Ask Brian!
Brian Vetruba
Contact:
Office: 1a Wilson Library
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
612-625-8161
Related Research Guides
Use these research guides to find more resources.
Use this to assist you with completing your assignments for SCAN 3614: Blood on Snow: Scandinavian Thrillers in Fiction and Film
Resources for Books and Book Chapters
- Libraries SearchSearch the University of Minnesota Libraries to find books, scholarly journal articles, news, magazines, media, and other items in the University's collection. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Library CatalogSearch with the Library Catalog to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic.
- WorldCatFind books, journals, articles, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, theses/dissertations, machine-readable data files, and any other materials available in libraries worldwide. All subject areas are covered. Request items through Interlibrary Loan using the ILLiad link on each item's record. A mobile version of this database is available. Limited to 65 simultaneous users.
TIPS FOR FINDING BOOKS AND BOOK CHAPTERS
- When looking for books and book chapters:
- First, search Libraries Search and/or the Library Catalog which will show what UMN Libraries have.
- If not found, then search WorldCat which includes materials held at other libraries. Click on "Request via Interlibrary Loan" to make a request.
- What is the difference between Libraries Search and the Library Catalog? Libraries Search includes all items in the Library Catalog but it also includes articles. The Library Catalog includes print books, eBooks, DVDs, journals, and other formats but NOT articles.
- With Advanced Searching, you can limit results to a specific languge, date range and more.
- To limit to eBooks, use the limits on the right and select "books" and "available online."
- If you can't find a book chapter, you can submit a book chapter request via interlibrary loan. You'll get a PDF scan usually within a week. This is a look quicker than requesting the whole book.
- You can request digital delivery scans of parts of books in UMN Collections. To do so fill out an interlibrary loan/digital delivery request
Selected eBooks on Nordic Noir
A Companion to Nordic Cinema by
A Companion to Nordic Cinema presents a collection of original essays that explore one of the world's oldest regional cinemas from its origins to the present day. Offers a comprehensive, transnational and regional account of Nordic cinema from its origins to the present day Features original contributions from more than two dozen international film scholars based in the Nordic countries, the United States, Canada, Scotland, and Hong Kong Covers a wide range of topics on the distinctive evolution of Nordic cinema including the silent Golden Age, Nordic film policy models and their influence, audiences and cinephilia, Nordic film training, and indigenous Sámi cinema. Considers Nordic cinema's engagement with global audiences through coverage of such topics as Dogme 95, the avant-garde filmmaking movement begun by Danish directors Lars von Trier and Thomas Vinterberg, and the global marketing and distribution of Nordic horror and Nordic noir Offers fresh investigations of the work of global auteurs such as Carl Th. Dreyer, Ingmar Bergman, Lars von Trier, Aki Kaurismäki, and Roy Andersson. Includes essays on Danish and Swedish television dramas, Finland's eco-documentary film production, the emerging tradition of Icelandic cinema, the changing dynamics of Scandinavian porn, and many more
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781118475270Publication Date: 2016
Death in a Cold Climate: A Guide to Scandinavian Crime Fiction by
Barry Forshaw, the UK's principal crime fiction expert, presents a celebration and analysis of the Scandinavian crime genre, from Sjöwall and Wahlöö's Martin Beck series through Henning Mankell's Wallander to Stieg Larsson's demolition of the Swedish Social Democratic ideal in the publishing phenomenon The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo .
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780230363502Publication Date: 2012
Nordic genre film : small nation film cultures in the global marketplace by
Taking a transnational approach to the study of contemporary genre production, Nordic Genre Film discusses a range of internationally celebrated examples from the increasingly popular 'Nordic noir' genre, from TV shows and films like The Bridge (2011) and Insomnia (1997) to high concept 'video generation' productions such as Iron Sky (2012). Conceptualising Nordic genre film as an industrial and cultural phenomenon, other contributions focus on road movies, the horror film, autobiographical films, the quirky comedy, musicals, historical epics and pornography. Highlighting the similarities and differences between Nordic countries, as well as their often diverse production modes, this book works at the intersection of film and cultural studies to combine industrial perspectives and an in-depth discussion of specific films with a broad historical perspective on the production, distribution and reception of contemporary genre cinema.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780748693184Publication Date: 2015-06-01
Scandinavian Crime Fiction by
Stieg Larsson?s darkly violent but irresistibly absorbing and wildly popular crime novels have brought new attention to the work of Nordic crime writers, and Scandinavian Crime Fiction is the first English-language study of the genre as practiced in Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden. Attending to the work of such popular authors as Henning Mankell, Karin Fossum, and Anne Holt?as well as Larsson?Scandinavian Crime Fictionexplores every aspect of crime writing in the region, from history to recurrent themes to the ways these books have been adapted for television. Many readers will be familiar with Mankell?s ?Wallander? series and movies based on Staalesen novels, which are both popular on PBS.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780708323304Publication Date: 2011
Swedish crime fiction : novel, film, television by
Swedish crime fiction became an international phenomenon in the first decade of the twenty-first century, starting first with novels but then percolating through Swedish-language television serials and films and onto English-language BBC productions and Hollywood remakes. This book looks at the rich history of 'Scandinavian noir', examines the appeal of this particular genre and attempts to reveal why it is distinct from the plethora of other crime fictions.Examining the popularity of Steig Larsson's international success with his Millennium trilogy, as well as Henning Mankell's Wallander across the various media, Peacock also tracks some lesser-known novels and television programmes. He illustrates how the bleakness of the country's 'noirs' reflects particular events and cultural and political changes, with the clash of national characteristics becoming a key feature.It will appeal to students and researchers of crime fiction and of film and television studies, as well as the many fans of the novels and dramatic representations.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781526101549Publication Date: 2015
Last Updated: Jul 19, 2024 3:07 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/SCAN/3614