Oxford Handbooks contain peer-reviewed scholarly review articles in Business and Management, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics and Finance, Law, Political Science, and Psychology. Included are classic works of scholarship along with newly-published works. Each handbook offers a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study. Individual articles by leading scholars review key issues and major debates, and discuss how those debates might evolve.
Call Number: TC Wilson Library General Collection Quarto JF1351 .H275 2007
Publication Date: 2006
Since the publication of the previous edition, the best-selling Handbook of Public Administrationenters its third edition with substantially revised, updated, and expanded coverage of public administration history, theory, and practice. Edited by preeminent authorities in the field, this work is unparalleled in its thorough coverage and comprehensive references. This handbook examines the major areas in public administration including public budgeting and financial management, human resourcemanagement, decision making, public law and regulation, and political economy. Providing a strong platform for further research and advancement in the field, this book is a necessity for anyone involved in public administration, policy, and management. This edition includes entirely new chapters on information technology and conduct of inquiry. In each area of public administration, there are two bibliographic treatises written from different perspectives. The first examines the developments in the field. The second analyzes theories, concepts, or ideas in the field's literature.he developments in the field. The second analyzes theories, concepts, or ideas in the field's literature.
Library Catalogs - search authors, books, and subjects
Find books, journals, articles, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, theses/dissertations, machine-readable data files, and any other materials available in libraries worldwide. All subject areas are covered. Request items through Interlibrary Loan using the ILLiad link on each item's record. A mobile version of this database is available. Limited to 65 simultaneous users.
A comprehensive interdisciplinary collection of journal article citations. Subjects generally covered are within science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Use Google Scholar to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, research institutes, and scholarly repositories from colleges and universities. If you are using from off-campus access, change the "Library Settings" to University of Minnesota Twin Cities. Look for the "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities" links in your Google Scholar search results to access full text and PDFs. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration & public policy from1975 to the present.
Find articles in thousands of psychology journals, from 1806 to current. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Search full-text education journals covering all levels of education--from early childhood to higher education--as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Huge legal search tool with full-text of legal journals, legal histories, government documents, state and federal cases, international law and includes coverage of many older legal materials. Contains the Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports (Supreme Court) back to 1754.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) searches journals and other sources on issues of political science and public policy. This includes government, politics, international relations, human rights and more.
Grey Literature - related scholarly materials
Conference Proceedings & Working Papers - search the databases above, the website of the conference organization or disciplinary repositories to locate abstract and full text access to conference papers.
Online Scholarly Repositories - online sites managed by either acadeimc organizations or scholarly organizations that collect scholarly works (or versions of works) and share as open access. Examples include:
DRUM is a publicly available collection of digital research data generated by U of M researchers, students, and staff. Anyone can search and download the data housed in the repository, instantly or by request.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 197,700 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers (preprints) and an Electronic Paper Collection containing downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format. SSRN was acquired by Elsevier in 2016.
Currently indexing over 2300 repositories, "the aim of ROAR is to promote the development of open access by providing timely information about the growth and status of repositories throughout the world. Open access to research maximises research access and thereby also research impact, making research more productive and effective."
"OpenDOAR is the quality-assured global directory of academic open access repositories. It enables the identification, browsing and search for repositories, based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held."
Professional Contacts - use the following sources to find professional/academic associations and experts in the field of inquiry.
Leadership Connect (formerly Leadership Library) allows screening for people, companies, and organizations by type, industry, job function, geographic location, size, or keyword. Ideal for searching NGOs, government agencies, board memberships, and not-for-profit organizations.
Need to download more than 500 records? Contact Mary Schoenborn (email@example.com) for assistance.
Graduate students and new professionals in psychology have many options for career development. One of the most useful decisions a new or emerging psychologist can make is to join a professional association.
This chapter, from the book, The Portable Mentor by Mitchell J. Prinstein (2012) provides excellent introductory insight on the topic.
Use Experts@Minnesota to search profiles of University of Minnesota faculty and research staff by collegiate or department, research interests and their publications. Find potential collaborators, learn about the expertise of our faculty and research staff, and about funding sources received by other researchers.
How does a researcher gauge the impact of his/her research? How do administrators objectively evaluate the performance of a researcher? While both questions are difficult to answer, below are numeric measures that can provide a rough snapshot of impact.
This accessible text provides a roadmap for producing a high-quality literature review--an integral part of a successful thesis, dissertation, term paper, or grant proposal. Each step of searching for, evaluating, analyzing, and synthesizing prior studies is clearly explained and accompanied by user-friendly suggestions, organizational tips, vignettes, and examples of student work. Also featured are excerpts from peer-reviewed quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods articles. This is the first book to focus on crafting different types of reviews (systematic, traditional-narrative, or hermeneutic-phenomenological) that reflect the writer's research question, methodological choices, and approaches to knowledge. It describes what all reviews have in common and highlights distinct characteristics of each type. The book includes dos and don'ts for evaluating studies and constructing an argument, and software suggestions for locating, organizing, and arranging sources. Pedagogical Features *Checklists and "To Do" activities that break down key steps to take. *Boxed examples, graphics that organize and visually illustrate key concepts, and summary tables. *Group activities that invite students to further explore and apply the methods discussed in each chapter. *Detailed directions for using four different organizing strategies: synthesis matrix, summary table, mapping, and topic outline. *End-of-chapter summaries and "What's Next" sections. *Assessment matrices for reviewing and refining the completed literature review. Winner (First Place)--American Journal of Nursing Book of the Year Award, Nursing Research Category
Call Number: online access available (single user)
Publication Date: 2012-11-27
It's not easy getting published, but everyone has to do it. Writing for Peer Reviewed Journals presents an insider's perspective on the secret business of academic publishing, making explicit many of the dilemmas and struggles faced by all writers, but rarely discussed. Its unique approach is theorised and practical. It offers a set of moves for writing a journal article that is structured and doable but also attends to the identity issues that manifest on the page and in the politics of academic life. The book comprehensively assists anyone concerned about getting published; whether they are early in their career or moving from a practice base into higher education, or more experienced but still feeling in need of further information.
The University Libraries offers a hands-on and online workshops on searching Pivot, SPIN and the Foundation Directory Online (FDO). Review this page for additional sources of grant funding for your research.
Use this site to learn more about standard measures of journal quality. This is particularly important when considering places to publish your work as well as learning more about the professional societies who publish them.
Journal Citation Reports helps you evaluate and compare scholarly and technical journals. JCR Science Edition contains data about more than 8,000 journals in science and technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data about more than 2,600 journals in the social sciences. Includes the Impact Factor for these journals.
Citation managers are software packages used to create personalized databases of citation information and notes. They allow you to: import and organize citation information from article indexes and other sources; save links to pdfs and other documents; format citations for your papers and bibliographies using APA and many other styles; and include your own notes.
Librarians at the University of Minnesota Libraries can help you with all aspects of scholarly publishing. Go here for more information and to schedule a one-on-one consultation with a publishing expert.
The University Libraries' Copyright program is focused on addressing the campus's informational and educational needs around copyright. We offer an expanding menu of education and training opportunities, including this website, personal and small-group consultations, tailored and course-integrated instruction, and workshops on fundamental copyright and scholarly communications issues.
Go here for a description of the types of researcher support offered by the Health Sciences Libraries and the University Libraries in general.
Be sure to browse the Libraries site on Transforming Scholarly Communication to learn more about the many processes by which academics, scholars, and researchers create, share, and publish their research, making it available to the wider academic community and beyond.