Journal articles and databases - Disability Studies - Expanded Guide - Research Guides at University of Minnesota Minneapolis

Journals

American Annals of the Deaf
The American Annals of the Deaf is a professional journal dedicated to quality in education and related services for deaf or hard of hearing children and adults. First published in 1847, the Annals is the oldest and most widely read English-language journal dealing with deafness and the education of deaf persons.
Canadian Journal of Disability Studies
The Canadian Journal of Disability Studies publishes peer-reviewed original articles that advance research in the multidisciplinary, international field of disability studies.
Disability & Society
Disability & Society is an international journal providing a focus for debate about such issues as human rights, discrimination, definitions, policy and practices. It appears against a background of change in the ways in which disability is viewed and responded to.
Disability and Rehabilitation (until 2006)
Disability and Rehabilitation is an international multidisciplinary journal publishing on all aspects of disability and rehabilitation. It aims to encourage a better understanding of disability and to promote rehabilitation science, practice and policy aspects of the rehabilitation process.
Disability Studies Quarterly
Disability Studies Quarterly (DSQ) is the journal of the Society for Disability Studies (SDS). It is a multidisciplinary and international journal of interest to social scientists, scholars in the humanities, disability rights advocates, creative writers, and others concerned with the issues of people with disabilities.
Journal of Literary & Cultural Disability Studies
The Journal of Literary & Cultural Disability Studies (JLCDS) focuses on cultural and especially literary representations of disability.
Journal of Philosophy of Disability
The Journal of Philosophy of Disability is a new scholarly publication that examines questions of disability, broadly construed. It includes peer-reviewed articles, book reviews, critical responses, commentaries, and occasional symposia and special issues.
Review of Disability Studies
The Review of Disability Studies (RDS) is a peer-reviewed, open-access academic journal that is targeted towards any person interested in disability studies.
Sexuality and Disability
Sexuality and Disability is an international forum for the publication of peer-reviewed original interdisciplinary scholarly papers that address the psychological and medical aspects of sexuality in relation to rehabilitation.

Databases for arts, humanities, and critical approaches

Academic Search Premier
A great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
America: History and Life
America: history and life provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present with over 2,000 journals including all key English-language historical journals. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective
Use Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective to find journal articles for the humanities and social sciences.
JSTOR
Find full text articles in academic journals or books on the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides articles from the journal's first issue. In some cases the most recent 2-5 years may not be available. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
MLA International Bibliography
Use the MLA International Bibliography to find scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. This index has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Oxford Handbooks contain peer-reviewed scholarly review articles in Archaeology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, and Religion. Included are classic works of scholarship along with newly-published works. Each handbook offers a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study. Individual articles by leading scholars review key issues and major debates, and discuss how those debates might evolve.
Project Muse
Search for full-text journals in literary theory, classics, history and cultural studies, philosophy, film, theater and performing arts, political science, and mathematics.

Databases for socio-cultural approaches

Anthropology Plus
Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
AnthroSource
Search or browse major journals from the American Anthropological Association (AAA) including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly.
Sociological Abstracts
This core database for the field of sociology contains information on sociology and social policy worldwide. Sociological Abstracts includes citations from the 1952-present. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of journal publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
GenderWatch
Search articles from journals, etc. that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas such as the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles.
Race Relations Abstracts
Discover articles covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Women's Studies International
This database is a compilation of ten databases covering journal articles, books, anthology chapters, and reports for feminist writings from 1972 to the present.

When researching how disability intersects with other aspects of identity, research guides for other areas may also be helpful: African American Studies, American Indian Studies, American Studies, Asian American Studies, Chicano/Latino Studies, GLBT Studies, Gender, Women & Sexuality Studies.

Databases for legal approaches

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Huge legal search tool with full-text of legal journals, legal histories, government documents, state and federal cases, international law and includes coverage of many older legal materials. Contains the Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports (Supreme Court) back to 1754.
PAIS Index (Political Science and Public Policy)
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) searches journals and other sources on issues of political science and public policy. This includes government, politics, international relations, human rights and more.

Databases for medical approaches

PubMed
Searches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Coverage is from the 1940s to the present. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
PsycInfo
Find articles in thousands of psychology journals, from 1806 to current. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.

Last Updated: Oct 8, 2024 9:52 AM