Related Guides
Make an appointment
Make a virtual appointment with the subject librarian, Kat Nelsen.
You will receive a Zoom link shortly after scheduling.
Start with:
Use multi-disciplinary databases to gain a broad understanding of your topic. Reference materials and books can also be helpful in the early stages of research.
-
Academic Search PremierA great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
-
JSTORFind full text articles in academic journals or books on the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides articles from the journal's first issue. In some cases the most recent 2-5 years may not be available. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
-
Libraries SearchSearch the University of Minnesota Libraries to find books, scholarly journal articles, news, magazines, media, and other items in the University's collection. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Then try any of the following:
Use discipline-specific databases (like the ones below) to get precise information from scholarly journal articles related to your topic. Find more databases with journal articles for anthropology research.
-
Anthropology PlusAnthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
-
AnthroSourceSearch or browse major journals from the American Anthropological Association (AAA) including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly.
-
Sociological AbstractsThis core database for the field of sociology contains information on sociology and social policy worldwide. Sociological Abstracts includes citations from the 1952-present. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of journal publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
Also check out:
Specialized databases like the ones listed below can help with making comparisons or finding more information in any stage of the research process. From finding data, images, and video sources to exploring archives and primary sources the library can help you find what you need.
-
eHRAF ArchaeologyA growing collection of full-text information focused on the prehistory of the world. The database is designed for comparative archaeological research and organized by traditions and indexed at the paragraph level.
-
eHRAF World CulturesContains ethnographic information on sample cultures of the world, past and present. Collections are organized by regions, subregions, and cultures with subject indexing at the paragraph level.
-
Ethnographic Video OnlineThis collection contains ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork on the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. Access to volume 1 and 4 only