Ask Brian!
Brian Vetruba
Contact:
Office: 1a Wilson Library
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
612-625-8161
Related research guides
Use this to assist you with completing your assignments for FREN 4101W: Capstone Seminar in French and Francophone Studies
French to English & English to French Dictionaries
Pocket Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: English-French (4 ed.) by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780191735134Publication Date: 2012
Pocket Oxford-Hachette French dictionary : French-English by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780191739545Publication Date: 2010This intermediate French dictionary now has a new grammar supplement that focuses on the key points of French grammar providing invaluable support to anyone learning to speak, read and write in French.
- Larousse DictionariesFrench language and bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, and conjugation.
- WordReference.comFree online translation dictionaries.
- More French to English & English to French dictionariesDictionaries published 2000-; online and print.
General English and French Dictionaries
ENGLISH
- Oxford English Dictionary OnlineFull-text of the 2nd ed. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world. It also offers etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.
FRENCH
- Dictionnaire de l'Académie FrançaiseSearch the French-language dictionary from the l'Académie Française (the French Academy). Users can search and browse current (9th) and past editions.
- Le Grand RobertAccess all 6 volumes of the latest edition of this prestigious French language dictionary. Includes editorial supplements and unpublished extras.
- Larousse DictionariesFrench language and bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, and conjugation.
- Trésor de la Langue Française informatiséA dictionary of 19th and 20th century French originally spread over 16 volumes, but now provided in its entirety online. It includes 100,000 words, their history, definitions and examples of their use.
Last Updated: Mar 21, 2025 4:41 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/FREN/4101W