SCM Covid-19 Resources
SCM Covid-19 Capstone Topic Resources
Return to the landing page with other topical guides for the SCM Covid-19 Capstone Topics.
Business Homepage
- Business Information WebsiteFind quick access to all of the business resources and databases on this homepage along with news, events, research guides, and video tutorials.
Remote Help & Contact
Have business research questions? Ask us!
Contact the business librarians at busref@umn.edu for research help
Looking for in-depth help? Let's meet!
Schedule an appointment for a virtual meeting with a business librarian @ calendly.com/busref
Selected articles covering Covid and Manufacturing
- 2021 State of Manufacturing ReportThe 2021 State of Manufacturing Report reveals industry leaders are grappling with fallout from the pandemic while eyeing new opportunities created by the disruption.
- Country Economic Forecasts - United StatesThe US economy has cooled significantly as a result of the rapidly spreading Delta variant, the diminishing fiscal impulse,and lingering capital and labor supply constraints. But signs that Covid infections may be cresting should prevent the labor market recovery from going into reverse and ensure that consumer spending maintains moderate momentum into 2022.
- Global Economic Outlook– September 2021Fitch Ratings forecasts global GDP growth, supply constraints hitting revocery, bottlenecks creating inflationary pressures, and an illusive economic immunity following progress with vaccine rollout.
- Global Monthly Data Pack: Major Markets In Expansion, But Covid-19 Poses Risks To ManufacturingThis commentary article from Fitch examines global PMI trends amidst the current COVID pandemic conditions.
- A production recovery plan in manufacturing supply chains for a high-demand item during COVID-19In this paper, the authors use a mathematical modeling approach to develop a production recovery model for a high-demand and essential item during the COVID-19.
- Why Factories Are So Strong in a PandemicFrom the WSJ, this article discusses why U.S. manufacturing has more than made up ground lost during Covid’s spread, in contrast to services.
- Coronavirus Prompts Biggest U.S. Manufacturing Pullback Since Last RecessionFrom the WSJ, this article provides data from the Institute for Supply Management on recent trends from its manufacturing index.
- Global Manufacturing Shows Fresh Signs of RecoveryFrom the WSJ, this article reports that factory activity around the world showed further signs of recovery in June as governments eased restrictions designed to contain the coronavirus, but weak demand still weighed on production and employment.
- US small-business recovery after the COVID-19 crisisThis McKinsey article examines strategies for small businesses in the US to improve operations and adapt business models for post-COVID recovery
- Covid-19 implications for businessMcKinsey's latest briefing perspective (Sept 2021) on the coronavirus outbreak, the twin threats to lives and livelihoods, and how organizations can prepare for the next normal.
Research Further: find more readings in these databases and websites.
- IBIS World (Business)Search industry reports for the United States, Canada, China, and global topics. Each report provides an overall current picture of an industry, including overviews, leading companies, sales information, and authoritative sources for researching hundreds of industries. Includes Business Environmental Profiles that summarize key drivers for industries in the U.S.
- EMIS ProfessionalFind company and industry information, reports, statistics, proprietary mergers and acquisitions, credit analytics, benchmark indicators and trend comparisons to help understand emerging markets.
- PanjivaUniversity students, staff, and faculty must request a user login and password. Please contact busref@umn.edu.
A database of global suppliers, manufacturers, and trade professionals. Includes industry research and daily news and analysis. - FitchConnect (formerly BMI Research) This link opens in a new windowUMN affiliates: Please email busref@umn.edu to request an account.
Detailed reports on global industrial and municipal markets, companies and nonprofits, emphasizing emerging markets. Include extensive country risk and credit ratings, macroeconomic and financial analysis, and ESG scores. Find intra-daily alerts on economic, industrial, and political developments, business deals, multinational joint ventures, and regulatory changes. - ProcurementIQAccess to procurement reports covering a multitude of indirect purchasing lines. Reports cover product/service pricing dynamics, product characteristics that affect the purchasing decision, supplier benchmarking and supply chain risks, and negotiation questions and tactics.
- Wall Street Journal (WSJ.COM) This link opens in a new windowGet WSJ.com subscription through the library. Sign up for a personal account at the link above. Access to the articles, photographs, charts, podcasts, videos and other premium content available on the WSJ.COM website back to the 2010. Mobile app access is included in the subscription.
- Business Source PremierFind business articles from journals and magazines in marketing, management, information technology, operations, human resources, accounting, finance and economics dating back to 1965.
- American City Business Journals (BizJournals)Note: Subscription has been cancelled effective May 1, 2025
Find articles from the Minneapolis St. Paul Business on local companies and other organizations. Students, faculty and staff have full access to Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal, including Digital content across 18 different Industries, access to the Weekly Edition, Book of Lists, the Search Archives. Register for an account with a valid @umn.edu e-mail address using the link above. NOTE: Full text access only includes Minneapolis/St Paul market.
- McKinsey & CompanyInsights on manufacturing & supply chain operations from McKinsey & Company.
Last Updated: Mar 26, 2025 8:45 AM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/Covid19SCMcapstone2022