Header
More and more Carlson School students are finding success searching for internships and full-time jobs outside of Minneapolis due to their interest in pursuing niche markets or exploring other parts of the country. The process of a national job search is quite different than on-campus recruiting, so you may need to adjust your expectations for process and timelines. How does a National Job Search differ from on-campus recruiting?
With National Job Search:
- You apply for jobs on company career sites or through networking contacts
- You meet company representatives on the phone, at national alumni events, or at trade shows
- You need to seek out company representatives to research the company
- There may be small or possibly no base of Carlson alumni with experience in the roles you're seeking
- Hiring timelines may be much later in spring semester
- Online presence is important for introduction to alumni and national recruiters
This page provides students with a guide to their national job search process. In addition, students can meet with a UBCC Career Coach
to discuss questions about the process or to get connected to resources outside of Minnesota.
Step 1: Pick a City! Information on Cities
Step 1: Pick a City!
- American City Business Journals (BizJournals)Find articles from the Minneapolis St. Paul Business on local companies and other organizations. Students, faculty and staff have full access to Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal, including Digital content across 18 different Industries, access to the Weekly Edition, Book of Lists, the Search Archives. Register for an account with a valid @umn.edu e-mail address using the link above. NOTE: Full text access only includes Minneapolis/St Paul market.
Los Angeles
New York City
San Francisco
Washington DC
Cost of Living Wizard
- Cost of Living WizardConsidering a new city? Salary.com's cost-of-living calculator will compare living-cost indexes and salary differentials to help you make an informed comparison. Learn how your disposable income will be affected by a relocation between any combination of 300-plus U.S. cities. The Cost-of-Living Wizard also reports the salary adjustment needed to maintain your standard of living, and what salary increase or decrease is likely given local market factors.
- City DataIf you are interested in another location use this database for information.
Step 2: Job Market Research
Step 2: Job Market Research
- Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)Directory information on U.S. and Canadian business, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll free and fax numbers are given for some companies.
- HooversIncludes information on more than 162 million businesses, both public and private, around the world. Business data includes Annual Revenues, Employee Counts, Corporate Family Tree, Key Contacts, Analyst Reports, SWOT reports, stock data, financials and other vital information. Important note: downloading company lists is not available on the academic subscription.
- GuideStar: The National Database of Nonprofit OrganizationsInformation on nonprofit organizations in the United States that register with the Internal Revenue Service. Includes financial information, mission, programs, board of directories and historical 990 tax returns filed with the IRS with more detail about expenditures and revenue. Search for nonprofits by location, size, and types of services.
- MarketLine Reports (Business)Industry reports and company profiles cover key facts, history, employees, major products, revenue analysis, SWOT analysis, top competitors, locations and subsidiaries. Industry Reports include analysis, market size, market share, forecasts, segmentation, and leading companies. Access via Business Source Premier.
- PrivCoDatabase of financial data on major privately-held companies. Includes private financials and revenues; private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history; and private and family ownership data.
This resource requires creation of a personal account using U of MN e-mail address. - PitchBookPitchbook is a mediated-access database. Please see Additional Information. Use PitchBook to search thousands of private equity and venture capital deals by hundreds of criteria. Establish benchmarks, find real time data on deals, identify and analyze comparables, and search investor details.
- IBIS World (Business)Search industry reports for the United States, Canada, China, and global topics. Each report provides an overall current picture of an industry, including overviews, leading companies, sales information, and authoritative sources for researching hundreds of industries. Includes Business Environmental Profiles that summarize key drivers for industries in the U.S.
- Tutorial: Ace the job searchLibrary databases give you key information about potential employers and industries. In this tutorial, you will learn about some of the business databases for researching companies, industries, and other job information.
Step 3: Finding a Position
Step 3: Finding a Position
- GlassdoorGlassdoor holds a growing database of 6 million company reviews, CEO approval ratings, salary reports, interview reviews and questions, benefits reviews, office photos and more. It's like Yelp! for jobs and companies.
- Indeed.comSearch jobs by location
- The MuseExplore our free career advice that includes tips on discovering your passion, and find jobs at inspiring companies that are now hiring.
- USA JobsOfficial site jobs and employment with U.S. federal government.
Step 4: Next Steps
Step 4: Next Steps
- LinkedIn CSOM AlumniJoin the Carlson School of Management group. Use the alumni feature to discover Carlson or U of M alumni in your target city. Then sort by function or company to narrow your list of contacts.
You can direct message someone who shares a group with you only from the results list when you search for members within the group. You cannot direct message them if you click on their profile.
Consider changing your profile summary statement to something like "Currently seeking entry-level market research positions in the Philadelphia area."
Join job search groups for your target city such as Denver Jobs Network, Seattle Tech Jobs, or Atlanta Jobs Network.
Undergrads are welcome to attend Alumni events in other cities: https://carlsonschool.umn.edu/alumni/events - Carlson Mentor NetworkSign up to connect with Carlson alumni living outside the Twin Cities.
- Career CoachMeet with a career coach for targeted support!
Business Librarians
Last Updated: Jul 19, 2024 3:31 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/NationalJobSearch2019