema byCall Number: PN1993.5.G3 R417 2008 (Wilson)ISBN: 9780810856233Publication Date: 2008The Historical Dictionary of German Cinema covers mainstream, alternative, and experimental film from 1895 to the present through a chronology, introductory essay, appendix of the 100 most significant German films, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on directors, actors, films, cinematographers, composers, producers, and major historical events that greatly affected the direction and development of German cinema. The book's broad canvas will lead students and scholars of cinema to appreciate the complex nature of German film.
- The Cinema of Germany byCall Number: PN1993.5.G3 C56 2012ISBN: 9781905674909Publication Date: 2012This volume tells the story of the cinema of Germany in 24 essays, each concerning an individual film, in a fresh and concise way. It describes a 'national' film industry which successfully met the demand of a 'national' audience from the 1910s to the 1960s. The book represents this system by focusing on films which were very popular with contemporary German audiences such as Metropolis (1927), Three from the Filling Station (1930), The Great Love (1942), The Heath is Green (1951) and The Treasure of Silver Lake (1962).
- A New History of German Cinema byCall Number: PN1993.5.G3 N485 2012ISBN: 9781571134905Publication Date: 2012This dynamic, event-centered anthology offers a new understanding of the hundred-year history of German-language film, from the earliest days of the Kintopp to contemporary productions like The Lives of Others. Each of the more than eighty essays takes a key date as its starting point and explores its significance for German film history, pursuing its relationship with its social, political, and aesthetic moment. While the essays offer ample temporal and topical spread, this book emphasizes the juxtaposition of famous and unknown stories, granting attention to a wide range of cinematic events.
Citing your sources (e.g. MLA, APA, etc.)
- Citation Managers (e.g. Zotero, EndNote Online, etc.)Citation managers are software packages used to create personalized databases of citation information and notes. They allow you to: import and organize citation information from article indexes and other sources; save links to pdfs and other documents; format citations for your papers and bibliographies using APA and many other styles; and include your own notes.
Many article databases (e.g. Academic Search Premier, Google Scholar) will create a citation for you. After you found the item, look for "cite" or "quotes." Here are examples:
In Google Scholar:
In Academic Search Premier:
- Chicago Manual of Style OnlineThis resource provides online access to the latest edition of The Chicago Manual of Style, which covers a variety of topics from manuscript preparation and publication to grammar, usage, and citation formating. The citation quick guide covers both the author-date and the notes and bibliography systems.
- Citation and research help (from Purdue OWL)Examples and instructions for how to cite many types of materials in MLA, APA, Chicago, and AMA styles.
Learn more about on annotated bibliographies
Annotated Bibliography from UW-Madison
An annotated bibliography is an organized list of sources, each of which is followed by a brief note or “annotation.”
- How to write an annotated bibliographyLearn more about annotated bibliographies.
- Writing Evaluative Annotated BibliographiesThis chapter includes useful questions to guide you in writing annotations for an annotated bibliography.