This page describes how to access and request puchase of the Libraries media collections.

Media Collections Support

 

Open (freely available) Streaming Video Sites

Tip: Check http://z.umn.edu/isitstreaming to see if relevant video content may be freely available from high quality online websites.

 

Request Video Delivery

If you are teaching a class and would prefer to have a video delivered to your office or home for in-classroom viewing, consider using our Get It delivery service.


Watching Videos for Class at Walter Library

Students can view a video in Walter Library by reserving the Media Viewing Room (located in the SMART Learning Commons).
back to top


Finding and Checking Out Videos

You can look up videos in the online catalog on any computer, including a public kiosk at the SMART Walter location, or you can ask SMART Learning Commons desk staff for assistance. Online you can browse by genre. Additionally, most of our videos are on shelves that are browse-able in the Walter SMART Learning Commons. However, if the catalog says it is in the Desk Collection or Closed Stacks our staff will have to retrieve the item for you.  All materials are available for 3 day loan (or classroom booking). You must have your U-Card to check out videos. Please take your selected items to the Reference/Circulation Desk on the 2nd floor of Walter Library for check out. **To locate captioned titles in the online catalog, in the search box, type in the keyword such as subject, director, or title name of the video you are looking for> then type "closed captioned" (quotes not required) > finally, filter the material type to "video" and select that option (right hand side bar).
back to top


Streaming Video

The Libraries have licensed thousands of packages and individual titles of educational media/independent film streaming video! See our Digital Video Collections Guide. to learn more about these amazing licensed (and high quality freely available) online resources.

These titles are great for screening in class, provide supplemental content to complement classroom subject matter or assist students in better grasping a difficult concept on their own time! For further questions, please contact Media Librarian, Scott Spicer or contact your subject librarian.
back to top


Hugo Salazar South American Theater Collection

The Hugo Salazar South American Theater Collection is a video research compilation, containing non-commercial filmed performances, lectures, and documentaries related to Latin America theater (over 100 titles!). Many of the theater performances were filmed in Peru. The collection is for educational purposes only.

In order to preserve long-term access to this special collection, viewing is only permitted within the Walter SMART Learning Commons. To request a DVD title paged for viewing and learn more about the specifics of each, please consult the South American Theater Collection webpage.
back to top


Suggesting Videos To Order

**Only for Faculty/Staff** As an instructional based collection, typically our media is purchased with the primary intent of being used in the classroom (with some limited exceptions). If you are teaching a class and would like the libraries to consider purchasing an item please contact Media Outreach Librarian, Scott Spicer or your subject liaison librarian. These individuals can help you with other library needs as well. While students do not typically suggest purchases they are encouraged to access our library media materials (see above).
back to top

Last Updated: Aug 2, 2021 10:58 AM