Related Guides
- Industry Information SourcesFind industry overviews and reports that include forecasts, market trends, key players, financial ratios and benchmarks, SWOT analysis, and information on industry conditions.
Media industry research: Present
- Statista This link opens in a new windowContemporary coverage of statistical information on media and society. Search the industry page for high-level overviews of the current state of the industry.
- U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new windowSearch recent US news for coverage of recent media technologies and technological change.
Media industry research: History & analysis
- Libraries SearchOne of the best ways to find histories of specific media industries will be to look for scholarly books in the library. Combine keywords like "radio" or "television" with "history" here to start to browse books on the topic.
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersA great source for historical reviews and opinions about specific media technologies are these US historical newspapers. Use the names of specific technologies ("FM radio") and precise date filters (1938 - 1950) to find primary source coverage of specific media technology.
- Communication and Mass Media CompleteFind scholarly journal articles on topics such as communication, mass media, film, television, marketing, business communication, health communication, and more.
- JSTORFind full text articles in academic journals or books on the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides articles from the journal's first issue.
- Media, Culture & Society (journal)Media, Culture & Society provides a major international forum for the presentation of research and discussion concerning the media, including the newer information and communication technologies, within their political, economic, cultural and historical contexts.
- Media History (journal)Media History is an interdisciplinary journal which welcomes contributions addressing media and society from the fifteenth century to the present.
Specific media industry sources
- Film and Television Literature Index with Full-TextSearch articles on film and television studies' topics including theory, preservation, restoration, writing, production, cinematography, reviews from "Variety" back to 1914 and more.
- Journalism History (journal)Journalism History publishes scholarly articles on topics related to the full scope of mass communication history.
- Music Periodicals DatabaseFind articles from 350 international music journals, plus the New York Times and the Washington Post. Covers all types of music from classical to modern includes concert and music reviews. Useful for music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
- Nieman Journalism LabThe Nieman Journalism Lab is an attempt to help journalism figure out its future in an Internet age.
Newspaper & Magazine: Circulation statistics and histories
- Circulating American MagazinesSearch or browse titles of American periodicals to quickly visualize their circulation over time and across the United States. A digital project out of James Madison University, using data from the Audit Bureau of Circulations (the Alliance for Audited Media).
- Editor and Publisher Newspaper Data BookInternational directory of newspapers that includes statistics and contact information for the U.S. and Canada. Includes a buyers guide of equipment for the newspaper industry.
- Media Intelligence CenterService from the Alliance for Audited Media that tracks circulation, data for newspapers, consumer magazines, business publications and farm publications from the US, Canada, and other countries. Includes audit circulation statistics for online editions.
Last Updated: Jul 19, 2024 2:46 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/jour/1001