This guide is intended to help Anesthesiology residents at the University of Minnesota access key resources, including e-books and clinical decision-making support tools.
Finding articles
Core databases:
- PubMedSearches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Coverage is from the 1940s to the present. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Ovid MEDLINESearches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Ovid MEDLINE is optimized for advanced literature searches. Coverage is from the 1940s to the present.
- Embase / Embase ClassicEmbase is a biomedical and pharmacological database covering journal articles, conference proceedings, and gray literature. It is strong in its coverage of pharmaceutical research and international and non-English content. Covers 1947 to present.
Also check out:
- Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library consists of a collection of regularly updated evidence-based health care databases. The Cochrane collection is designed to provide information and evidence to support health care decision-making.
- MICROMEDEXProvides access to drug information resources, including drug identification, packaging information, interaction and contraindication information, drug prices, international formulations, occupational safety sheets, safety in pregnancy, and more.
- TRIP DatabaseThe TRIP database contains evidence-based health care resources, such as guidelines, systematic reviews, and primary research. Each abstract denotes the source and description of information along with complete citations.
Database Tips & Tricks
- Proxy Bookmarklet for off-campus accessAdd this button to your browser toolbar and click on it to reload a page and authenticate as a U of M user.
Ovid Medline
- Tutorial: Literature Searching in Ovid MedlineLearn about literature searching in Ovid Medline including how to use MeSH headings and keywords, how to limit a search, how to find full text and how to save a search.
PubMed
- PubMed: Find the latest treatments for a disease or disorder (2 min)A brief tutorial on how to find the latest treatments for a disease or disorder using PubMed.
- PubMed subject search: How it works (4 min)A brief tutorial on how automatic term mapping and explosion enhance your PubMed search.
- PubMed: Find articles on a topic (1 min)A brief tutorial on how to find articles on a topic using PubMed.
- PubMed: Find articles by journal (2 min)A brief tutorial on how to find articles from a journal using PubMed.
- PubMed: Save searches and set e-mail alerts (2 min)A brief tutorial on how to get alerts for articles on a topic using PubMed.
Last Updated: Jul 19, 2024 2:37 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/anesthesiology