SCM Covid-19 Resources
SCM Covid-19 Capstone Topic Resources
Return to the landing page with other topical guides for the SCM Covid-19 Capstone Topics.
Business Homepage
- Business Information WebsiteFind quick access to all of the business resources and databases on this homepage along with news, events, research guides, and video tutorials.
Remote Help & Contact
Have business research questions? Ask us!
Contact the business librarians at busref@umn.edu for research help
Looking for in-depth help? Let's meet!
Schedule an appointment for a virtual meeting with a business librarian @ calendly.com/busref
Selected articles covering Covid and the retail sector
- Panjiva Insights: The fallout from COVID-19 and long-term strategy plansLearn more about Covid-19 implications from survey results of supply chain executives.
- Best Buy faces constraints, supply chain starting to improveThis reading is from Panjiva, a database for supply chain intelligence and news.
- Navigating the retail storm through supply chain agilityThis McKinsey article from May 2021 provides insight on from a retail executive. This article is one of many on the topic of retail sector shifts.
- Retail Supply Chain from StatistaSee this slide deck for analysis on the supply chain and the retail sector.
- Delta Variant Looms Over Rebound in Clothes ShoppingThis WSJ article from August 2021 looks at impact of the delta variant on retailers. (Note: create account/sign in (free!) to view full article).
- Why Are There Still Not Enough Paper Towels?Part of the Wall Street Journal's Covid Storm series covering many aspects of the impact of Covid-19 on business and industry.
- Wooden Shipping Crates & BoxesThis June 2021 report from Procurement Research Report is an example of analysis outlining impacts to suppliers.
- State of Retail & eCommerce: Impact of COVID-19 One Year Later - US - 2021This report from Mintel provides an overview of the impact on retail and ecommerce in the US over the past year.
- Retailers Navigate Freight Costs, Scarce Inventory and Uncertain FutureThis Sept 2021 article from WSJ provides current insight into future retail trends resulting from Covid-19. (Note: create an account/sign in (free!) to view full article).
- Reimagining procurement for the next normalThis McKinsey report sheds light on emerging issues related to procurement and Covid-19.
Research Further: find more readings in these databases and websites.
- Wall Street Journal (WSJ.COM) This link opens in a new windowGet WSJ.com subscription through the library. Sign up for a personal account at the link above. Access to the articles, photographs, charts, podcasts, videos and other premium content available on the WSJ.COM website back to the 2010. Mobile app access is included in the subscription.
- McKinsey & CompanyInsights on manufacturing & supply chain operations from McKinsey & Company.
- Business Source PremierFind business articles from journals and magazines in marketing, management, information technology, operations, human resources, accounting, finance and economics dating back to 1965.
- FitchConnect (formerly BMI Research) This link opens in a new windowUMN affiliates: Please email busref@umn.edu to request an account.
Detailed reports on global industrial and municipal markets, companies and nonprofits, emphasizing emerging markets. Include extensive country risk and credit ratings, macroeconomic and financial analysis, and ESG scores. Find intra-daily alerts on economic, industrial, and political developments, business deals, multinational joint ventures, and regulatory changes. - ProcurementIQAccess to procurement reports covering a multitude of indirect purchasing lines. Reports cover product/service pricing dynamics, product characteristics that affect the purchasing decision, supplier benchmarking and supply chain risks, and negotiation questions and tactics.
- Mintel Market ResearchMintel reports provide market research on consumer products, services, and lifestyles to identify economic drivers, leading companies, market share, market size, trends, segmentation, and analysis of consumer attitudes and purchasing habits. Includes Mintel Trends to analyze consumer trends by sectors, demographics, themes and regions.
- IBIS World (Business)Search industry reports for the United States, Canada, China, and global topics. Each report provides an overall current picture of an industry, including overviews, leading companies, sales information, and authoritative sources for researching hundreds of industries. Includes Business Environmental Profiles that summarize key drivers for industries in the U.S.
Last Updated: Mar 26, 2025 8:45 AM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/Covid19SCMcapstone2022