Have questions?
Contact me for research help on this subject.
Librarian
Finding Chemical & Physical Property Data
- Tutorial: How to Find Chemical and Physical Property InformationFinding chemical and physical property data is not always easy because there is no one place where all types of data for all substances is located, and it is not always clear where to look or whether you have looked in the right places. This tutorial will show you how and where to search.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsAnnually published reference source for chemical & physical property data, nomenclature, structure, & composition of substances. Includes physical constants of organic & inorganic compounds, conversion factors, & much more.
- KnovelOnline access to books, databases, and conference proceedings from a number of publishers that cover all areas of engineering and includes content relevant to related sciences (e.g., chemistry and earth sciences). It includes interactive graphs and tables.
- Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and BiologicalsClassic reference source for chemists with over 10,000 entries on drugs and pharmaceuticals, common organic chemicals and laboratory reagents. The entries include data such as chemical names, molecular formula, chemical structure, physical data, and literature references.
- NIST Chemistry WebBookChemical and physical property data from NIST Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors. Searchable by name, chemical formula, CAS registry number, molecular weight, chemical structure, or selected ion energetics and spectral properties.
- Property Data for Chemicals and MaterialsFind additional sources of chemical and physical property data, spectra, and thermodynamic properties as well as safety information.
Finding Background Information
Encyclopedias and handbooks are a good way to get a broad overview and context for a subject and helpful for deciphering research articles. References at the ends of articles lead you to further relevant information.
Other helpful sources of background information are review articles and trade magazines. You can find those using databases like SciFinder-n, Scopus, and Web of Science and limiting by Document Type or Treatment Type.
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical TechnologyWritten by prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions, Kirk-Othmer presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering and fundamentals and environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology.
- KnovelOnline access to books, databases, and conference proceedings from a number of publishers that cover all areas of engineering and includes content relevant to related sciences (e.g., chemistry and earth sciences). It includes interactive graphs and tables.
- Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry"The worlds's largest technical encyclopedia," this is also a very trusted source of information on a wide variety of fields that involve chemistry.
Last Updated: Feb 29, 2024 3:17 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/CHEM/1015