Library Services for Graduate Students

An overview of library services and resources for graduate students at the University of Minnesota (Twin Cities).

Collections and finding what you need

Libraries are home to millions of print and digital materials including print books, eBooks, print journals, eJournals, DVDs, streaming video, audio, archival primary sources, and much more. More information about our collections

Use Libraries Search to find books, articles, journals, media, maps, music, and more. For more search options use Advanced Search.  [TIP: When using Libraries Search, it also a good idea to sign in to your library account so you can request materials, see full text results, and create favorite lists.]

Research Guides by Subjects: librarian-curated lists of databases and resources. 

e-Journals: Search the catalog for electronic journal titles.

Databases: Browse or search the A-Z list of library databases. You can filter by subject. 

Digital Collections, Projects, and Exhibits

Have questions? See How to Find Resources by Format or ask us for assistance

Checking out books, etc.

Get It

Use the Get It link to have physical materials delivered to your home, campus office, or another library. 

More information about Get It

Accessibility Services

In collaboration with University partners, the University Libraries is committed to providing equitable access to our collections, services, and facilities for all library users. Accessibility Services

Off-campus access to library resources

Current University students, staff and faculty should be able to get full text and online access to the University Libraries from anywhere. Here are three ways to access the library full text from off campus.

  1. Search the University of Minnesota library website. Log in with you UMN Internet ID and password to access resources.
  2. Log in using the U of M Virtual Private Network (VPN). You will need to download it to your computer from campus OIT (Office of Information Technology).
  3. Install the Libraries' Proxy Bookmarklet to your browser and click it to reload the page with your U of M login to get access to full text. Watch a proxy bookmarklet video (3 min) to learn more. 

View examples and learn more on our How to get to full text from on and off campus Guide.

Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery

Computers, printing, scanning

All libraries offer self-serve printing stations that can also be used to scan and copy. There are fees for copying and printing but scanning is free

Wireless access is available at all libraries via the University’s network. See OIT wireless overview for guidelines, set-up information, and technical standards.

More information on printing, scanning, and using computers. 

Study and tech spaces; coffee shops

The Libraries offer a variety of study spaces, including open study areas and reservable group study rooms. Graduate students can also request private study carrels

Tech spaces include Makerspaces, Breakerspaces, Toaster Innovation Hub, 1:Button Studios, & more. 

For a quick snack or beverage, check out our coffee shops

Specialized research and instruction services

The Libraries offer a number of specialized research services to assist you in succeeding as a researcher. Here are a few: 

Assignment Calculator

Copyright Services

Data Services

Digital Humanities/Digital Scholarship, see Digital Arts, Sciences, & Humanities (DASH) program

Dissertation Calculator

Funding and grants

ORCID ID: a free registry of researchers to ensure your work is associated with you throughout the research lifecycle, including grant applications, paper submissions, and final publication. Information about ORCID IDs

Systematic reviews

The Libraries provide a wide-range of services to instructors to help your students develop research-related skills. For example, we can visit your classes, create course guides with class-specific tools and resources, and support you in integrating emerging technologies and media into courses. 

Workshops and tutorials

The Libraries offer in-person and online workshops on a number of topics including: 

Use our library research tutorials to learn new skills for effective and efficient library research including how to start your research, plan your research, find and cite your sources, as well as communicate your research.

Getting your questions answered

We are all eager to answer your questions and get you the resources and information you need to succeed. Here are ways you can connect to library staff:

Subject librarians and department liaisons can provide research assistance to graduate students as well as answer questions about library services and resources. Some specific ways we can help: 

Peer Research Consultants. Make an online 30 minute appointment for one-on-one peer assistance with your research. Get help with researching your topic, finding sources, citing sources and more. Peer Research Consultants can also help you get started with faculty-sponsored research.

Chat 24/7 Online with the Libraries. Ask us anything! Chat with a librarian, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with any research or library questions.

Email us using this contact form. 

Call us at 612-624-3321.

Last Updated: Jul 28, 2021 2:40 PM