SCM Covid-19 Resources
SCM Covid-19 Capstone Topic Resources
Return to the landing page with other topical guides for the SCM Covid-19 Capstone Topics.
Business Homepage
- Business Information WebsiteFind quick access to all of the business resources and databases on this homepage along with news, events, research guides, and video tutorials.
Remote Help & Contact
Have business research questions? Ask us!
Contact the business librarians at busref@umn.edu for research help
Looking for in-depth help? Let's meet!
Schedule an appointment for a virtual meeting with a business librarian @ calendly.com/busref
Selected articles covering Covid and the food supply
Newly Added Content
November 2021
- Food supply chain resilience and the COVID-19 pandemic: What have we learned?The most significant disruptions emerged from workforce outbreaks of COVID-19 in the meat processing sector and in fruit and vegetable production. The paper discusses supply chain resilience and argues that agrifood supply chains are characterized by several important differences that need to be taken into consideration when evaluating resilience.
- Exploring the Lessons Learned from COVID-19Part of USDA's Covid-19 current research program, Rapid Response Research. This particular topic is authored by UMN faculty member, Hikaru Peterson.
- Research Update: Lessons from COVID-19: Positioning Regional Food Supply Chains in CrisesWatch to recent (June 2021) presentation of preliminary research results from the team, including UMN faculty.
- Mitigate risks in perishable food supply chains: Learning from COVID-19In this paper, the authors identify and analyze risk mitigation strategies for PFSC [Perishable Food Supply Chains] during the current pandemic.
- Food First: COVID-19 Outbreak and Cities Lockdown a Booster for a Wider Vision on Urban AgricultureNotwithstanding the limitations of traditional urban farming activities, innovative and disruptive solutions and short food supply chains of fresh agricultural products might play a positive role in lessening uncertainties from global systemic risks
- Differential Impacts of the COVID-19 Pandemic on California’s Produce and Nut IndustriesIn this article, the authors outline the short-term, medium-term, and evolving long-term impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic on California’s produce and tree nut industries. Search AgEcon database for more (use keywords 'pandemic and supply chain'.
- Toolkit: Workshop to Facilitate a Lessons Learned AnalysisUse this Toolkit to uncover and analyze lessons learned in response to an event, an initiative or operation. Includes link to a workbook. Prepared by the Supply Chain Research Team at Gartner. Find the database link in the next section.
___________________________________________
- United States Food ForecastThis report from Fitch forecasts food spending growth in 2021-2022 and provides a Covid-19 impact assessment.
- Disruption and uncertainty: The state of grocery retail 2021This report from McKinsey examines the disruption and unseen demand volatility resulting from the Covid-19 pandemic within the grocery industry.
- Covid-19: Rising Risks Of Disruptions To Global Food Supply Chains And Of Food ProtectionismThis report from Fitch examines the risks of disruptions to the global food supply chain that are rising as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, from production to trade.
- Agriculture supply chain risks and COVID-19: mitigation strategies and implications for the practitionersThis study reveals that supply risks, demand risks, financial risks, logistics and infrastructure risks, management and operational, policy and regulation, and biological and environmental risks have a significant impact in agricultural supply chains.
- A transformative supply chain response to COVID-19This is a conceptual paper examining the response of the supply chain to the current food crisis caused by the pandemic.
- Food supply chains during the COVID-19 pandemicThis paper provides an early assessment of the implications of the COVID-19 pandemic for food supply chains and supply chain resilience.
- Agriculture Industry Trends And DevelopmentsThis report from Fitch Solutions examines North American agriculture inputs and fertiliser outlooks: Short-term disruption and long-term sustainability challenges
- Global farming suffers from falling prices, labor shortages as virus spreadsThis article from S&P examines the global impact of Covid affecting the food supply through commodity prices, labor shortages, and difficulties relating to planting, harvesting, and transporting crops.
- Forgotten on the Frontlines of the Food Supply ChainThis RAND commentary discusses the effect of the coronavirus on farmworkers.
