Ask Brian!
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
Related Guides
- News SourcesA guide to finding newspapers, magazines, broadcasts, and other news sources at the UMN Libraries.
Terms & Concepts
Use the terms below to find more information in reference sources, Libraries Search, and article databases.
The list or terms is not complete. And as these terms reflects very recent history and ongoing events, the terms, definitions, and interpretations, are changing. But this list will give you a basic understanding and a good start to find more information.
Annexation of Crimea -- Crimea is a peninunsula on the Black Sea which Russia annexed from Ukraine in March 2014.
Donbas / Donets Basin -- region of southeastern Ukraine made up of the provinces Donesk and Luhansk. Pro-Russian separatists took control of parts of the Donbas region in 2014.
Eastern Europe
Euromaidan / Maidan Revolution / Revolution of Dignity -- demonstrations and civil unrest in Ukraine which began in late 2013 and continued in 2014. These came about from the Ukrainian government's decision to suspend the signing of an agreement with the European Union. It ended with the ouster of Ukrainian President Viktor Yanukovych and overthrowing of the Ukrainian government.
European Union
Former Soviet Union / Former Soviet Republics
Kyiv / Kiev -- capital of Ukraine
Orange Revolution -- refers to protests and political events that took place in Ukraine from late 2004 to early 2005, in the immediate aftermath of the run-off vote of the 2004 Ukrainian presidential election. This election was claimed to be marred by corruption, voter intimidation and electoral fraud. The Ukainian Supreme Court annulled it and ordered a new election.
Russia
Ukraine
Ukraine Conflict / Russo-Ukrainian War -- refers to the ongoing armed conflict involving Russia, pro-Russian Ukrainian separatists, and Belarus on one side with Ukraine on the other. It began in 2014 with the annexation of Crimea and war in Donbas region and now continues with the 2022 Russian invasion of Ukraine.
Volodymyr Zelensky (President of Ukraine, 2019-present)
Vladimir Putin (President of Russia, 1999-2008, 2012-present)
Reference Sources
- "Ukraine" (2021)Lansford, Tom. "Ukraine." In Political Handbook of the World 2020-2021, edited by Lansford, Tom, 1722-41. Thousand Oaks, CA: CQ Press, 2021.
- "Ukraine" (2008)Hunczak, Taras. "Ukraine." In The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World. : Oxford University Press, 2008
- Ukraine Profile - Timeline (2020)From the BBC, chronology of events in Ukrainian history.
Historical Dictionary of Ukraine by Call Number: TC Wilson Library General Collection DK508.444 .K64 2013ISBN: 9780810878457Publication Date: 2013This dictionary has 725 entries covering the thousand years of Ukrainian history but particularly the recent past, and focusing on significant persons, places and events, political parties and institutions as well as more broadly international relations, the economy, society and culture. The chronology permits readers to follow this history and the introduction is there to make sense of it. It also features the most extensive and up-to-date bibliography of English-language writing on Ukraine.
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains 100 language and subject dictionaries and other reference works, and searches across these resources. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
- Oxford Handbooks OnlineOxford Handbooks contain peer-reviewed scholarly review articles in Archaeology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, and Religion. Included are classic works of scholarship along with newly-published works. Each handbook offers a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study. Individual articles by leading scholars review key issues and major debates, and discuss how those debates might evolve.
- Gale EbooksSearch encyclopedias and reference books from various publishers in many subjects, including art, biography, business, cultural studies, education, the environment, history, religion, science, and social science.