Reference books (online)
Routledge Handbook of Disability StudiesISBN: 9780429774102Publication Date: 2019-10-21This fully revised and expanded second edition of the Routledge Handbook of Disability Studies takes a multidisciplinary approach to disability and provides an authoritative and up-to-date overview of the main issues in the field around the world today. Adopting an international perspective and arranged thematically, it surveys the state of the discipline, examining emerging and cutting-edge areas as well as core areas of contention. Divided in five parts, this comprehensive handbook covers: Different models and approaches to disability. How key impairment groups have engaged with disability studies and the writings within the discipline. Policy and legislation responses to disability studies and to disability activism. Disability studies and its interaction with other disciplines, such as history, philosophy, sport, and science and technology studies. Disability studies and different life experiences, examining how disability and disability studies intersects with ethnicity, sexuality, gender, childhood and ageing. Containing15 revised chapters and12 new chapters from an international selection of leading scholars, this authoritative handbook is an invaluable reference for all academics, researchers, and more advanced students in disability studies and associated disciplines such as sociology, health studies and social work.
The Routledge Handbook of Disability Arts, Culture, and MediaISBN: 9781351254663Publication Date: 2018-12-07
Notable (newer released) books
Academic Ableism by ISBN: 0472123416Publication Date: 2017-11-22The ethic of higher education encourages students and teachers alike to accentuate ability, valorize perfection, and stigmatize anything that hints at intellectual, mental, or physical weakness, even as we gesture toward the value of diversity and innovation. Academic Ableism brings together disability studies and institutional critique to recognize the ways that disability is composed in and by higher education, and rewrites the spaces, times, and economies of disability in higher education to place disability front and center.
Authoring Autism by ISBN: 9780822372189Publication Date: 2018-01-05In Authoring Autism M. Remi Yergeau defines neurodivergence as an identity--neuroqueerness--rather than an impairment. Using a queer theory framework, Yergeau notes the stereotypes that deny autistic people their humanity and the chance to define themselves while also challenging cognitive studies scholarship and its reification of the neurological passivity of autistics.
Bodyminds Reimagined by ISBN: 9780822371830Publication Date: 2018-03-15In Bodyminds Reimagined Sami Schalk traces how black women's speculative fiction complicates the understanding of bodyminds--the intertwinement of the mental and the physical--in the context of race, gender, and (dis)ability. Bridging black feminist theory with disability studies, Schalk demonstrates that this genre's political potential lies in the authors' creation of bodyminds that transcend reality's limitations.
Brilliant Imperfection by ISBN: 9780822362876Publication Date: 2017-02-03In Brilliant Imperfection Eli Clare uses memoir, history, and critical analysis to explore cure--the deeply held belief that body-minds considered broken need to be fixed. Draws together lyrical poetry, personal anecdote, disability theory, and historical narrative to interrogate the notion of cure in Western culture.
Care Work by ISBN: 9781551527390Publication Date: 2018-10-01This multimodal text by Leah Piepzna-Samarasinha weaves together reflections on disability justice, queer femme emotional labor, healing justice, femme leadership and accountability. Care Work is a mapping of access as radical love, a celebration of the work that sick and disabled queer/people of color are doing to find each other and to build power and community, and a toolkit for everyone who wants to build radically resilient, sustainable communities of liberation where no one is left behind.
Disability and Other Human Questions by ISBN: 9781839827068Publication Date: 2020-11-04Dan Goodley draws on two decades of research and writing and weaves personal stories, scholarly literature, social media and other cultural narratives together with concepts from the interdisciplinary field of disability studies. He argues that the study of disability is of great importance in its own right but also has much to offer us all in considering what it means to be human in the 21st Century.
Disability Visibility by ISBN: 9781984899439Publication Date: 2020-06-30Some disabilities are visible, others less apparent--but all are underrepresented in media and popular culture. Alice Wong brings together this urgent, galvanizing collection of contemporary essays by disabled people. This anthology gives a glimpse into the rich complexity of the disabled experience, highlighting the passions, talents, and everyday lives of this community.
Foundational books
Crip Theory by ISBN: 9781435600393Publication Date: 2006-01-01Drawing on feminist theory, African American and Latino/a cultural theories, composition studies, film and television studies, and theories of globalization and counter-globalization, Robert McRuer articulates the central concerns of crip theory and considers how such a critical perspective might impact cultural and historical inquiry in the humanities. McRuer examines how dominant and marginal bodily and sexual identities are composed, and considers the vibrant ways that disability and queerness unsettle and re-write those identities in order to insist that another world is possible.
Disability and Difference in Global Contexts by ISBN: 9781137001184Publication Date: 2011-11-16This book explores the possibilities and limitations re-theorizing disability using historical materialism in the interdisciplinary contexts of social theory, cultural studies, social and education policy, feminist ethics, and theories of citizenship.
Disability Incarcerated by ISBN: 9781322048178Publication Date: 2014-01-01Disability Incarcerated gathers thirteen contributions from an impressive array of fields. Taken together, these essays assert that a complex understanding of disability is crucial to an understanding of incarceration, and that we must expand what has come to be called 'incarceration.'
Keywords for Disability Studies by ISBN: 9781479812141Publication Date: 2015Keywords for Disability Studies aims to broaden and define the conceptual framework of disability studies for readers and practitioners in the field and beyond. The volume engages some of the most pressing debates of our time, such as prenatal testing, euthanasia, accessibility in public transportation and the workplace, post-traumatic stress, and questions about the beginning and end of life.
Mad at School by ISBN: 9780472051380Publication Date: 2011-02-17In Mad at School, scholar and disabilities activist Margaret Price asks: How might our education practices change if we understood disability to incorporate the disabled mind? Mad at School is a close study of the ways that mental disabilities impact academic culture. Investigating spaces including classrooms, faculty meeting rooms, and job searches, Price challenges her readers to reconsider long-held values of academic life, including productivity, participation, security, and independence.
Last Updated: Feb 11, 2025 10:41 AM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/DisabilityStudiesExpanded