- Coronavirus-Era Food Supply: America Has a Lot. Moving It Is Tricky.From the WSJ, this article discusses agricultural operations affected by surging demands and pressures from the pandemic.
Research Further: find more readings in these databases and websites.
Newly Added Article/Research Databases
November 2021
- ScopusSearch for information from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Web of ScienceA comprehensive interdisciplinary collection of journal article citations. Subjects generally covered are within science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Google Scholar (Setup connection to get to PDFs)Use Google Scholar to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, research institutes, and scholarly repositories from colleges and universities. If you are using from off-campus access, change the "Library Settings" to University of Minnesota Twin Cities. Look for the "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities" links in your Google Scholar search results to access full text and PDFs. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- GartnerGartner is a leading provider of research and analysis about the global information technology industry. This resource is not paid by the Libraries, and the access is limited to those affiliated with the Carlson School of Management. Gartner can be accessed by Carlson students/faculty/staff by going to the Carlson IT Service Center Research Databases/Datasets page (linked above), For access issues, please contact CSOM IT Service Center directly: csomhelp@umn.edu.
- AGRICOLA Agriculture (ProQuest)AGRICOLA is a database covering agriculture and related fields containing journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports.
- AgEcon SearchAgEcon Search contains the full-text of working papers, conference papers and small journals in agricultural, development, energy, environmental, resource and other areas of applied economics
________________________________________-
- IBIS World (Business)Search industry reports for the United States, Canada, China, and global topics. Each report provides an overall current picture of an industry, including overviews, leading companies, sales information, and authoritative sources for researching hundreds of industries. Includes Business Environmental Profiles that summarize key drivers for industries in the U.S.
- EMIS ProfessionalFind company and industry information, reports, statistics, proprietary mergers and acquisitions, credit analytics, benchmark indicators and trend comparisons to help understand emerging markets.
- ProcurementIQAccess to procurement reports covering a multitude of indirect purchasing lines. Reports cover product/service pricing dynamics, product characteristics that affect the purchasing decision, supplier benchmarking and supply chain risks, and negotiation questions and tactics.
- PanjivaUniversity students, staff, and faculty must request a user login and password. Please contact busref@umn.edu.
A database of global suppliers, manufacturers, and trade professionals. Includes industry research and daily news and analysis. - FitchConnect (formerly BMI Research) This link opens in a new windowUMN affiliates: Please email busref@umn.edu to request an account.
Detailed reports on global industrial and municipal markets, companies and nonprofits, emphasizing emerging markets. Include extensive country risk and credit ratings, macroeconomic and financial analysis, and ESG scores. Find intra-daily alerts on economic, industrial, and political developments, business deals, multinational joint ventures, and regulatory changes. - Mintel Market ResearchMintel reports provide market research on consumer products, services, and lifestyles to identify economic drivers, leading companies, market share, market size, trends, segmentation, and analysis of consumer attitudes and purchasing habits. Includes Mintel Trends to analyze consumer trends by sectors, demographics, themes and regions.
- McKinsey & CompanyInsights on manufacturing & supply chain operations from McKinsey & Company.
- Wall Street Journal (WSJ.COM) This link opens in a new windowGet WSJ.com subscription through the library. Sign up for a personal account at the link above. Access to the articles, photographs, charts, podcasts, videos and other premium content available on the WSJ.COM website back to the 2010. Mobile app access is included in the subscription.
- Business Source PremierFind business articles from journals and magazines in marketing, management, information technology, operations, human resources, accounting, finance and economics dating back to 1965.
- American City Business Journals (BizJournals)Note: Subscription has been cancelled effective May 1, 2025
Find articles from the Minneapolis St. Paul Business on local companies and other organizations. Students, faculty and staff have full access to Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal, including Digital content across 18 different Industries, access to the Weekly Edition, Book of Lists, the Search Archives. Register for an account with a valid @umn.edu e-mail address using the link above. NOTE: Full text access only includes Minneapolis/St Paul market.
Last Updated: Mar 26, 2025 8:45 AM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/Covid19SCMcapstone2022