Gaining Insight: Exploring Disciplinary Research
Search the literature to learn about theories, frameworks, and evolution of thought within the discipline.
Handbooks, Encyclopedias, Bibliographies
Library Catalogs - search authors, books, and subjects
Search Major Indexes:
Search Disciplinary Databases related to Management, Leadership & Governance
Finding Grey Literature & Open Access Research
Conference Proceedings & Working Papers - search the databases above, the website of the conference organization or disciplinary repositories to locate abstract and full text access to conference papers.
Online Scholarly Repositories - online sites managed by either acadeimc organizations or scholarly organizations that collect scholarly works (or versions of works) and share as open access. Examples include:
Current Awareness Tools
Learn more about setting up topic alerts to journals and databases. Doing so can be a real time saver.
Research Methodologies & Frameworks
Learn more about resources to help you understand disciplinary research practices and guidance on specific quantitative and qualitative methods.
Finding data and statistics.
Use the following resources to locate a broad range of data and statistics.
Visit the Find and Access Data page for more resources available through the library.
Researcher Productivity Tools
These are resources to help you, the researcher, build your professional identity and practice.
Included in this section are examples of researcher identity management, literature review decision frameworks and writing support.
Research Development Tools
These are examples of available tools to assist you at various stages of the research development and planning.
Journal Quality and Impact Metrics
Managing Research Information: Citation Tools & Data Management
Be sure you are familiar with the various citation guides and style manuals and know the style requirements of your discipline and/or journal you are submitting to.
Also be sure to review the many research data management services available through the Libraries.
Research Support Services : Browse all offerings
Be sure to browse the Libraries site on Transforming Scholarly Communication to learn more about the many processes by which academics, scholars, and researchers create, share, and publish their research, making it available to the wider academic community and beyond.