Journal articles, government documents, and primary sources
- Academic Search PremierA great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Accessible ArchivesIncludes the Native Americans in History: Part 1: Newspapers, 1728-1922; and Part 2: Books, 1663-1928. Check the boxes next to the collections to search only the collections selected.
- America: History and LifeAmerica: history and life provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present with over 2,000 journals including all key English-language historical journals. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
- American Indian Histories and CulturesExplore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
- American Indian Movement and Native American RadicalismIncludes FBI documentation on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest, as well as valuable documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee standoff.
- American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971Includes collections from the U.S. National Archives, Chicago History Museum, first-hand accounts of Indian Wars and westward migration, records from the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and records of Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North AmericaCovering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life with 80,000+ citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
- Indian Trade in the Southeastern Spanish Borderlands: Papers of Panton, Leslie and CompanySearch more than 8,000 legal, political and diplomatic documents recording ethnographic and trading relationships between Panton, Leslie & Co., a trading firm, and American Indians of the Southeast US borderlands.
- JSTORFind full text articles in academic journals or books on the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides articles from the journal's first issue. In some cases the most recent 2-5 years may not be available. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Native American Tribal Histories, Series 1-4 This link opens in a new windowSearch the the complete 19th century records on the education, land rights, treaty negotiations and other affairs of Native American tribes as recorded by the federal Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA).
- North American Indian Drama This link opens in a new windowFind full-text plays representing the stories and creative energies of American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the twentieth century.
- Project MuseSearch for full-text journals in literary theory, classics, history and cultural studies, philosophy, film, theater and performing arts, political science, and mathematics.
- Sage KnowledgeSearches all library subscriptions from Sage Publishing including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.
News and popular media
- American Indian NewspapersFrom historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.
- Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press from 1990, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
- Independent VoicesOpen access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals drawn from special collections and individual donors. Covers periodicals of feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines from 1950 to the present.
- Indian Country TodayA nonprofit, multimedia news enterprise covering the indigenous world, including American Indians and Alaska Natives.
Websites
- Bureau of Indian AffairsThe BIA is the part of the Department of the Interior that carries out the responsibilities of the U.S. government to federally recognized Indian tribes.
- Minnesota Historical Society - collection of research guides on American IndiansA list of research guides on topics related to the history of Native Americans in Minnesota and featuring resources at the Minnesota Historical Society.
- Minnesota Indian Affairs CouncilContact information for the recognized tribal nations in Minnesota. Cultural legislation, language revitalization, and education resources.
- National Congress of American Indians (NCAI)Find policy briefs, legal briefings, speeches, and resolutions. NCAI was stablished in 1944 in response to the termination and assimilation policies the US government forced upon tribal governments in contradiction of their treaty rights and status as sovereign nations. To this day, protecting these inherent and legal rights remains the primary focus of NCAI.
- NCAI Policy Research CenterNational tribal research and policy center to focus on research and data to support and inform the policy development efforts of tribal leaders, tribal organizations, Congress, the Administration and other policy institutions serving tribal communities.
- Native Nations InstituteA self-determination, self-governance, and development resource for Native nations. The site includes policies and briefs, interviews with tribal leaders. Links to the Indigenous Governance Database and Constitutions Resource Center can be found under Tools & Resources.
Film and video databases
Video databases are much smaller than article databases. Use the same tips for keyword searching but use broader terms like "American Indian," "Native American," or Indigenous.
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online (AVON) delivers 70,000+ videos, on a range of topics including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
- Docuseek2Find documentaries and social issue films and view online.
- Ethnographic Video OnlineThis collection contains ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork on the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. Access to volume 1 and 4 only
- Kanopy StreamingVideo streaming platform hosting a wide variety of award-winning films and documentaries.
- Indigenous CinemaNational Film Board of Canada's online collection of Indigenous-made films.
Archives and special collections at UMN
You can search for items in the UMN Archives and Special Collections using terms like "American Indian" and "Native American" and other terms listed on the Home Page of this guide. To view items from these collections contact ascref@umn.edu.
Below are some sample collections.
- American Indian Student Cultural Center RecordsThe American Indian Student Cultural Center (AISCC) records contain documentation of the center from the early 1970s to 2016. Material includes administrative records of their incorporation and meeting minutes, financial statements, AISCC newslettesr and cultural event advertisements and artwork.
- Bill Tilton Papers, Native American Rights, 1973-1974This box of the Bill Tilton Papers in the University Archives contains material on Tilton’s involvement in the Minnesota 8 during the 1970s and includes legal notes and court records. Other papers related to Tilton’s activity in the Minnesota Student Association, the African American Action Committee, and the Morrill Hall Sit in. There are also documents on his legal work and research into Wounded Knee and the Minnesota Prison Investigation. The collection also contains material related to the play, “Peace Crimes: The Minnesota 8 vs. the War,” produced by the St. Paul’s History Theatre and performed by the University of Minnesota’s Rarig Theater Center in 2008. The remainder of the collection contains subject files, publications, posters and newspaper clippings related to Tilton, his work and related activism.
- Louise Erdrich - The Round House manuscriptThis collection in the Upper Midwest Literary Archives contains one typewritten manuscript with handwritten edits.
- Two-Spirit PapersThis collection in the Jean Nickolaus Tretter Collection in GLBT Studies includes manuscript, visual, and digital materials. Topical coverage is given over to general Two-Spirit issues, the representation of Native Americans in the national GLBT community, gender identity, HIV/AIDS prevention and treatment, and the organizational records of the American Indian Gay and Lesbian Center in Minneapolis, MN.
- UMediaDiscover 161,819 images, maps, manuscripts, video, audio, and more. UMedia provides open access to digitized materials from across the University of Minnesota.
Last Updated: Jul 19, 2024 9:38 AM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/AISAdvanced