Research Guides: SCM Capstone: Covid-19 Project Resources, Fall 2022: Reshore-Onshore Impacts

SCM Covid-19 Resources

SCM Covid-19 Capstone Topic Resources

Return to the landing page with other topical guides for the SCM Covid-19 Capstone Topics.

Business Homepage

Business Information Website
Find quick access to all of the business resources and databases on this homepage along with news, events, research guides, and video tutorials.

Remote Help & Contact

Have business research questions? Ask us!

Contact the business librarians at busref@umn.edu for research help

Looking for in-depth help? Let's meet!

Schedule an appointment for a virtual meeting with a business librarian @ calendly.com/busref

Selected articles covering Covid-19 and impacts on reshore/onshore and insource/outsource

Trump sets medical onshoring in motion after supplies drop in July
A recent article from Panjiva. Check the platform for additional research and analysis.

U.S freight industry after Covid-19: what's next?
From McKinsey analysis: "The pandemic has scrambled customer demand, further muddying a complicated picture. New research highlights four forces to watch.:
Global Risk Mitigation: Is it time to reshore Caption manufacturing?
This article from Logistics Management journal offers high level insight into next step decision making. Find more articles in Business Source Premier (database linked in next section).
What can we learn about reshoring after Covid-19?
This recent article appears in Operations Management Research and may be a good source for understanding restoring in a broader context.

Three Steps to Hyperautomation (Gartner)
Report on benefit of building hyperautomation into your strategy, particularly during times of uncertainty. Gartner is linked below and available to those in CSOM courses.

Pandemics and Supply Chain Management Research: Toward a Theoretical Toolbox
This article, from Decision Sciences, is an important article for supply chain managers and scholars alike. Find more research similar to this in the Web of Science database, listed in the next section.

Research Further: find more readings in these databases and websites.

Wall Street Journal (WSJ.COM)
Get WSJ.com subscription through the library. Sign up for a personal account at the link above. Access to the articles, photographs, charts, podcasts, videos and other premium content available on the WSJ.COM website back to the 2010. Mobile app access is included in the subscription.
Access available only for University of Minnesota Twin Cities and Duluth students, faculty, and staff. No guest access available. Each user must set up a personal account to save articles, create alerts, download apps, and use other features. Once a personal account is created, you can access WSJ.COM from anywhere.
Business Source Premier
Find business articles from journals and magazines in marketing, management, information technology, operations, human resources, accounting, finance and economics dating back to 1965.
American City Business Journals (BizJournals)
Note: Subscription has been cancelled effective May 1, 2025
Find articles from the Minneapolis St. Paul Business on local companies and other organizations. Students, faculty and staff have full access to Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal, including Digital content across 18 different Industries, access to the Weekly Edition, Book of Lists, the Search Archives. Register for an account with a valid @umn.edu e-mail address using the link above. NOTE: Full text access only includes Minneapolis/St Paul market.
Once a personal account is created, you can access from anywhere at https://www.bizjournals.com/twincities/
ProcurementIQ
Access to procurement reports covering a multitude of indirect purchasing lines. Reports cover product/service pricing dynamics, product characteristics that affect the purchasing decision, supplier benchmarking and supply chain risks, and negotiation questions and tactics.
Newsbank
Search local, regional, and national newspapers from around the US and the world. Also historical documents from the US. Search by topic or sub-collection.
Financial Times (FT.com)
News, analysis and comment from the Financial Times, a leading global business publication. Current students, faculty, and staff must register and create personal accounts using University of Minnesota e-mail addresses at the link above.
Once registered, you can use your account to log in to FT.com from anywhere on any device by clicking on the "Sign in" link in the upper right-hand corner.

Guest access for non-affiliated users is available at the CD-ROM workstation (computer ID: ULWILB-CRT8W52) located in the Smart Commons area of Wilson Library basement.
Panjiva
University students, staff, and faculty must request a user login and password. Please contact busref@umn.edu.
A database of global suppliers, manufacturers, and trade professionals. Includes industry research and daily news and analysis.

McKinsey & Company
Insights on manufacturing & supply chain operations from McKinsey & Company.
Gartner
Gartner is a leading provider of research and analysis about the global information technology industry. This resource is not paid by the Libraries, and the access is limited to those affiliated with the Carlson School of Management. Gartner can be accessed by Carlson students/faculty/staff by going to the Carlson IT Service Center Research Databases/Datasets page (linked above), For access issues, please contact CSOM IT Service Center directly: csomhelp@umn.edu.

Web of Science
A comprehensive interdisciplinary collection of journal article citations. Subjects generally covered are within science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.

Last Updated: Mar 26, 2025 8:45 AM