Berman Upper Midwest Jewish Archives (UMJA)

ARTS

Adath Jeshurun Congregation records, 1884-2014. This collection contains the administrative records of the first Conservative congregation west of the Mississippi River. Of particular interest are the files related to the TAMID program, a 1970s era cultural series that showcased Jewish music, drama, dance, and art.

CAMPING

Jewish Camping collection, 1937-1987. This collection brings together materials related to four different Jewish summer camps throughout Minnesota and Wisconsin: Sophie Wirth Camp, Herzl Camp, Council Camp, and Camp Tikvah.

MUSIC & DANCE

St. Paul Jewish Community Center records, 1912-2014. Records include administrative materials such as correspondence, board and committee meeting minutes, and group and programming planning correspondence. Of note is series 3, subseries 2, on the St. Paul JCC Symphony, one of the oldest classical music community ensembles in the country.

SPORTS & LEISURE

Leonard (Butch) Levy papers, 1936-1994. Leonard "Butch" Levy was a Jewish athlete from Minneapolis involved in wrestling and football at the University of Minnesota before going on to play professional football in the NFL and AAFC in the 1940s.

To contact the UMJA specifically, please: 

  • Email: umja@umn.edu
  • Phone: 612-625-0192 

Immigration History Research Center Archives (IHRCA)

ARTS

Eduardo (Fafariello) Migliaccio papers, 1909-1958. Papers consist of photographs, playbills, manuscript and published sheet music, correspondence and scrapbooks of memorabilia. Migliaccio wrote verses and music for sketches and was well known for his macchiette (character studies) in the Italian American theater.

CAMPING

Kaleva Summer Camp records, 1948-1958. Records consist of camper applications, health certificates, insurance forms, legal papers, financial records, receipts and correspondence pertaining to the camps held by Finnish American organizations around northeastern Minnesota.

MUSIC & DANCE

Latvian Chorus Shield of Songs (Koris Dziesmu Vairogs), 1945-1980. Records include correspondence, minutes, history, programs and memorabilia. The group was formed in 1945 at the Groshabersdorf (Germany) Displaced Persons Camp. Most of the members resettled in Kalamazoo and Grand Rapids, Michigan. The group continued there until it was disbanded in 1981.

SPORTS & LEISURE

Eesti Spordiliit USAs (Estonian Athletic Union in USA) records, 1952-2001. The primary goal of ESL was to develop and foster sporting activities and events amongst Estonian organizations throughout the USA. Competitive events include: track and field, swimming, bowling, tennis, volleyball and golf. Constitutions, reports, minutes, correspondence, prints.

To specifically contact the IHRCA, please:

  • Email: ihrca@umn.edu
  • Phone: 612-625-4800

Kautz Family YMCA Archives (YMCA)

ARTS

Arts and Humanities Program records, 1972-1999. Records of the Writers' Voice and Writers' Community programs contain initiatives by the YMCA's arts and humanities program, including numerous cassette and video tapes of readings and interviews with well-known authors.

CAMPING

Camping services records, 1904-2010 (bulk 1960-1990). Records documenting the administration of the camping programs of the YMCA Minneapolis are contained, including Camps Icaghowan, Ihduhapi, Menogyn, Warren and various day camps. Available records include committee minutes, finances, evaluations, annual reports and marketing materials.

MUSIC & DANCE

YMCA of Greater New York Harlem Branch (135th Street Branch) photographs, 1920-1979 (bulk 1940-1969). The largest part of the collection consists of professional black and white photographs from noted Harlem photographers Austin Hansen and Walter Baker. Box 49 includes photographs of performances, dancers, musicians and music awards.

SPORTS & LEISURE

Physical Education Program records, 1887-1997.  Material includes minutes, correspondence, various physical education studies, publications, and convention materials, as well as program materials for various sports and fitness activities, especially scuba diving. Also included are records of related organizations, such as the Physical Education Society and the Athletic League.

To specifically contact the YMCA archives, please:

  • Email: ymcaarch@umn.edu
  • Phone: 612-625-3445

Social Welfare History Archives (SWHA)

ARTS

Association of Junior Leagues of America records, 1922-2001. The records of this national organization document community arts, including youth theatre and puppetry, children’s art programs and children’s radio in over 100 cities from the 1930s-1950s.

CAMPING

Henry Street Settlement records, 1892-2005 (bulk 1933-1967). Records document the settlement's work as well as its concerns for social issues, both in New York City and nationally. Camping and other "fresh air" programs for children, mothers and families have a long history at Henry Street; camps were organized to take Lower East Side children off the streets during the summer. Of note is series 2, subseries: Camps and Camping Programs, 1906-1968.

MUSIC & DANCE

National Guild of Community Music Schools records, 1937-1965. Records contain correspondence, memoranda, studies, project reports and programs documenting the ongoing and special activities of the Guild and its member schools from 1946 to 1955. These records document the schools' activities in music education, musical therapy, and sponsorship of neighborhood and city-wide musical activities.

SPORTS & LEISURE

National Recreation Association records, 1906-1996. Records document the early parks and recreation movement, its response to societal changes of the early 20th century and its ongoing work to connect play, health and citizenship.

To contact the SWHA specifically, please: 

  • Email: swharef@umn.edu
  • Phone: 612-624-6394 
Last Updated: Mar 1, 2021 10:58 AM