SCM Covid-19 Resources
SCM Covid-19 Capstone Topic Resources
Return to the landing page with other topical guides for the SCM Covid-19 Capstone Topics.
Business Homepage
- Business Information WebsiteFind quick access to all of the business resources and databases on this homepage along with news, events, research guides, and video tutorials.
Remote Help & Contact
Have business research questions? Ask us!
Contact the business librarians at busref@umn.edu for research help
Looking for in-depth help? Let's meet!
Schedule an appointment for a virtual meeting with a business librarian @ calendly.com/busref
Selected articles on Covid-19 and Lean
- COVID- 19: outcomes for Global Supply ChainsFrom the journal, Management & Marketing, 2020.
- Viable supply chain model: integrating agility, resilience and sustainability perspectives—lessons from and thinking beyond the COVID-19 pandemicThis highly cited 2020 article appears in the Annals of Operations Management. Full text is available at the link.
- Lessons Learned from the COVID-19 Pandemic Exposing the Shortcomings of Current Supply Chain Operations: A Long-Term Prescriptive OfferingSupply chains around the world are facing major disruptions and difficulties adjusting to the new demands and needs of a locked down world. In this paper, we will address the relationship between supply chain operations and the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.
- Supply chain disruptions in the context of early stages of the global COVID-19 outbreakSince it takes time to assess long-term effects of the pandemic and related measures, various changes in supply chains are examined as the early results of the COVID-19 crisis and measures implemented by companies. The study examines how different economy sectors were changed due to this situation. The changes in operating volumes were identified as the most commonly used measures to accommodate new market developments.
- Why Are There Still Not Enough Paper Towels?Part of the Wall Street Journal's Covid Storm series covering many aspects of the impact of Covid-19 on business and industry.
- Organizing for speed in advanced industriesThis recent (August 2020) McKinsey article offers case study insights.
- Reimagining industrial supply chainsThis McKinsey report outlines managerial level thinking that is required as a result of Covid-19.
- Lean management or agile? The answer may be both.This July 2020 McKinsey article discusses how the two approaches can work together. "Under this best-of-both approach, top-performing companies combine tools, ways of working, and organizational elements from each to form a custom solution that meets the company’s unique needs more completely and quickly than has been possible".
Research Further: find more readings in these databases and websites.
- Web of ScienceA comprehensive interdisciplinary collection of journal article citations. Subjects generally covered are within science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- ScopusSearch for information from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Engineering VillageSearch journal articles from 1884-1968 on engineering. Searches both Inspec (1898-1968) and Compendex (1884-1968) Archives for articles and conference papers related to engineering, computer science, and physics.
- Business Source PremierFind business articles from journals and magazines in marketing, management, information technology, operations, human resources, accounting, finance and economics dating back to 1965.
- GartnerGartner is a leading provider of research and analysis about the global information technology industry. This resource is not paid by the Libraries, and the access is limited to those affiliated with the Carlson School of Management. Gartner can be accessed by Carlson students/faculty/staff by going to the Carlson IT Service Center Research Databases/Datasets page (linked above), For access issues, please contact CSOM IT Service Center directly: csomhelp@umn.edu.
- Wall Street Journal (WSJ.COM) This link opens in a new windowGet WSJ.com subscription through the library. Sign up for a personal account at the link above. Access to the articles, photographs, charts, podcasts, videos and other premium content available on the WSJ.COM website back to the 2010. Mobile app access is included in the subscription.
- McKinsey & CompanyReview the website of this management consulting organization for research on professional service procurement.
- PanjivaUniversity students, staff, and faculty must request a user login and password. Please contact busref@umn.edu.
A database of global suppliers, manufacturers, and trade professionals. Includes industry research and daily news and analysis.
Last Updated: Mar 26, 2025 8:45 AM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/Covid19SCMcapstone2022